All About Teaching Values

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    251 Posts 110 Posters 13.8k Views 1 Watching
      sall

Teaching of values is the job of parents. But some parents are so focused on academic results of their children, they forget about other non- academic but extremely important values their children are lacking. My sister is one such example. My niece is in an elite sch, but when we go to her house, she would not even come out of her room to greet me, not a word of ‘Hello, aunty’. During Chinese New yr, not a greeting, not a word of thanks after collecting angpow. And my sister did not even correct this. No basic manners, no respect for elders…

When I visited her sch’s open house, I was also very disappointed to see that the students there are very aloof and unhelpful, maybe it’s the sch’s fault too.

LLK

Many schools do emphasize the importance of moral education and values. But parents and family members still play the most vital roles, i.e they must be the good role model for the young.

wapobs

LLK:
          Many schools do emphasize the importance of moral education and values. ....
          where got? nowdays many teachers also donoo head and tail. ang mo values maybe la.

LLK:
          ... But parents and family members still play the most vital roles, i.e they must be the good role model for the young.
          yes, if parents can. but if like those teachers, no hope liao!

LLK

wapobs:
            LLK:

Many schools do emphasize the importance of moral education and values. ....

where got? nowdays many teachers also donoo head and tail. ang mo values maybe la.

LLK:
            ... But parents and family members still play the most vital roles, i.e they must be the good role model for the young.
            yes, if parents can. but if like those teachers, no hope liao!

My DD's primary and Sec schools did that in Chinese moral education lesson. May be not all schools do that

If we want our children to learn those values, we parents must of course try our very best to be their first teacher to show and teach them all that. That should be one of our responsibilies:)

• NebbermindN Offline
              Nebbermind

While I agree that teaching shd come from parents, it is not utmost important!

"Practise what you preach" is! The kids these days have a great sense of awareness and they r watching us all the time!

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

While I agree that teaching shd come from parents, it is not utmost important!

\"Practise what you preach\" is! The kids these days have a great sense of awareness and they r watching us all the time!
                I think I am a good citizen who give way to the needy when boarding the bus. My elder boy who seldom takes public bus with me is able to do the same too. My P4 boy whom I always take bus with DOES NOT :oops: Why? I thought I hv bn setting good examples with my behaviour and verbal teachings.

• NebbermindN Offline
                  Nebbermind

perhaps u can look at it another way, ie, if u have NOT been, then will your elder kid do it? :? Well nebber know...

Guess some kids r more receptive...some not that they're not careful...just they cannot be bothered...

Still, fundamentally, a leader gotta lead by example...

LLK

As long we parents keep showing and sharing (telling them nicely) the right values with our kids, they will surely and slowly pick up some of them. It is also true that we should always set good example for them to emulate:)

smartmummy

breguet:
                      ZacK:

Actually the idea was not my own but I read it somewhere and decided that it made sense :lol:

Brought my son to the supermarket again today. As he was agreeable during lunch today, told him that we could stop by the supermarket to grab Yakult for him... This time round while on the way there I reminded him that he could get anything (Yakult inclusive) up to a value of S$3.

At the supermarket, saw that canned lychee was on offer and picked up a can... Never did I expect my son to go \"Noooo papa, we had lychee yesterday, so we don't have to buy it today...\" Hmmm caught me by surprise as he had never said No to lychee before :shock:

Anyway, found the Yakult and took a pack of 5... It cost S$2.85... Told him that a pack is $2.85 and 2 packs would cost almost $6... So I tested him if we could get 2 packs? He said we don't have enough $$ for 2 packs so just get 1 would be enough.

Hmmm... Wonder if it was fluke or was he just really in a good mood 😄 ... We took the pack of Yakult, gave him $3 and queued with him to make payment. This time round was really effortless as there was no crying or begging that I had to deal with.

Have decided to adopt the same approach for his birthday and Xmas where he'll be given a budget of $40 on each occasion to get whatever he wants.

Hopefully by doing this... He'll learn to appreciate that resources are limited and he needs to choose wisely on how he should utilise his resources to meet his wants.

{sorry, all thumbs this morning. trying this again.}

Very glad for you that this is working! I'm inspired to try harder!

:thankyou:

smartmummy

Hi everyone!

I bouhgt chicken soup for the KID’S soul 2.What do you think it useful for character development?Is anyone bought for ur kids/urself?Please share your views.My P3 son never listen to me at all.He like to read storybooks.Information books also he reads.Today only I buy,hope he will read.
                        Thanks in advance.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 26

Wonder-fulW
                        Wonder-ful
                        alfredchengA
                        alfredcheng
                        audreyhcyapA
                        audreyhcyap