Corporation Primary
ya me too! haha. looking high and low even though dd is still far from 18mth. cos i really need some time to do stuff like organise the house a bit, exercise and others...Champion:
Heee...... :offtopic: - but am looking around for a playgroup for him; any suggestion?

Even I was looking for playgroup for my DS2 and have zoomed to 2.. one ard Gek poh shopping center and other in the hdb blk oppoiste it..
but i am looking for those 2h kind in the morning. and must be near. wish there are more montessori type around here, but hard to find.
saw a bright cheery playgroup that fits my schedule and location needs cos it is at JP. imagine dropping her off for 2h, i can go NTUC or Amore or whatever, can run my errands in 2h and go back pick her up, then go home.
can even meet other SAHM during that 2h, would be a heavenly break cos the thing i miss most about working previously was the meal times with colleagues.
but it is v new, so i am waiting for more reviews about it. can't find any yet. have you seen it? 6th floor. -
jiyou2003:
Heard that it is called Frontier Primary School (from the Jurong West Pr sch thread).Anyone know how to find out more about new school? Things like where to apply for transfer? What is require? Who will be the principal?
Pls guide. Need some pointer.
Thanks in advance.
I also heard that there would be a soft launch slightly later, but before Phase 2 of P1 Reg, where they will release all the info that will answer your Qs. Do you live around the area? If so, they will probably put fliers into your mailbox or something.
They will put banners at the Frontier CC area too.
Soon Chief will have to put up more threads in the Primary School networking forum cos of all the new schools starting in 2012.
no lah, not long winded. i read it with interest too. in fact, i was even thinking if should email in to respond. but in the end too busy to reply. did you?
Haha...I :dowan: because I don't think my command of English is good enough to post or email to the press :lol: - they are all professionals leh
Thanks for the compliment; blush blush :love: Indeed DD1 is happy with school and that makes me feels at ease when at work, to know that she is learning and growing well. Am also thankful for the reshuffling of teachers and their class is blessed with good FT & subject teachers :rahrah:champion, you are a great mom! don't feel guilty nor beat yourself up over the PV. your dd1 is very happy now and that's because you support her and help her and love her.?
No worries, I believe your ds1 will learn and grow to appreciate what mummy has done for him :love:my ds1 doesn't even know whether he is in an elite school or neighborhood school. by the time he is old enough to know there is such a \"label\", he would be too much in love with his school to bother.

don't think he will be angry with me for not trying hard enough to get him into a hot school. *i hope.? -
champion, no need to worry abt English std cos they will edit. but your postings here are all easily understood, so no worries anyway.
did you notice after each article there is the email address of the writer of that article? whatever you feel, you can email you know.
but in particular, that Sunday times article had a Question at the end together with the columnist's email. I think if i rem correctly, it was asking if it is worth sending to branded school or whatever... can't find my papers now.
so they were basically asking for your opinions. if you free just write in...
Champion your english is not bad leh.... you can surely reply to them if required.... :celebrate:
Hi LKVM - blush blush :lol:...My English not strong leh...Haha...mixture of English and Singlish...
LKVM, ε ζ²Ή! ε ζ²Ή! - You are reaching your quota soon! :celebrate: -
Me too.kabalevsky:
My nature inclines towards not doing such a stressful thing. I prefer to volunteer in the school my child is actually studying in, cos that is meaningful. I get to know the school better, what my child is doing, learn more about the programmes, the teachers and other parents..
I agree with your thoughts :celebrate:
Being a foreigner, I did not have the option to do PV. But even if I did, I wouldn't have done it. The school system in Singapore has an excellent reputation, leaving me to believe that even the least popular schools are better off than many of the school options back home.
That said, Corporation Primary in particular has been a pleasant surprise. The teachers have been very responsive. The principal has impressed me. The grounds are great. And considering it's one of the 16 schools in Singapore that's on the pilot program for PAL ... well I feel pretty lucky that it was an option for us. -
can share? maybe pm me and champion?
I have zoomed the ones which are 2 hourly ones and quite near to my house... I havent seen the one at JP cause its little far for me
ExpatMom:
I haven't met the impressive P yet. looking forward to doing so soon!
Being a foreigner, I did not have the option to do PV. But even if I did, I wouldn't have done it. The school system in Singapore has an excellent reputation, leaving me to believe that even the least popular schools are better off than many of the school options back home.
That said, Corporation Primary in particular has been a pleasant surprise. The teachers have been very responsive. The principal has impressed me. The grounds are great. And considering it's one of the 16 schools in Singapore that's on the pilot program for PAL ... well I feel pretty lucky that it was an option for us.
i am so glad it is working out so well for you! i am so glad it is for me as well!
my ds1 did the art modules, outdoor education stuff last yr for PAL and enjoyed everything tremendously, such that i wonder what else can beat that this yr!
when I heard from him in the 1st week of this term that they are doing \"dance\", i was thinking to myself if this term will be the first time he will say he doesn't like PAL..
to my surprise, they are learning a different cultural dance each week. not that kind of dancing that usually my sons dismiss as \"girly\".
so they learn Indian/ Malay/ chinese etc dance moves!
Plus, from what he \"performed\" and told me, it seems it incorporates some exercise component. They had to do some kind of stretching and kicking too.
One part of the 3 periods, he said the teacher will ask them to come up with dance moves to fit a particular mood or theme. He was excitedly showing me a certain move he did that made the teacher single him out to do for the whole class.
After seeing it, I was wondering was it cos the teacher wanted the whole class to have a laughing break cos it looked more funny than anything. (Like it's not as if it is a great dance move, you know, it just is funny, so maybe that's why the teacher asked him to show the rest.)
I am so glad they extended the PAL to P3. I hope they keep extending it so ds1 gets to enjoy these for all his 6 yrs! -
what is he doing now for PAL? not sure if they do the same thing or change vendors after feedback?kabalevsky:
I am so glad they extended the PAL to P3. I hope they keep extending it so ds1 gets to enjoy these for all his 6 yrs!
Yeah its good for the kids.. my DS also enjoys it :celebrate: -
Wanted to post and share this yesterday but kept forgetting leh

My DD1 will be performing a piano piece. (or have already performed by now :lol: ) during recess at 10.30am today. I am not sure whether it is only her class (according to her there are 5 of them volunteer to play) or with other P3s.
They were encouraged by their FT to play the piano during recess and she told me the venue is behind the tuckshop :? ...Anyway, I told her just do your best and play your favorite piece that you learnt in Yamaha. Guess what her reply? \"Oh, I not worry about playing during recess; but I am afraid I don't have enough time to eat for recess!\" :faint: :faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.