How to wash vegetables clean yet retain their nutrients
Hi Augmum, yes about to sleep soon...
hey, happy mama, u're still awake ?? thot u sleep early?Happy Mama:
:!: OMG! This is so funny! I've never heard of using toothpaste to clean grapes.. Augmum, I'm now imagining brushing the bunch of grapes like brushing teeth. It's going to be so time consuming to eat grapes but I'm sure the grapes will be sparkling clean.
Will you be trying it anytime soon, Augmum? I'm so curious to know the effects...
yes, using TOOTHPASTE to wash grapes, u can google it, do have some info on it.
dun think i will try it out...so troublesome,
need to scrub them one by one.....haha
i rather soak all in the vinegar water, save time.
Ya lor so troublesome to brush each tiny grape... -
Suee:
hi, i use salt to soak the vegetable and it was reli veri clean.
I also use salt water to soak vege and fruit but not sure if that is effective -
jessicawongcs:
when u have ulcer or lips has ulcer, can use white vinegar to apply abit and it heals faster than medi given by doctors

Wow, this is the first time I hear putting vinegar on ulcers. Sounds scary. Have you tried it personally, Jessica? It worked for you? -
oh.....won't it be very biting pain, when vinegar is applied to lip ulcer.....jessicawongcs:
when u have ulcer or lips has ulcer, can use white vinegar to apply abit and it heals faster than medi given by doctors

Wow, this is the first time I hear putting vinegar on ulcers. Sounds scary. Have you tried it personally, Jessica? It worked for you?
when i apply bonjela , it's already so painful.... :roll: -
Usually i watch my mum wash the vegetables, she just wash the vegetables with normal tapwater.
jasmine99:
Usually i watch my mum wash the vegetables, she just wash the vegetables with normal tapwater.
You mean washing it under running water? Does she soak the veg at all?
I thought it's better to soak the veg (better cutting), so that even the worms will start crawling out when soaked in water. -
I also just wash it with tap water leh, dun use anything else. If got worms, that means the veg is very fresh and not much pesticide mah, if got a lot of pesticide, you wouldn't find worms, coz nature know best! Haha...

Another thing, dun soak veg for too long, coz nutrients will leak.
smurf:
Another thing, dun soak veg for too long, coz nutrients will leak.
15 minutes should be fine? -
Wah, so longβ¦I would think 5-10 mins is enough?
Actually, Iβm not worried about the worms thing, but more worried about pesticide. Wanted to choose organic veg over normal veg, but itβs quite a hassle to buy. And if dun cook, very wasted to throw away.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.