Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      Funx3

Littlefly:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]I've asked my maids before. They have to eat rice to feel full. Noodles and porridge can't fill them up. They also love bread. One of my maids could polish off a whole loaf in a day or two. But it's okay. They have to have full stomachs to do their job. Oh, I had a maid who ate rice for breakfast!

Then I had one maid who cooked a lot for herself to eat. Chicken soup etc which I didn't realize. Only realised when i changed maids and my grocery shopping which only lasted me 3 days with the old maid lasted one week with the new one!

My New Maid Eats A Heaping Soup Bowl of Rice for her Meal ....
      A 10kg Pack of Rice used to Last our Family ~1 mth, and Now is Finished in <2 wks ....
      And Polish off A Loaf of Extra-Large Pack of Bread in 1 day ....
      But I Agree, Let them Eat Their Fill, Then Got Strength to Do work ....

Now Can See, she Smart Already, ....
      Cut Down On Rice, But Cook Extra Large Portion of Multiple Dishes instead ....
      Result? My Grocery Depleted Twice as fast as when I got my Prev Maid ....
      :roll: :roll:

That's smart move loh - ate more good stuff than rice.
      My maid ate like a mouse portion (same serving as me) when she arrived 1st week. After that, true colors show - i think she ate as much as my hb (like 3x my portion). Do you separate food for them ? I did that for some food like canned sardines/ chicken sausages/chicken canned food/ instant mees but she is free to access milo/cereal/coffee/eggs. So far she quite 自动- she won't take any of our pastries / cakes/ packet drinks without asking. :D[/quote]Not Really, Everything We Eat, She Gets to Eat as Well ....
      Except for Bak-Kut-Teh, and Ham, Of Course ....

In the 1st couple of Weeks with our family, She \"SAPU\" up a Whooping 30 Packets of Indo-Mee till KOSONG .... My Son Told Me She Ate atv least 2 packets Everyday, On top of the Extra Large Loaf of Bread, Heaped Soup Bowl Size Rice ....

clk

jiebdiaobei:
        hi clk, how is yr new maid? what is the salary rate nw?

i oso feel like changing a new maid but the salary is far way too high. like nw my current one is 370 but heard fm my agent tat nw new maid salary is 480-500. oso hv phobia paying so high but if cm a terrible one den i will fainted liao....

nw my current maid wk with me for 2yrs+ but she kind of those argue type. when mistake being pointed out, she will giv lotsa excuses & nt admit mistakes. she is the slow type which i cant stand. walk slow & do hsewk slow but when cm to eating, she is No.1 glutton. always like to stare at my family members when they r eating. i dont like cos its rude.
        Very Busy in my work, so no time to reply....This present maid actually not bad, but I need a independent maid which means can handle everything by herself. If I have time to train, I do think this one deffinitely can be train. But he language damn poor, i need to use internet translator to talk to her, even draw picture....I dun hv time for that. If I have time and can take leave for 1 wk or so, do thk can train her up. But too bad I dun hv such time, so I chose another ex-filipino maid who completed 2 yrs contract in Indian family. Hopefully can make it lo...but 6 wks to come lo, need to wait...
        My agent replacement maid unlimited for 1 year, so is ok lo, but will loss on insurance cos once change 1 will refund 80% only. So far my agent give me ex sing maid salary range from $400-$450, fresh around $380-$420. reasonable. But biodata always many mistake, so I always asked to call and check myself...To me take maid really by luck lo...so if i feel agency fee ok, and maid salary ok, the rest i will find out myself lo, can't depend all by them....unless they really cheated lo..

tigger88

I don’t separate our food with my maid. She is free to eat anything except for those I specifically tell her no (like birdnest). Mine also gained weight as she ate quite a big bowl of rice. Other than that, she is quite zi tong and won’t eat too much of anything. I think she grows fat because we always ask her to finsih up the leftovers.

mama_g

Been maidless for pass 5mths and now thinking to get a maid again... should i or should i not?? :?

Will having maid load off my problems or give me more problems??
            Is lucky star shinning on me to get a decent maid?

Maidless = less time with Kids......

BeContented

Littlefly:

My maid ate like a mouse portion (same serving as me) when she arrived 1st week. After that, true colors show - i think she ate as much as my hb (like 3x my portion). Do you separate food for them ? I did that for some food like canned sardines/ chicken sausages/chicken canned food/ instant mees but she is free to access milo/cereal/coffee/eggs. So far she quite 自动- she won't take any of our pastries / cakes/ packet drinks without asking. 😄

Yes same here when first arrived will say no mam i am full just eat 1 bowl slowly went to almost 3 bowls now... but i better she eat so that dont fall down while working as long as she eat wat she is supposed to eat.. got her bread, biscuits and noodles to eat in between so that wont touch my kids food.. i do separate things if i made less then make sure she also have enuf other wise no

All same one....same same same :roll:
              Beginning will pretend \"Full / small eaters / eee this er that\". Slowly, you'll find food depleting really fast. Viola....the truth is out when she goes \"Mam, my clothes very tight......\"

When I was new to having maid, I separated the food cos' they really wallop the good stuff .... and I had to block some eg. Manuka honey, my more expensive blueberry jam :oops: will give them some for their own consumption cos' if put together, at the speed they humtum, cannot afford to feed them and I'm like forever no food to eat when I want :x

Now that financially better plus this new one quite auto (will not finish food meant for my kids), I dun separate but will tell her \"this one you can take and eat\"....so she won't just happy happy wallop all.

Eventually, guess we just need to monitor and decide which type they fall under. But always be on the more cautious side.....upfront must tell her which are the STRICTLY NO eg. birdnest 🙂

Littlefly

In the 1st couple of Weeks with our family, She \"SAPU\" up a Whooping 30 Packets of Indo-Mee till KOSONG .... My Son Told Me She Ate atv least 2 packets Everyday, On top of the Extra Large Loaf of Bread, Heaped Soup Bowl Size Rice ....
                :!:

Littlefly

tigger88:

I don't separate our food with my maid. She is free to eat anything except for those I specifically tell her no (like birdnest). Mine also gained weight as she ate quite a big bowl of rice. Other than that, she is quite zi tong and won't eat too much of anything. I think she grows fat because we always ask her to finsih up the leftovers.

yes very true also for me too :oops: :oops:

My maid don't take our leftovers (think she had too much rice alredi) but she grows fat coz she gets to prep her own lunch. I do notice the peanut butter goes very fast. We used to take 2 mths to finish one bottle but now like every other week. MOM should read our forum to know most of our maids are very well-fed! 😎

Littlefly

cwc:
                    Viola....the truth is out when she goes \"Mam, my clothes very tight......\"

When I was new to having maid, I separated the food cos' they really wallop the good stuff .... and I had to block some eg. Manuka honey, my more expensive blueberry jam :oops: will give them some for their own consumption cos' if put together, at the speed they humtum, cannot afford to feed them and I'm like forever no food to eat when I want :x

Now that financially better plus this new one quite auto (will not finish food meant for my kids), I dun separate but will tell her \"this one you can take and eat\"....so she won't just happy happy wallop all.

Eventually, guess we just need to monitor and decide which type they fall under. But always be on the more cautious side.....upfront must tell her which are the STRICTLY NO eg. birdnest 🙂
                    Same lor - my maid had to buy new pants with her first month pay coz none of her old pants fit. Now coming to 2nd mth, she's thinking of buying again! :faint:

She saw I feed my boy manuka and mentioned to me that her ex-Mdm also gave her honey last time for bread spread. Then she saw I bought the bun bread for my boy and said the same thing she was given sausage with bun bread for breakfast sometimes. Is that a hint? haha, i don't get it. :cheeky:

Littlefly

Just curious if any of you sometimes leave your maid at home when you have family dinners outside ? My gf tells me she leave her current maid behind coz she does minimum but her first maid who was great help, she brings her along every time, including expensive hotel lunches.

Do you feel sorry to leave her behind ? I do suffer from guilty conscious when i don't bring my maid along. I maybe :siao: . Just like when our bosses go out for expensive biz lunches, we don't get invited along every time.

tigger88

Littlefly:
                        Just curious if any of you sometimes leave your maid at home when you have family dinners outside ? My gf tells me she leave her current maid behind coz she does minimum but her first maid who was great help, she brings her along every time, including expensive hotel lunches.

Do you feel sorry to leave her behind ? I do suffer from guilty conscious when i don't bring my maid along. I maybe :siao: . Just like when our bosses go out for expensive biz lunches, we don't get invited along every time.
                        Yes, sometimes I ask maid to stay home while we go out for family dinners. Usually I will ask her to cook for the kids and herself; we will feed the kids first before we go out. Bringing 3 young kids out for dinner can be very stressful so I rather they eat at home first. And also my kids need car seats so no more extra space for maid to squeeze inside the car since it’s a normal saloon car.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 460 / 1032