Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 199.3k Views 1 Watching
      JRLam

IJJ:

Janet, you are not alone. Mine comes back with Maths homework almost everyday and some days, more than 2 sets of maths worksheets. Plus other subject homeworks...really hard to slot in anything.

When kids are too tired (they start school so early), their productivity and concentration are naturally low. I empathise with these poor kids.. 😞 Just weeks ago, one day mine came back to share with me that her recessmates were full of grievances on having tuitions almost daily. She said even w/o any extra classes (she only has her mom constantly on her back), she already find it hard to breathe and enjoy life on weekdays. :roll: 😞

Maths alone, even if just 2-3 pages can take up 2 hours esp when he is so tired after school...no productivity. So I get him to sleep first...but prob is he refuses to get up after 1 hour.

I plan work for him everyday but they are secondary to his school hw...will just reduce to what is more impt...instead of whole Eng practice, I'll cut down to OE comprehension. Pumping him with too much work will not be effective.

We all are 'sama-sama' ... 😒 On the day when he is so Lucky NOT to have Maths hw, then he will have EL or CL compo as HW .. :stupid:

cantbearit2:

Hi cantbearit2,

I wonder how long this affiliation thing will stay...sure hope and pray hard πŸ™ πŸ™ the COP won't go to a level as good as not having any...then I will cry 😒

This school is not supposed to be very academic but teachers are pretty ON. I can't rest on my laurels even though I thought I could.

Ya, I Thot yur DD sch is pretty on cos their latest PSLE results was v impressive. Guess more stress on parents Wen sch is on. But on e gd side, some kids thrive wif a little pressure πŸ˜‰

Last year's PSLE results were impressive and school received a good progress award. My daughter's form teacher is very dedicated and even more caring and patient than any of my son's teachers...really hope her form teacher can continue for few more years πŸ™

Chenonceau

cantbearit2:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]
          My son struggled in P1 for the first term, managed to float quite ok.
          In P2, he excelled at the end. We were very surprised but naturally happy for him.

My son was somewhere in bottom of class in P1, even at end of year. He got wise in P2, learnt what he should and should not do. Did well enough in P2. Then P3 drop, but not as bad as P5. Never FAIL before especially after being such a good boy . I looked at his face staring at the mark and I swear I felt physical pain in my chest. :heartbroken:

Dun b so hard on yourself chenonceau. U have not been warn tats all. Fr all yur previous posts, i can tell u R oredi doing all tat u can to mitigate e shock 4 both yur ds & yourself. We r all tryg our best 2b e best parent we can b. Wats best to some may not be so for others. Like wat I always told my DD as long as u have tried yur best, tats gd enough for mommy. Mommy will try her best to help u tackle e flawed sys πŸ˜‰[/quote] πŸ’‹

Chenonceau

Buds, I think you expressed what I felt in my heart. The methodology is robust but not all Teachers can carry it off… And not all Principals support it wholeheartedly yet. I also think you were most convincing because you actually did experience it in a primary school. My own experience of Teach Less Learn More has been with adult learners.

What you shared gave me renewed faith in the MOE, and I do hope it is just a matter of waiting for the kinks to be ironed out. By then too, my kids would have grown up. But it may benefit the grandchildren. Meanwhile, I’ll just work a bit harder to help my son manage.

cantbearit2

cantbearit2, you have PM.

Hee....u r so resourceful hor...even noe whr to look for me.... I have replied u. πŸ˜‰

cantbearit2

Hi cantbearit2,

I wonder how long this affiliation thing will stay...sure hope and pray hard πŸ™ πŸ™ the COP won't go to a level as good as not having any...then I will cry 😒

This school is not supposed to be very academic but teachers are pretty ON. I can't rest on my laurels even though I thought I could.
                I was actually hoping DD can get into an affiliated sch but we have no connections watsoever lor.... 😒 IJ TP was 1 consideration but dun stand a chance cos dun live within 2 km lor.

Dun worry for now. Tink it shld b alrite. PLMGS is oso trying to impose a COP 4 their affiliated Pri sch students. But fr wat i noe, it's pretty reasonable wif affiliation (ard 200 i tink).

If yur DD is gd in arts or music, prob can still use it to go into IJ TP's music or art elective prog. πŸ˜‰

cantbearit2

http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/skype-emoticons.html Errr... hello? Issit safe for buds to come out and play now?

