How much $$$ do you spend on your Pre-schooler?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    168 Posts 78 Posters 86.7k Views 1 Watching

jazz1228:
      ...2) Trio centre ($200)...

You in Trio too? What do you think of the Japanese lessons? I went for it and was like a blubbering idiot. I mean... I learnt Japanese a long time ago... (long story), but still the lesson just blew past me. The trainer was definitely very entertaining, but I looked around and saw all the mothers (yeah... I was the only daddy there) looking panicky when we all realized that the whole lesson was really going to be entirely in JAPANESE. The teacher only spoke a smattering of English. Imagine flashing the flashcards at less than 1 second intervals and in Japanese.

jazz1228

Yeah they speak and flash so fast and i dun even get it. haha..

Well, i find it is still alright to understand the teacher though she speaks just little english. Already in some preschools, you can already find japanese teachers teaching and singing jap songs to children.
        I believe children are born linguistic expert cos imagine whichever country babies are born in, eventually they manage to communicate and acquire the language.

Something to add on, I did not add in KUmon Maths and English for my child too cos hubby is Kumon instructor. 😉

jazz1228:
          did not add in KUmon Maths and English for my child too cos hubby is Kumon instructor. 😉

hubby is Kumon instructor = free kumon worksheets for kids? 😉

mintcc

chamonix:
            We belong to the lower maintenance category 😄

DS
            1. Age 5 y.o
            2. Church Kindy - $252
            3. Enrichment 1 (in school within school hrs) - $64
            4. Enrichment 2 - Violin - $107
            5. Enrichment 3 - Aikido - $25
            Also interested in sending DS to Aikido? Can share where to sent kids for Akido and what is the minimum age they accept?

jazz1228:

did not add in KUmon Maths and English for my child too cos hubby is Kumon instructor. 😉

hubby is Kumon instructor = free kumon worksheets for kids? 😉

I'm also Kumon instructor:

Me: \"Oi... got do your Kumon today or not?\"
              Son: \"Err...\"
              Me: \"Err wat? Still don't go and do? Do oredi show me!\"

mamachris

Hi all,

I was once labelled by others as 'KS' mum...

Son (4YO) attended:

History..
                1. 7mth - almost 2years old: Shichida
                2. 1-2.5 years old- MyGym (Tried JWT gym/ Gymboree trials)
                3. 1-2.5 years old- Kindermuzic
                4. 2.5- 3.5 years old- Julia Gabrial
                - my weekends was about ferrying my son to enrichments!!!

Now:
                5. 3 years till now: Chinese Arts Theatre (almost $250 per term)
                6. 3 years till now: Music Class- Piano (almost $200 per term)
                7. 3 years till now: Fulll day childcare with one Gym and English Speech and Drama per week from preschool ($510 per month plus $150 per term for enrichment)

Current expenditure is around $710 per month for son's school fees and enrichments.

Daugher, now is 1.5 years old...and she has yet to attend any classes or enrichment.. unfair for her right? Really no energy and no $$$$ leh...Sad sad 😞

As both myself and hubby are nature lovers, we have NATURE Appreciation lessons for our kids every weekend since daughter turned 1YO! We will drive our kids to the parks around the island.. sometimes will drive to nowhere to explore the island 😛 Hopefully, this lesson is good for my girl who is currently attending no formal classes/enrichments.

Hellokiddy! Impressed with your energy!
                Could you share with me the home lessons for your kids?

mamachris:

Daugher, now is 1.5 years old...and she has yet to attend any classes or enrichment.. unfair for her right? Really no energy and no $$$$ leh...Sad sad 😞

As both myself and hubby are nature lovers, we have NATURE Appreciation lessons for our kids every weekend since daughter turned 1YO! We will drive our kids to the parks around the island.. sometimes will drive to nowhere to explore the island 😛 Hopefully, this lesson is good for my girl who is currently attending no formal classes/enrichments.
                  My 20mth old is also enjoying free-and-easy session at home. At least they get to enjoy the experience we have for handling the elder kid, right?

Call me paranoid, but a simple stroll downstairs at the garden, my dss usually come back with huge mosquitoes bites.... 😞

metz

mincy:
                    chamonix:

We belong to the lower maintenance category 😄

DS
                    1. Age 5 y.o
                    2. Church Kindy - $252
                    3. Enrichment 1 (in school within school hrs) - $64
                    4. Enrichment 2 - Violin - $107
                    5. Enrichment 3 - Aikido - $25

Also interested in sending DS to Aikido? Can share where to sent kids for Akido and what is the minimum age they accept?

Hi mincy,

My ds is attending Aikido at Cairnhill Community Club. Not sure what the minimum age but the Sensei did tell me my dd can join her brother too (she was a few months short of 3 yo then). So, I suppose they do accept 2+ yo kids.

rockmoo

wah, kao-tou to hellokitty…Keep it up if yr kids r enjoying the enrichment…

Am oso looking fwd to govt announcement. i believe if i wanna hv children, i’ll want to ensure they are given a good environment to grow. Given the limited resources, I’m more or less decide to have only 1… so let’s see the announcement next mth. See my current expenses and planned program for my 22 mth girl:

1. ntuc full time childcare - $450 per mth (wonder how did other kiasu parents come up to less than this amt)
                      2. shichida - about $300 per mth
                      3. Zoo phonics - on waitlist … tink is about $100 per mth

About $850 so far. Becos she is less than 2 YO hence a lot of the courses are not suitable for her… i was assuming if the above + those below (planned)… I think we’ll be really really broke…

Planned activities when she’s much older:
                      1. 3-4 YO - gymnastic (the real kind one … not those tumbletots… am looking at bishan’s ABG gym)
                      2. 3-4 YO - Ballet or other dance
                      3. 4-5 YO - CMA (I hv my worries abt sending my child to abacus coz I wonder if they will be like lazy in writing down the steps as required by schools since they already know mentally the answers)
                      4. 4-5 YO - Speech & Drama or other some performing stage arts
                      5. 5-6 YO - Swimming

mamachris

Btw, I would like to share with all a cost effective method for kids to learn Phonics :lol:

Phonics:
                        When son was 2 YO, I started to expose him to http://www.starfall.com for phonics and got a Audio CV on phonics from Popular bookstore. We have the cv played in the car every times he is in the car ride every morning and evening for him to sing along. Guess what, he was able to pick up phonics very well! He is able to read on his own now and dare to try to pronounce new words. My #2 now is only 1.5YO learning to talk is also trying to sing out the phonics 'A' 'C' 'D'...etc!

Investment less than $20 and it is like attending classes everyday!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 17