DesertWind:
I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement. At least yours have been proven to deliver with your household for 3years. I bet probably her lousy hubby inflated the sum to spurgle some on himself! At least now you have set the rules upfront and she has repaid her loan so the risk is smaller.Littlefly:
DesertWind, during the 3 years when your maid was experiencing through all this, did she request for salary advance ? or she just confideded in you coz she needs a listening ear ?
Hi Littlefly,
No, she did not ask for any salary advance. She told me this when I saw her quite distracted and asked her whether everything was ok at home? How about her girl, ok? So she told me all these. Occasionally we will also chat and I will ask her how is her girl, aunty, husband?
The only time she asked for salary advancement was when her girl fell very ill (through eating too much MSG in Indo. causing her neck glands to swell very badly!) and her aunty called her to send money over so that they can send the girl to the hospital!
She was panicking and I agreed to help her. But I was quite shocked by the medical fees in Indonesia. The doctor for about one week stay at his home and treatment blah blah totals to SGD1,000! So I had to advance her 2 months at that time but subsequently told her it was only because it was her girl fell sick. Other people can forget about it!
Subsequently I told her in future at the most I will advance her one month salary and not more. Because from that experience, imagine 2 months without pay she otang me. I don't feel good and I am sure she didn't feel good too. So I told her it is for her own good I will not advance more than 1 month since the payback would be painful!
That time her husband was there in charge of sending her daughter to the doctor and subsequently I heard he took some money to spend for himself too.
The lousy man!
She was pretty helpless here in SG cannot do anything although she was quite :x
Her \"blood\", \"sweat\" & \"tears\" money!

My new maid hasn't called home coz she said her family would pressed her for money each time she rang home. The maids families should know very well for the first 8-11months, they don't get full salary as they need to repay their loans but well, i guess they would still try their luck sometimes. -
hi clk, how is yr new maid? what is the salary rate nw?
i oso feel like changing a new maid but the salary is far way too high. like nw my current one is 370 but heard fm my agent tat nw new maid salary is 480-500. oso hv phobia paying so high but if cm a terrible one den i will fainted liaoβ¦
nw my current maid wk with me for 2yrs+ but she kind of those argue type. when mistake being pointed out, she will giv lotsa excuses & nt admit mistakes. she is the slow type which i cant stand. walk slow & do hsewk slow but when cm to eating, she is No.1 glutton. always like to stare at my family members when they r eating. i dont like cos its rude. -
jiebdiaobei:
Your maid sounds like she'll give you more trouble in the future.hi clk, how is yr new maid? what is the salary rate nw?
i oso feel like changing a new maid but the salary is far way too high. like nw my current one is 370 but heard fm my agent tat nw new maid salary is 480-500. oso hv phobia paying so high but if cm a terrible one den i will fainted liao....
nw my current maid wk with me for 2yrs+ but she kind of those argue type. when mistake being pointed out, she will giv lotsa excuses & nt admit mistakes. she is the slow type which i cant stand. walk slow & do hsewk slow but when cm to eating, she is No.1 glutton. always like to stare at my family members when they r eating. i dont like cos its rude. -
jiebdiaobei:
Your maid agency could have overcharge.i oso feel like changing a new maid but the salary is far way too high. like nw my current one is 370 but heard fm my agent tat nw new maid salary is 480-500. oso hv phobia paying so high but if cm a terrible one den i will fainted liao....
nw my current maid wk with me for 2yrs+ but she kind of those argue type. when mistake being pointed out, she will giv lotsa excuses & nt admit mistakes. she is the slow type which i cant stand. walk slow & do hsewk slow but when cm to eating, she is No.1 glutton. always like to stare at my family members when they r eating. i dont like cos its rude.
On week14, I check with a Indon maid agency and according to them the maid salary range between $440(fresh) - $470(exp). I believe those range between $480-$500 should be very very experience.
My previous Indon maid is the same as your current maid. Argumental Type. Do not follow instruction. She behaved as if she was the owner of our house. Whenever we went shopping she will made me buy things for her and if I don't she will pull a long face. After 2 year I told my husband I really \"Tak Boleh Tahan\" her anymore so we sent her home. I find that Indon Maid tend to work/react slower than filipino maid and they simply love to complain. -
My new maid has been working for me for almost 2 mths. She has undergo training with my old maid for 3 wks for housework and cooking and when my old maid went back she cannot cook. She has copied down all recipes and yet she still like very blur and I have to teach her again. She can only cook simple dish. The thing is that she got no problem with all housework but cooking she just got problem.
