Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      Littlefly

cwc:
      tigger88:

cwc, i think your maid already no heart to work here for you anymore. Why dun let her go back and free yourself of her sob stories and nonsense.

DH dun agree. To him, she can spin all the stories she wants, she needs to be responsible....in any case, since she is still doing her work reasonably, so still manageable. Stories....she can spin all she wants. My criteria also.....dun steal, dun do immoral stuff, dun fight with MIL till I cannot tahan else, think can close eye(s)

Frankly, if letting go means can get someone reasonable, I dun mind....but it's not easy esp. when I need one who is willing to take care of FIL which includes bathing him.....so hands a bit tied. All I can do is try to be nicer.....

I kinda of agree with Tiger88. I got a sense your maid felt she's indispensable. 😐 is she trying to hint at salary increment or salary advancement? could be stressful on you to deal with her dramas every now and then. If she's not overboard, let her spin all she want and u just hear, smile, act blur and :siam:.

Seems like when we try to be nicer to maids, their patterns come out. My gf upped her maid's salary to $450 after hearing that this is pay some new hires make. her maid gets a day off weekly and can keep handphone. She also allowed her maid who has no savings to advance a few times for her father's surgery (sob story) so much that her maid takes only $50 allowance up to Nov. Then recently, her maid (with her advances uncleared) tried to ask my gf to allow her to take course, implying my gf pay for her fees! :!: I think her maid went too far this time, taking my gf's kindness for granted. :x

• G Offline
        gumiho

Our maid agency always remind us not to be too lenient with the maid else she will be out of control.

I think it’s better to impose Rules & Regulations for her to follow so that she will be more discipline.

Just because our previous 2 helpers took us for granted therefore we have no choice but to be stricter with our current helper.

Littlefly

tigger88:
          micollh:

sometimes i feel should we also have MC/OT for our maid just like our work.. like one year how many days of MC.. if she works over wat time she gets OT $ .. like welfare for them.. will this motivate them to work better. i feel quite bad for them for working whole day and draw so little..(eventhougth the money is a lot in their country)..

If my maid is sick, I will let her rest more. Every time she finishes her 2 years contract, I will give her one month bonus to reward her. I also provide dental benefits, buy her and her children Christmas pressies, celebrate her birthdays with cake and gifts etc.

Tigger88, sounds like your maid worked long for you ?

SMH FOREST

Haiz... i need to rant..

My maid contract is coming to an end in June. She's not very good.. but 1 thing about her is she can be trusted (she's home alone in the day)... BUT she is very blur... after 2.5yrs, she still need to be given basic instructions like - dont move my things w/o informing, keep the stuff we bought from outside, change towels (sometimes she forgets)... she cant really cook but can cook some basic meals that we taught.. my boy is very OK with her.. which is a consolation.. her bad point is she often wakes up late!

Since 6 mths ago, I've already started sounding her out if she wanna continue working... every time she will say YES... she once even told my hub, she wanna c my boy put on his pri sch uniform!

Just today... she woke up late again... I reprimanded her, because she does this WAY TOO OFTEN! N i questioned her... do u wanna work?? She actually told me no.. n wanna ask my hub to cancel her work permit!

I am super pissed! Because, all this while, she says YES! Now, I only have 2 mths to the end of her contract, she chu pattern! I'm now in a panic mode to find a replacement!! SOBZ!!!

The best part is.. 1mth ago, my hub talk to her abt her bad points and waking up late.. and told her he will see if she improves after a mth.. today, she told me... she wanna go home cos' she nv change in the mth.. and it is my hub who told her to \"CONSIDER\" for a month.... i BTH and told her... \"harlow.. do u really think you are the boss? Sir said that he want to observe and see if you improve in a mth's time as you said u want to change your bad habits... and its not asking you to consider if u wanna continue working.. Do you think you are BIGGER than us that you can consider again n again?\"... she really thinks me and my hub are her workers sia!! PISSED!!