Whatever it is, i surrender first hor.. http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/skype-emoticons.html

I was spoilt for choice on where to mark my 9000th post but since now
                  the coast here a bit clear, i ehekhemm.. decided that after weighing the
                  pros and cons... http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/facebook-smileys.html, i will mark it in this post with an extensive sharing, so pleeeze bear with me. :oops:

Honestly, i thought discussing General Election issues were already heated
                  enough, but phew... it was kinda hot in here when it started so i kinda errr..
                  chickened out for awhile... well, knowing the low profile me... πŸ˜‰... and
                  will now get my chicken in. :lol: I'm on the fence with this never-ending issue
                  with our ministry proposed style of teaching... http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/skype-emoticons.html but am going to offer some of my personal sharings
                  based on how our education system fared for my children & I since its implementation... with my not so powderful England. πŸ˜‰

TEACH LESS, LEARN MORE

\"TLLM would mean less dependence on rote learning, repetitive tests
                  and a β€˜one size fits all’ type of instruction, and more on experiential
                  discovery, engaged learning, differentiated teaching, the learning of life-
                  long skills, and the building of character through innovative and effective
                  teaching approaches and strategies.\"

The above is taken from the official website marking the http://www.moe.gov.sg/about/yearbooks/2005/teach.html.

For as long as i could remember, parents here have been complaining of
                  the many assessments and tests and more tests on top the rote styled
                  learning of yesteryears.. Hence upon the many feedbacks and research
                  done by MOE, it finally chop to endorse the Teach Less, Learn More method
                  in schools. When it was first piloted however, not all schools started this
                  method at the same time... good in a way cause the method can be refined
                  further as it went along. As with any new programmes, new teachers, new
                  baby (etc)... it takes time for the new idea to sink in with the children, their
                  parents (us) and definitely even with the teaching personnel. It's akin to an
                  instance where the Teach Less part was married off with the Learn More.
                  As with any marriage, again, it takes time to reach the stage where things
                  hit off & slowly move into auto pilot mode. The method was cynically viewed
                  as we all know how teaching in schools have always been rote learning =
                  sit-down-face-whiteboard-listen-to-teacher kinda learning... so how in the
                  world would a teacher even begin to fathom the idea of teaching less of the
                  required curriculum within the same time frame?

Teaching Less

As per what the website indicated... Teach Less, Learn More is about teaching
                  better, to engage our learners and prepare them for life, rather than teaching more,
                  for tests and examinations.

Now, how do teachers go around teaching less to begin with and yet complete
                  the curriculum proper? How to ensure there's quality teaching as opposed to the
                  then quantity teaching which equates to long draggy periods of lecture mode?
                  The answer is, the teachers themselves gotta learn more... for
                  that is the only way to approach the method imposed on them as
                  constructive as possible.

In view of this change, teachers supposedly go for training to facilitate this
                  new idea of teaching the syllabus. I like to add that i see this idea pumped
                  more into the lower primary in the beginning.. Teaching less to engage our
                  new learners at P1/P2 levels does offer a holistic dimension that aimed to
                  benefit children of all the different types of learning abilities, pre-taught
                  knowledge, family backgrounds (etc). The modes of assessment go beyond
                  pen and paper based exams, which in reality bodes well for majority of the
                  average learners within our communities who can afford only basic
                  kindergarten education, which at this juncture is still not compulsory but...
                  definitely highly encouraged.

What's different for learners at this stage? My DD2 came into this method
                  the moment she entered her little feet to formal primary education and i
                  for one tried to look at this new idea positively & was drawn into this new
                  idea with teachers who must've ploughed thru' sleepless nites preparing
                  their lessons... for teaching less only means they have waaaayy more to
                  prepare to ensure that the young learners are indeed engaged.

The teachers in the school (neighbourhood sch by the way)... :love: lovingly
                  prepared a whole semester of events and activities for the children and
                  guess what...? Also for the parents! Yes, you didn't hear me or rather
                  read me wrongly... parents are given more opportunities to learn together
                  with our children on the different areas of learning and assessments and
                  were advised on the rubrics at the beginning of the first term. Parents were
                  given more opportunities to work hand in hand with the children, the school
                  and the teachers with alternative teaching modes. Children got to work in
                  groups, in pairs and also individually which in a nutshell allowed children
                  to work on leadership skills, interaction skills, public speaking skills and
                  also skills that enable them to think out of the box... which many parents
                  have emphasized our local children lack due to the then labeled as the
                  stifling-textbook-manner of teaching children. Cookie cutter mode some
                  said. This opening up to parents was definitely a new thing for us and a
                  big hit with most parents as schools are usually seen as a closed-door
                  instituition. With Teach Less parents also get to learn more about what's
                  being carried out in our children's classes & how they are being assessed.

