Post GE 2011 Discussion
Education should be holistic, so agree that parenting plays a part and the schooling also plays a part.
Blame ourselves. Because we parents have precious few kids, we pave the way for them from the day they were born. They never had to struggle much for anything. Exam stress, yes, but to really work for something they want or need. Very few need to do that.
If the responsibilty rests squarely on the parents' shoulders, then children should be spending more hours at home than in school but this is not the case. Even during my time, I spent more time in school than at home so the circle of influence from school was high.
While we can say they do not have to struggle much for anything, I will gladly trade for the struggle in life than to suffer their stress today. I don't envy them at all. We have a better balanced life. -
Don't forget to add in the fuel cost for traveling up and down Singapore custom to Singapore. And add up the time needed to travel.
actually by moving to JB, yr money will be like rubberband can stretch much longer .....a wise idea
ya, heard that too, singaporeans staying in JB.
poppy, some of the houses' prices (those not in the prime location) instead of appreciate , they depreciate........
i was offered to take over a semi D at FOC so long i take over the mortgage loan.
:evil: :roll: -
Watch this:
Will our leaders even gain that type of respect....?concern2:
Japan's Prime Minister Naoto Kan gives up his salary until the nuclear crisis in the country is over:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9R-Fwylg0tU&feature=player_embedded
You will get some idea what to expect. -
Oppsgal:
Oops, if u follow the discussion , my idea of \"money like rubberband\"
Don't forget to add in the fuel cost for traveling up and down Singapore custom to Singapore. And add up the time needed to travel.Augmum:
actually by moving to JB, yr money will be like rubberband can stretch much longer .....a wise idea
ya, heard that too, singaporeans staying in JB.
poppy, some of the houses' prices (those not in the prime location) instead of appreciate , they depreciate........
i was offered to take over a semi D at FOC so long i take over the mortgage loan.
:evil: :roll:
i am referring to retirement living not now........
regarding the Singaporeans staying in JB, yes, is an example spotted by forummer Poppy. -
children today are under a lot of stress.
i dont know how many times today that iβve heard parents looking for tutors that their children only free on this day this day because the rest are taken up by remedial lessons piano lessons art lessons or other tuition.
there are also parents that dont really know what is their priority. Some parents even told me to help them bargain and get a lot cheaper price coz they have already got too many extra things lined up for the child like swimming dancing etc.
really saddens me when parents say they get tuition for their child for every subject. 1k+ a month just for tuition for the kidβ¦
tuition nation? tuition culture? -
give up their salaries ???...think we will have to wait long long......
Will our leaders even gain that type of respect....?concern2:
Japan's Prime Minister Naoto Kan gives up his salary until the nuclear crisis in the country is over:
:boogie: :roll:
Will our leaders even gain that type of respect....?limlim:
[quote=\"concern2\"]Japan's Prime Minister Naoto Kan gives up his salary until the nuclear crisis in the country is over:
:boogie: :roll:[/quote]Talk about passion, where is the example set?
Will our leaders even gain that type of respect....?limlim:
[quote=\"concern2\"]Japan's Prime Minister Naoto Kan gives up his salary until the nuclear crisis in the country is over:
:boogie: :roll:[/quote]give up.... NO WAY!!!
but maybe 'donate' some to us (the citizens) to help tide over... for a short period only lah... make it like the gahmen soooooo helpful
Why are cancer treatments not subsidized by the government?
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/05/why-are-cancer-treatments-not-subsidized-by-the-government/[quote]Mdm Choi has also previously written in to The Straits Times explaining their predicament but her letter was not published.
Mr Cheong asked, βWhy canβt I use Medisave when itβs my own money?β
βWeβre not blaming the government for anything. We just want to get our answers,β Mdm Choisaid. [/quote]http://theonlinecitizen.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Mr-Cheong-1-1024x832.jpg
i wonder what is the different between this heart surgery compare to our health minister's?? -
raysusan:
http://theonlinecitizen.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Mr-Cheong-1-1024x832.jpgWhy are cancer treatments not subsidized by the government?
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/05/why-are-cancer-treatments-not-subsidized-by-the-government/[quote]Mdm Choi has also previously written in to The Straits Times explaining their predicament but her letter was not published.
Mr Cheong asked, βWhy canβt I use Medisave when itβs my own money?β
βWeβre not blaming the government for anything. We just want to get our answers,β Mdm Choisaid.
i wonder what is the different between this heart surgery compare to our health minister's??[/quote]very suspicious leh, hw come only when the ex-boss who is also an ex-MP steps in, then things start to improve? Initially, it was deemed as Mr Cheong was unable to file for further assistance...
wonder what did the boss told Dr Neo???
\" Lucky for Mr Cheong, his ex-boss (he used to work in Public Utilities Board for 44 years), who was also an ex-MP, learnt of his condition. He then made a personal call to Dr Neo after Chinese New Year in 2010 on behalf of Mr Cheong. That was when things started improving. \"
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.