Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      BeContented

Littlefly:
      cwc:

[quote=\"Littlefly\"]I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement. At least yours have been proven to deliver with your household for 3years. I bet probably her lousy hubby inflated the sum to spurgle some on himself! At least now you have set the rules upfront and she has repaid her loan so the risk is smaller.

My new maid hasn't called home coz she said her family would pressed her for money each time she rang home. The maids families should know very well for the first 8-11months, they don't get full salary as they need to repay their loans but well, i guess they would still try their luck sometimes.

Right ON. That's how I feel too when they kept telling sob stories. I'm getting one new story every month (data points for last 4 monthly calls). Acted blur for 3 stories, only gave some money when the mom died (which I hope is true). Shall see what is the new 'movie' in May. Stay tuned šŸ˜‰

On lah. :lol:[/quote]Looks like dun have to wait till next month liao.....and somehow I already kinda expecting......

For privacy sake, cannot disclose what's the case yet .... but maid now says
      \"if you, sir and ah mah not happy with me, it's ok. Send me back Indonesia. I'm Ok\" Win liao loh!!! Obviously already planning her move liao....to say such things she must be prepared liao. :rubhands:

Frankly, I feel quite tired and xianzzzz... Just 5+ months with us......if I dun have any elderly with me, I'll definitely not ever hire any more.

Come to think about it.....should expect. Her last stint in SG was also less than a year, gave her benefit of doubt and hired her. But isn't she stupid to do it again? Loan unfinished....start all over again?? Anyway, my conscience is clear....her loss if she choose to go.

• DesertWindD Offline
        DesertWind

Littlefly:
        I see. I asked coz I get a bit skeptical if my maid starts to share her sob stories and my defence would be up if she's trying her luck with salary advancement......My new maid hasn't called home coz she said her family would pressed her for money each time she rang home. The maids families should know very well for the first 8-11months, they don't get full salary as they need to repay their loans but well, i guess they would still try their luck sometimes.

Can understand your skepticism, Littlefly! Although my maid never ask for salary advancement except that one time her girl fell very ill, she will hint about salary increment very well! šŸ˜› For eg. she will tell me her friends told her nowadays no longer can get maid at SGD300+ or even SGD400. Because if change maid, nowadays pay SGD500 or more etc.... I said very well because that few times will take me a couple of days before it occurred to me she may be hinting at her pay to be increased.... :heresmyfish:

But I only felt the pressure when all those agencies increased new maids pay to SGD450. šŸ˜›

• DesertWindD Offline
          DesertWind

Actually considering their cost of living, S$1K is a LOT of money over there. Thought that domestic help in Indo only paid like S$50 per month? Or am I seriously out of date? or maybe they feed her bird nest and 'tian shan xue lian'. I really wonder how much is the actual cost of treatment.

DesertWind:

That time her husband was there in charge of sending her daughter to the doctor and subsequently I heard he took some money to spend for himself too.

Stupid man!!! I have a lot more not nice words in store for such people. Your own daughter, your own wife. Sigh.....

Hi hquek,

That's true, SGD1,000 is a LOT of money converted to IDR! And I was asking her why seeing this doctor and staying at his house (no doubt for one week) need so much money? Seems like not much choice because nearest public hospital is very far away so their villagers usually go to this doctor's house and will stay there. They will take care of meals etc. and apparently the doctor will dictate the fees. \"Ai lai, mai suak!\".

Secondly, she ever told me for her girl's education in Indonesia, school fees is also expensive. Not like Singapore got government's subsidy and for primary school it is free! (Of course in SG, all sorts of enrichment make everything expensive but then it is true what she said right? Primary schooling is free in SG?). I forgot how much she told me it was.

Anyway, it really pique my curiousity about the cost of medical and schooling in Indonesia but have not really ask her properly about it or did any research....

But all the above she told me was the reason she must continue to work in SG to support her girl next year going primary 1.

As for her \"husband\". Yah! But I got mixed feelings about her dumping her husband because one of the reason why I like her to be married was because so that there would be less problems with b/f or man in SG. On the other hand, such man not worth keeping and also heartache for her and her girl no fatherly figure. I think she is strongly now (more hard-hearted) because she now has a daughter to think about so building her house now for her girl. But occasionally she would get nightmares having dreams about her husband taking her girl away! 😢

But the sad and ironic part is when she think clearly, it is also not likely because her husband won't have the means to support her girl and he himself already got 3 grown-up children from 1st wife.

OK, enough sob stories about my maid! šŸ˜‰

Littlefly

cwc:
            Littlefly:

[quote=\"cwc\"]

Right ON. That's how I feel too when they kept telling sob stories. I'm getting one new story every month (data points for last 4 monthly calls). Acted blur for 3 stories, only gave some money when the mom died (which I hope is true). Shall see what is the new 'movie' in May. Stay tuned šŸ˜‰

On lah. :lol:

Looks like dun have to wait till next month liao.....and somehow I already kinda expecting......

For privacy sake, cannot disclose what's the case yet .... but maid now says
            \"if you, sir and ah mah not happy with me, it's ok. Send me back Indonesia. I'm Ok\" Win liao loh!!! Obviously already planning her move liao....to say such things she must be prepared liao. :rubhands:

Frankly, I feel quite tired and xianzzzz... Just 5+ months with us......if I dun have any elderly with me, I'll definitely not ever hire any more.