Show & Tell... Project Work... Charity Work... Exhibitions... IT Learning...
                  Field Trips/Learning Journeys... Class Presentations... Stage Performances..
                  The above were a few of the new ideas my child and i have enjoyed with
                  this Teach Less method in place. Did it meet our expectations? In our
                  opinion, YES! My child loved school... looked forward going to school and
                  absorbed all the fun ideas without so much as having to study for testing..
                  but study to really learn... and not just classroom textbook based lessons
                  but also out of classroom experiences that they truly enjoyed. Children got
                  to work in the garden for early science exposure, went to the Science Ctr
                  for follow-up and submitted a group project for class presentation and
                  finally showcased their ideas with a mini exhibition. Yes... my little girl
                  actually did all that. And learnt so much from the experiences... This
                  would not have been possible if the education system kept to its old
                  school whiteboard-based learning where the teachers are always rushing
                  to finish the curriculum and pile children with endless homeworks that they
                  in turn have to mark, which adds to their list of to-dos as well.

For Language, children got to visit the library more often as classes take
                  turns to sit down and watch drama skits... participate in drama classes...
                  listen to story-tellers... exposed to more books and yes get opportunities
                  to tell about the books they read (the teachers introduce books appropriate
                  for their level) and also get to rate how interesting the books are based on
                  their genre of interest. Funny books and retold stories got the most thumbs
                  up, so i've heard. πŸ˜‰ Parents enjoyed Reading Night where all of us
                  came with our books and picnic mats and snacks... crowded the school
                  hall to listen to engaging story-tellers from the National Library... be
                  awestruck by children performances and choral reading based on the
                  Stellar books covered for the term... a lotta work i tell you, but... our
                  children learn. Grammar contents were covered by the given Stellar
                  worksheets and more from teacher-prepared materials that encompassed
                  the specific grammar rules that was to be covered in the curriculum plan
                  handed out to parents during the first term.

Children were assessed based on classroom participation, how they behave,
                  how they helped peers and teachers alike, how they understood what was
                  delivered in and outside of the classroom, topical papers based on monthly
                  theme/book (etc... etc...) too many to name but in short everyone gets to
                  shine and excel in the attributes-variant where it isn't just paper based..
                  But yes... Teachers are still expected to cover the curriculum proper ie.
                  textbooks & activity/workbooks on top of all those fun activities.

Gotta end this sharing here for now for i gotta fetch my DD1 from supp
                  class which is another fun extra the sch is providing... will share more
                  if my sharings can provide the different perspective to what TLLM has
                  to offer.

To end this sharing, my girls and i evaluated the method... and the end
                  result? Did they really learn more?

Happy to note, i got a resounding YESSSS!

PS : As with any human-reliant industry... it is with profound knowledge
                  that we all know \"the teacher\" plays a huuuuge part in ensuring this
                  TLLM method to be a successful one. While there are still way too
                  many teachers who do indeed go bo-chap on us and the children
                  (yes, i have experience and can really shame the teacher if i
                  really want to.. :x) it's only fair that we give due credit to the
                  ones who truly truly truly and relentlessly make it work... and
                  in my case... it worked big time! :celebrate:
                  :goodpost: u have captured the essence of the teach less, learn more concept. Unfortunately in tis human dependent industry, not all teachers (in fact, given the no. of warnings i got fr my frenz, rarely heard of teachers who can) R able to deliver it like your DD's. 😞

(if you say your England not powderful, u may juz instill fear in parents like me leh wif geniune Singlish lor.....U inspire so many parents in KSP here leh)

BTW, :congrats: buds on your promotion !!!! :lol:

cantbearit2

tamarind:

buds,
                    That school is definitely not just any neighbourhood school, it is a \"premium\" neighbourhood school. Most neighbourhood schools do not have any top 10 PSLE scorers.

My kids' neighbourhood school only produced 1 top 10 PSLE scorer in 10 years. It is the top choice in my area, because none of the other primary schools have produced any top scorer in their entire history.

My kids' school do have some activities that you mentioned. However, recently I heard one parent complaining that her girl was made to do Grammar workbook from page 20+ to 90+ in one day 😞 Quite sad. My girl also encountered teachers who made the whole class write the exact same set of words for a few days just before SA1. I think it really depends on the teacher.

Whatever methodology it is that MOE is trying to implement, if they don't have proper control over how teachers teach, it is still quite useless.
                    haha....tis thread has attracted 2 heavyweights. 1st there was Buds, then now come Tamarind. Hee.... :lol:

Thks ladies, for inspiring me wif presch teachings. :thankyou:

Back to our topic. My DD is still having her honeymoon period. I juz hope wif all tis info, we can better prepare her. πŸ˜‰

tamarind:
                      [quote] Neighbourhood schools have been the underdog performers of late and my girls' old school produced top ten psle scorers a coupla times too.

buds,
                      That school is definitely not just any neighbourhood school, it is a \"premium\" neighbourhood school. Most neighbourhood schools do not have any top 10 PSLE scorers. [/quote]Premium? Hehee.. because near condo issit? :lol:

No, seriously. The existence of top psle scorers in neighbourhood schools
                      require the encouragement and observation of the school's teaching staff...
                      to develop the children's best potentials and also push the children to
                      excellence...
                      to the Principal herself on how she supports his or her teaching pool with either
                      resources or advice plus motivation... to the support the children are getting
                      from home on top of the kind of environment the child him or herself sets for
                      study days/times.. Some may or may not have outsourced some help but essentially
                      the child is motivated by the factors that surrounds the study concept for herself
                      and no one else. They have it in themselves the need (and of course also
                      the \"want\") to do well. :love:

My deepest admiration and personal kudos to these children.. http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/facebook-smileys.html. They work really super-dee hard to achieve stellar results..

I'm still fine-tuning the positive environment for my girls to motivate themselves
                      to learn... hee... :oops:... and i'm also learning lotsa tips from you guys here to
                      further develop what they already have in them. :hugs:
                      tamarind:
                      [My kids' school do have some activities that you mentioned. However, recently I heard one parent complaining that her girl was made to do Grammar workbook from page 20+ to 90+ in one day 😞 Quite sad. My girl also encountered teachers who made the whole class write the exact same set of words for a few days just before SA1. I think it really depends on the teacher.
                      There will be cases of unfortunate incidences whether or not the teacher is
                      the bo-chap kind or perhaps under a lotta pressure him/herself to complete
                      the tasks before exams.. could also be a matter of time management for
                      them or a case of struggling with classroom management where more :rant:
                      is done than more learning..

Effective communication can reduce this. I've had personal experiences with
                      this. Teachers may think that children (ooh.. and parents too of course) are
                      coping fine with the workload they give. Provide constructive feedback and
                      allow them to understand where you are coming from and perhaps reach a
                      compromise to ensure a two-way success story. It is possible.. unless of cos
                      the teacher isn't literally interested in her job to begin with. I have zero
                      tolerance for such teachers and will not count on them to nurture my girls
                      when they need nurturing or rather :spank: to wake up their idea! :x In
                      this really way off bo-pian case then seriously gotta kao zi ji. 😞
                      tamarind:
                      [Whatever methodology it is that MOE is trying to implement, if they don't have proper control over how teachers teach, it is still quite useless.
                      Very true, tam. That's why it is a success story for us. πŸ˜‰ MOE implements.
                      Teachers get training for new implementation and Principal offers umbrella
                      radar to motivate her teachers along... anytime they may require assistance.
                      I shook the hands of the Principal on my last visit there and told her earnestly
                      i was sooo super sad and reluctant to leave her school for she in my opinion
                      had successfully geared her team of teachers to teach from the heart and it was
                      only possible cause she was there every step of the way for her teachers and
                      all her students. In my eyes, she has nurtured a neighbourhood school to become
                      like a banded school. She just humbly smiled and said it can't happen if she
                      doesn't have supportive parents to support her mission.

She isn't the stay in office kind of Principal. 1st day we all met her, she said...
                      \"If you have something to say, please don't go shoot letter to MOE straight
                      away for the smallest issues. I'm always here to listen and let's work together.
                      My office is always open for you, you're welcome to come chat if i'm available.
                      If we can't meet in person, this is my number... please call me... and i have
                      this issue with parents thinking a call from school is usually cham already,
                      sure my child got problem... well, don't be surprised if my teachers call you
                      just to share how happy they are with your child's work...

Yes, my teachers don't call up parents only to bear bad news but i encourage
                      my teachers to call you even when there's no news.. perhaps just to catch
                      up and also to share how your child has progressed and how we can have
                      a better parent-teacher partnership... for without you, the parents working
                      hand in hand with my teachers and i, we cannot capitalize on the strengths
                      of our children and fully boost their potentials.\"

Lastly to the effect, she added...\"Even if you do call MOE, MOE will still call to inform
                      us that you went to them to complain right... so if you need to complain, please
                      do come complain to me first and i will personally see to it what i can do... and
                      if you think after that i still did not manage to address your concerns and you go
                      MOE, i will not hold it against you. But here i am just sharing that we can work
                      the kinks out amongst ourselves first instead of making everything a big hooha.\"

After that speech, you can see parents looking down storing her number as she
                      repeated it. πŸ˜‰

The best Principal i've met to date. Hands down. :udawoman:

cimman

I'm still fine-tuning the positive environment for my girls to motivate themselves
                        to learn... hee... :oops:... and i'm also learning lotsa tips from you guys here to
                        further develop what they already have in them. :hugs:
                        could you share some of the techniques in creating a positive environment for the child to be self motivated ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 49 / 73

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies