All about Cakes & Cookies Baking

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.3k Posts 87 Posters 397.9k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

what i come across is most recipes called for essence more than extract.

anyway, whatever, i also used the bottle so-called \"vanilla essence\" ๐Ÿ˜‰
      :? Hmmm.. now I am confused. Haha.

Anyway, so long as whatever we are making turn out fine, essence, extract, emulsion, you name it, don't care lah. ๐Ÿ˜›

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

Funz, :love: :love: yr sponge cake.
        i yet to try out sponge cake.
        how many oranges u required for the orange sponge cake to have the distinct orange taste.
        i tried it out with orange butter cake, no orange taste at all.
        I used the zest of 1 large naval orange and only 3 tbsp of the juice. The smell will come from the zest but cannot add too much also as it can be bitter.

Augmum

Funz, :love: :love: yr sponge cake.
          i yet to try out sponge cake.
          how many oranges u required for the orange sponge cake to have the distinct orange taste.
          i tried it out with orange butter cake, no orange taste at all.

I used the zest of 1 large naval orange and only 3 tbsp of the juice. The smell will come from the zest but cannot add too much also as it can be bitter.

oh...u used the zest, i din use.
          do u need to sweeten and cook the zest first ?

i wonder do those bakery shops use orange essence to enhance it becos they seems to have strong orange aroma.

Augmum

Anyway, so long as whatever we are making turn out fine, essence, extract, emulsion, you name it, don't care lah. ๐Ÿ˜›
            haha...that's rite. ๐Ÿ˜‰

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

i wonder do those bakery shops use orange essence to enhance it becos they seems to have strong orange aroma.
              No no need to cook the zest first.

I think highly likely else they will have a lot of naked oranges left over. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Try your recipe with a bit of orange zest. See if it makes a diff.

Augmum

No no need to cook the zest first.

I think highly likely else they will have a lot of naked oranges left over. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Try your recipe with a bit of orange zest. See if it makes a diff.

sorry, i mean i din use the fresh orange zest, which i squeezed out the juice.
                i use those preserved orange peel, but still NO orange flavour. :x

Augmum

Yup this one baked in the oven.

Coffee Sponge

Thanks Funz for the detailed recipe... can I ask simple question how do you generally separate the yolk and the white? it maybe stupid question but sometimes I am unable to do so properly :oops: :oops:

Oops, me sometimes also unable to \"separate properly\"
                  as there will be some egg white \"attach\" to the egg-yolk.
                  the worst is when the eggs are not so fresh.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

Yup this one baked in the oven.

Coffee Sponge

Thanks Funz for the detailed recipe... can I ask simple question how do you generally separate the yolk and the white? it maybe stupid question but sometimes I am unable to do so properly :oops: :oops:

Chilled eggs are easier to separate then room temperature eggs. If using chilled eggs, let it sit a while before whisking.

I have an egg separator but hardly use it. I use hands. And when separating eggs I have 3 bowls. Kiasu hor. One for yolks, 1 for whites and the other for the separating process. I will crack the egg over 1 bowl. Hold the egg vertically when separating the shell so that the yolk rests in the bottom half of the shell. Then dump the balance of the content into your hand and just let the whites ooze into the bowl. Once done, put the yolk in the yolks bowl and the white in the whites bowl and repeat. That way, if any of the yolks burst, you won't contaminate the rest of the whites. Oh and since the whites will be flowing all over the egg shell, I wash and towel dry the eggs before cracking them. Lehchey hor.

I find that the pre-packed eggs that I buy from NTUC tend to have a stronger yolk membrane then those loose ones that I buy from the egg stall at the market.

• qmsQ Offline
                      qms

I am into sponge cakes lately. Made 2 last week.
                      :drool:

jtoh

I prefer pure vanilla extract to vanilla essence. The taste is more genuine. When i think of vanilla essence (you know the small bottle kind thatโ€™s been around since my grandmotherโ€™s time), it has this artificial flavor.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 47 / 133

TigerxiuT
                        Tigerxiu
                        InfoseekerI
                        Infoseeker