Come to think about it.....should expect. Her last stint in SG was also less than a year, gave her benefit of doubt and hired her. But isn't she stupid to do it again? Loan unfinished....start all over again?? Anyway, my conscience is clear....her loss if she choose to go.[/quote]Wah piang, win big time loh. Hang in there, All is not lost! maybe she's just trying to see how far she can stretch you. Try to sweet talk her to stay if she's not too bad in her job? like ' if i send you back now, i get free replacement from agency but you would have worked for nothing for the past 5mths + leh... šŸ˜‰

Mine too! didn't complete contract in last stint but i still hire her šŸ™ ... so far, i try 'siam' her coz she eager to chat. I try to treat her fairly like how my boss would treat me. Good but not too personal. I still have to earn my keep.

Littlefly

DesertWind:
              For eg. she will tell me her friends told her nowadays no longer can get maid at SGD300+ or even SGD400. Because if change maid, nowadays pay SGD500 or more etc.... I said very well because that few times will take me a couple of days before it occurred to me she may be hinting at her pay to be increased.... :heresmyfish:

But I only felt the pressure when all those agencies increased new maids pay to SGD450. šŸ˜›
              hahaha. Good that she's quite subtle about it. :D. Next time you can tell her not all new Indo maids get SGD450 and above. Some still come in at SGD370. Even new Phil ones still gets under SGD400 - all depends on the agencies we go to.

BeContented

Littlefly:

Wah piang, win big time loh. Hang in there, All is not lost! maybe she's just trying to see how far she can stretch you. Try to sweet talk her to stay if she's not too bad in her job? like ' if i send you back now, i get free replacement from agency but you would have worked for nothing for the past 5mths + leh... šŸ˜‰

Mine too! didn't complete contract in last stint but i still hire her šŸ™ ... so far, i try 'siam' her coz she eager to chat. I try to treat her fairly like how my boss would treat me. Good but not too personal. I still have to earn my keep.
                Frankly dun open eye wide wide....just \"mi mi yan\" still pass. So would rather not change...also, hard to find maid who wants to take care FIL.
                Actually, like you, mine also tried to chat to me....too often. So much so that I have to \"siam\" her like \"siam\" MIL, close my door and hide in room. Initially, I can still stay home....now, I also try to go out more. I a bit chatty myself, once I start I also become personal, so best is :siam:

I'll just take a step at a time, 见ꋛꋆꋛ怂 How come stay home also so xiong leh :|:

Funx3

cwc:
                  Littlefly:

Wah piang, win big time loh. Hang in there, All is not lost! maybe she's just trying to see how far she can stretch you. Try to sweet talk her to stay if she's not too bad in her job? like ' if i send you back now, i get free replacement from agency but you would have worked for nothing for the past 5mths + leh... šŸ˜‰

Frankly dun open eye wide wide....just \"mi mi yan\" still pass. So would rather not change...also, hard to find maid who wants to take care FIL.
                  Actually, like you, mine also tried to chat to me....too often. So much so that I have to \"siam\" her like \"siam\" MIL, close my door and hide in room. Initially, I can still stay home....now, I also try to go out more. I a bit chatty myself, once I start I also become personal, so best is :siam:

I'll just take a step at a time, 见ꋛꋆꋛ怂 How come stay home also so xiong leh :|:

Wah So \"Cham\", Cannot Stay Home Coz Want to \"Siam\" Your Maid ....
                  MayBe tell Her Outright \"Mam Tired, Mam don't Want Talk ?!\"
                  šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

BeContented

šŸ˜› šŸ˜›
                    eeerrrhhh....people like them can be very simple-minded. Wait she think you not happy with her then stop talking to you or responding...mah xiao?? Think easier dart, hide, siam, go shopping šŸ™‚ less trouble šŸ˜‰

Funx3

cwc:

šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

eeerrrhhh....people like them can be very simple-minded. Wait she think you not happy with her then stop talking to you or responding...mah xiao?? Think easier dart, hide, siam, go shopping šŸ™‚ less trouble šŸ˜‰

Last Time I Very Fren With My Prev Maid.
                      She Look See our Face, Will \"Auto\" Know What We need.
                      Things Like heard us Cough, or Clear our throat very Loud-ly, she \"Auto\" Bring Warm Water for us .... And prepare Cough Medicine after meal ....
                      And Prepare Porridge for us ....

This current one, I talk Minimal to Her. outright talk also no use.
                      even When We Sorethroat, Coughing, She will Still Prepare Fried Chicken, Curry Chicken, Black Pepper Beef - ALL stuff that we cannot take .... :faint: :faint:

tannggy

Littlefly:
                        madinked:

Actually the reason I let them have handphones is simple. They almost don't have a life here so it'll be nice to have a phone and they can at least communicate with friends. In the end she used the phone all the time. I had to step in a few times and stopped her. There were many times I stepped out of my room to see her in her room. When she saw me she would pretend to rearrange things. Despite warnings of keeping her phone, I'm reluctant to do I since it's her phone and she's 34 or so. I would think she has more self control than that.

As for off days I gave my maid cos she said she has relatives here. So I thought again it would be nice to be able to meet some people whom she can communicate easily and without restrictions. But in the end I think she went out to meet guys more than relatives.

Maybe you can tell her to use her phone at night -like after she finishes her work. Its the same when we work - our bosses also don't like if we have personal chats on the phone frequently on office hours. 34yrs should be mature and sensible enough :roll:

generally these girls are not taught to budget. my maid felt rich when she collect her pay of $380. remit for younger sister highschool edu $100 + 26charges (western union) phone card unlimited - top up all the time. buy buy buy fancy cheap useless stuff...... in 6mths, only save 280 with me, on my insistence, (50 a mth),
                        everymonth hometown sure got poor story n ask for more money. and maid said money so fast finish. for sure lah! as she felt so powerful dispensing her pay.
                        nag her every payday not to send more money home. she said her previous employer tell her that expensive things then good, so she buy from 7-11 toothpaste, tidbits, can drinks. ahhhhh

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 453 / 1032