2 mths already the improvement in her cooking is slow. My priority is cooking. My 2 children are in JC already she no need to take care of children she just need to do housework and cooking. I thought of sending her back but I am worried I will get one worse than her. -
Littlefly:
I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement. At least yours have been proven to deliver with your household for 3years. I bet probably her lousy hubby inflated the sum to spurgle some on himself! At least now you have set the rules upfront and she has repaid her loan so the risk is smaller.
My new maid hasn't called home coz she said her family would pressed her for money each time she rang home. The maids families should know very well for the first 8-11months, they don't get full salary as they need to repay their loans but well, i guess they would still try their luck sometimes.
Right ON. That's how I feel too when they kept telling sob stories. I'm getting one new story every month (data points for last 4 monthly calls). Acted blur for 3 stories, only gave some money when the mom died (which I hope is true). Shall see what is the new 'movie' in May. Stay tuned
DesertWind:
Actually considering their cost of living, S$1K is a LOT of money over there. Thought that domestic help in Indo only paid like S$50 per month? Or am I seriously out of date? or maybe they feed her bird nest and 'tian shan xue lian'. I really wonder how much is the actual cost of treatment.
She was panicking and I agreed to help her. But I was quite shocked by the medical fees in Indonesia. The doctor for about one week stay at his home and treatment blah blah totals to SGD1,000! So I had to advance her 2 months at that time but subsequently told her it was only because it was her girl fell sick. Other people can forget about it!DesertWind:
Stupid man!!! I have a lot more not nice words in store for such people. Your own daughter, your own wife. Sigh.....
That time her husband was there in charge of sending her daughter to the doctor and subsequently I heard he took some money to spend for himself too. -
cwc:
On lah. :lol:Littlefly:
I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement. At least yours have been proven to deliver with your household for 3years. I bet probably her lousy hubby inflated the sum to spurgle some on himself! At least now you have set the rules upfront and she has repaid her loan so the risk is smaller.
My new maid hasn't called home coz she said her family would pressed her for money each time she rang home. The maids families should know very well for the first 8-11months, they don't get full salary as they need to repay their loans but well, i guess they would still try their luck sometimes.
Right ON. That's how I feel too when they kept telling sob stories. I'm getting one new story every month (data points for last 4 monthly calls). Acted blur for 3 stories, only gave some money when the mom died (which I hope is true). Shall see what is the new 'movie' in May. Stay tuned
Littlefly:
On lah. :lol:[/quote]Looks like dun have to wait till next month liao.....and somehow I already kinda expecting......cwc:
[quote=\"Littlefly\"]I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement. At least yours have been proven to deliver with your household for 3years. I bet probably her lousy hubby inflated the sum to spurgle some on himself! At least now you have set the rules upfront and she has repaid her loan so the risk is smaller.
For privacy sake, cannot disclose what's the case yet .... but maid now says
\"if you, sir and ah mah not happy with me, it's ok. Send me back Indonesia. I'm Ok\" Win liao loh!!! Obviously already planning her move liao....to say such things she must be prepared liao. :rubhands:
Frankly, I feel quite tired and xianzzzz... Just 5+ months with us......if I dun have any elderly with me, I'll definitely not ever hire any more.
Come to think about it.....should expect. Her last stint in SG was also less than a year, gave her benefit of doubt and hired her. But isn't she stupid to do it again? Loan unfinished....start all over again?? Anyway, my conscience is clear....her loss if she choose to go. -
Littlefly:
I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement......My new maid hasn't called home coz she said her family would pressed her for money each time she rang home. The maids families should know very well for the first 8-11months, they don't get full salary as they need to repay their loans but well, i guess they would still try their luck sometimes.
Can understand your skepticism, Littlefly! Although my maid never ask for salary advancement except that one time her girl fell very ill, she will hint about salary increment very well!
For eg. she will tell me her friends told her nowadays no longer can get maid at SGD300+ or even SGD400. Because if change maid, nowadays pay SGD500 or more etc.... I said very well because that few times will take me a couple of days before it occurred to me she may be hinting at her pay to be increased.... :heresmyfish:
But I only felt the pressure when all those agencies increased new maids pay to SGD450.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.