:x :x :stupid: :stupid: :stupid: :rant: :rant: :rant: :rant: :rant:

Funx3

SMH FOREST:
              .. her bad point is she often wakes up late!
              I have the Same Problem With My New Maid ....
              (In the First 2 Weeks of Sch this Year, We have to wake her up 4 out of 8 days!)
              Told Her this is One thing I Cannot Compromise, Else she has to Pack up and GO .... Coz I got 3 schooling Kids, and Being Late is Consider Major in their Schools (ALL in Different Schools).

Since then has happen only once (I woke Her up) ....
              And Am still Monitoring ....

Personally, if I'm in your Shoes, I Will Start Looking for New Replacement. No Need to Fume Further.
              Since Got 2 Months it's Still OK. If 2 Weeks, then really Panic ....
              :celebrate: :celebrate:

BeContented

I agree please change your maid anyways she isnt very good as well right.. better have new one

I think time to change too. Once the maid start to consider and reconsider about to work for you or not, this cycle will repeat itself again & again.
                My 2nd maid was clear she wanted to go HK to earn higher pay after 2 years, so she set her mind and was consistent. She gave the least problem of all.
                My 3rd maid, towards last 6 months, started too. Will ON & OFF, kept changing her mind. Tried to make me let her & kids stay home or wanted me to leave her & kids with my mom instead of MIL.....choosing her workplace?!?! One moment STAY, 2 weeks later change mind. Finally, gave her one last chance to decide....she chose to go.
                But after I sourced and confirmed a new one, she asked to stay again.....of course, told her no. It's really mentally draining. Hence, from my experience, I'll choose to let go for such cases.

kanyaramesh

My 2nd maid was like that keep changing her mind too much draining whether we should look for new one or not.. too horrible.. finally we both mutually decided no cause she wanted to go back and get married... now that I kept a new one she keep calling that she wanna come back and all sob stories told her she oredi broke the trust and anyways happy with new one so she can somewhere else πŸ˜›

One of my maids was like that. The moment she came in she wanted to go back to her 2 year old son. For the next 11 months it was mental torture for us as she would go back and forth on wanting to go back and staying on to earn money. It came to a head when one day when we were going to go for our holiday she sat in the middle of the living room and wailed that it was unfair that she had to work and be seperated from her son while we were going to enjoy ourselves. I was so fed up that I booked a ticket immediately and packed her off.

SMH FOREST

Ya, im in panic mode, as I don't think me and my hub have the luxury to stay home and train new maid! It's really stressful, because 1 mth ago, I visited some maid agents as well.. because at that point in time, I really do not wanna keep her anymore... after my hub's talk and also coming to terms that our life will be less stressful if she continue... I rejected all the candidates I've shortlisted.... and then now, I gotta restart again! :x :x :x 😞

Yeah... I agree... once she start to say NO, she dun wanna work, I will no longer keep her. Because to me, if the thought ever comes to mind, it means her heart is not here.. and she will never work properly...

Anyone with good maid agents, can recommend me? Tks!!

SMH FOREST

SMH FOREST:

.. her bad point is she often wakes up late!

(In the First 2 Weeks of Sch this Year, We have to wake her up 4 out of 8 days!)
                      Told Her this is One thing I Cannot Compromise, Else she has to Pack up and GO ....

I told her many many times too! That waking up late is something that I am not going to ignore too!! I bought her 2 alarm clocks.. still it didnt work! Recently, she got those BIG alarm clock that rings super loud...and still she can dont wake up... its no longer an issue of the clock.. its the working attitude!! :x

Funx3

SMH FOREST:

[quote=\"SMH FOREST\"].. her bad point is she often wakes up late!

Told Her this is One thing I Cannot Compromise, Else she has to Pack up and GO ....

I told her many many times too! That waking up late is something that I am not going to ignore too!! I bought her 2 alarm clocks.. still it didnt work! Recently, she got those BIG alarm clock that rings super loud...and still she can dont wake up... its no longer an issue of the clock.. its the working attitude!! :x[/quote]I Agree.
                        After I Issue Her the Ultimatum, She \"Guai-Guai\" Can Wake Up ....
                        :roll: :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 466 / 1032