How to tell if a child is gifted?
[quote]I do try not to put pressue on my princess. I know the feeling because my relatives used to compare and judge me with other kids. I don't expect my girl to become a child prodigy. I truly want her to grow up happily, responsibly, with common sense and also, not a dummy.
[/quote]Yes, I don't like that feeling too. Everytime relatives, siblings or friends ask my kids, how are their exam results, I will just simply say, \"okay\" and stop at there. Grandparents are very fond of doing it without minding how other grandchildren feel and I don't like that.
Wesim, each kids are bestowed with their own gift. I have a parent telling me how her child was always pick in school for not doing so well. When the child moves on to secondary school, she has been selected to draw mural painting on the school walls. It's a great honour to the parents who at one point were dispaired at their child school result without even realizing that the daughter is especially good in drawing. -
Wesim... you're very welcome!
And thank you for your sweet
compliment. :hugs:
EN, there will always be people
like that ya? Even when we dun
compare between our own children,
other people start to compare ours. :roll: -
I feel that the road is still so long… even those who could read, recite poems etc when 1 yr old, you can’t guarantee how they will turn out later in life. Burn out? Snobbish elite?? but of course could also turn out to be n exceptional genius who is well adjusted in life…
[quote]EN, there will always be people
like that ya? Even when we dun
compare between our own children,
other people start to compare ours. [/quote]You mean the kepo citizen? I taught my kids to also say \"okay\" when anybody ask about their results. By now, the relatives/friends and family know our standard answer will be \"okay\". As a mum, I must look out for my daughter's heart too. -
EN:
You mean the kepo citizen? I taught my kids to also say \"okay\" when anybody ask about their results. By now, the relatives/friends and family know our standard answer will be \"okay\". As a mum, I must look out for my daughter's heart too.
Hey, SAME!
Me too!
I have trained them to say ok as well.
But once DD1 kena corner by so many
aunties/uncles and grandparents from
left right centre asking her to detail her
school work, what exam questions came
out, what band she got..... a few blatant
souls asked exactly how many marks is
that Band 1 for? :roll: The extent some
people go to, huh... Ya lah, reali kaypoh.
Buuuuttt, if you do the same for their kids,
they'll come and butt in to answer for them.
Lame.
mummyloves:
I feel that the road is still so long... even those who could read, recite poems etc when 1 yr old, you can't guarantee how they will turn out later in life. Burn out? Snobbish elite?? but of course could also turn out to be n exceptional genius who is well adjusted in life..
Yes Yes Yes.... I'm a firm believer of 小时了了 大未必佳.
Of course this doesn't mean that we do not teach or guide the children at all. Rather, we should just pace them acording to their learning speed and encourage them even if their achievement is small.
I believe character development is more impt as values and beliefs are the things that a child will carry through his/her life and with the correct values and beliefs imparted, it would help them more in their future.
A good example is the hare and the turtle. Being fast at the upstart is not going to help if you do not persevere and follow through.
If your kid is able to pick up more than their peers, do go ahead and develop them. Conversely, if they are slower on the uptake, do not fret too as each child is unique in their learning abilities.
In this modern competitive world, it is easy to get caught up in all the peer comparisons. However, at the end of the day, whether they succeed later in life basically boils down to their core values and not really what they learn in school.
Lastly, lots of LOVE and PATIENCE will guide us through the growing up years of our children's life. Cheers! -
Actually, home is always the best. It's also FREE.
But how many working parents have the luxury of TIME to spend teaching their children? How many parents have the 'skills' & the resources to teach the child? How many parents have the time to read up on parenting/pedagogy methods while dealing with their hectic work & family life schedules?
If I left it to my hb, my son would still be 'goo-ing & gah-ing' right now. He's clueless about developing the child academically although he's very strict on character development.
Parents who do not have the time or know how to do it will resort to enrichment classes.
Honestly, I find some enrichment classes over-priced while some are really value for money. For example, those flashcard programs. It's alot of parental practise at home which I personally find does not justify the price of the lessons ($200 or more per month for once a week lessons). I can DIY flashcards at home & practise with my son anytime. If there's no time to DIY flashcards, you can easily purchase them anywhere!
Value for money classes will be chinese enrichment classes which I personally find it hard to teach as my chinese standard isn't fantastic & daddy's chinese standard is only spoken, no written.
But I always tell my friends and my tutee's parents: OPPORTUNISTIC LEARNING IS ALWAYS THE BEST.
Simple things like trips to the supermarket can be a whole new world of learning. For young children, start off with colour, shapes, identifying objects. For older children, start on spelling (play a spelling game with them based on items you see) , simple science (why are frozen food hard?), maths (addition of money or multiplication of items that comes in packs), etc.
Even the route home from school/grandparent's place/enrichment classes can be a learning opportunity. Read road signs, identify objects along the way, colours of cars, count how many traffic lights or trees you passed by, etc.
Even at the clinic my son will start reading signs/posters in the clinic. He's only 2.5yo now, so he can only read out individual letters & simple sight words (on, off, it). But it's still an opportunity for us to reinforce his learning even while waiting to see the doctor!
All these opportunistic learning are FREE & can be done at your convenience & it does not take special effort to bring them out! Even if your child is an infant and can't talk, just point and tell! You'll be amazed because once they start to verbalise, all those 'vocab' you taught them during their infant months will suddenly come out from their mouths!
Is it nature or nurture?
You decide
[quote]Posted: 24 Jul 2009 00:16 Post subject: Kaypoh People
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EN wrote:
You mean the kepo citizen? I taught my kids to also say \"okay\" when anybody ask about their results. By now, the relatives/friends and family know our standard answer will be \"okay\". As a mum, I must look out for my daughter's heart too.
Hey, SAME!
Me too!
I have trained them to say ok as well.
But once DD1 kena corner by so many
aunties/uncles and grandparents from
left right centre asking her to detail her
school work, what exam questions came
out, what band she got..... a few blatant
souls asked exactly how many marks is
that Band 1 for? The extent some
people go to, huh... Ya lah, reali kaypoh.
Buuuuttt, if you do the same for their kids,
they'll come and butt in to answer for them.
Lame. [/quote]keke. I can imagine the scenario. I have actually seen that. None dare to do it to my kids. Relatives and friends know us too well. Me and DH can turn really nasty if people around us dont know the appropriate way to behave. :lol: -
mrswongtuition, I believe in nature and nurture.
I have two different kids like night and day, so does my parents and my grandparents. Seems to run in the family.
Since one is bestowed with so much nature, I spend more time nurturing the other one. Must create a balance family mah. -
EN:
I personally believe in nurture. If the kid is naturally talents/gifted, then we should nurture him/her to achieve more.mrswongtuition, I believe in nature and nurture.
I have two different kids like night and day, so does my parents and my grandparents. Seems to run in the family.
Since one is bestowed with so much nature, I spend more time nurturing the other one. Must create a balance family mah.
No kids are born 'stupid' or 'dumb', it's how they are taught/nurtured that matters.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.