Petition to Review the Singapore Education System
Status Update - The Petition has 142 signatures to date.
Find signatories' comments here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=21969&p=423060
Here is the Facebook page too. It may be good to suggest to your friends to LIKE it. This will raise the profile of the petition.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Review-Singapore-Education-2011/131186106955434?sk=info -
I will not quote since it will be too long and 'cluter' the page.
I will try my best to answer the questions posed (pardon me if I've left out some and do pose the qns again if you need me to explain my points)
Why do I keep harping on parents' kiasuism?
Cos personally, I feel that as long as parents remain to be kiasu, nothing much will change even if there is a change in system. Maybe there will be a little change but after a while, the pressure will slide back to its original position. Chenonceau, u mentioned that ur kiasu level dropped when there are more IP schs now. However, I believe the parents after you (maybe 3-5yrs later) will continue to lament that the 7 IP schs r insufficient, they would want more. The chasing will not end. The education system is already constantly undergoing changes. From EM1/EM2/EM3 streaming to subject banding to IP schs. From drillings to more project works to experiential learning. But, at every stage, you dun get parents to be satisfied for long. Why do every parent peg a kid's success to attending IP schs, to getting scholarships, to landing in high profile jobs? Is that the true measure of success?
Allow me to share this post http://hedgehogcomms.blogspot.com/2011/05/value-of-paper-qualifications.html
My fav part: \"Paper qualifications are merely the tools to help us achieve our goals. Realising that these qualifications don't define us also helps us to be less judgmental towards those without. Let's have some perspective.\"
What is MY 'solution'?
My 'solution' begins at home, with me.
I choose to focus on the virtues of excellence(means doing their best), diligence, responsibility, perseverance and self-discipline when my kids prepare for exams. I choose not to focus on results. When my kids have displayed the above-mentioned virtues while preparing for exams, I embrace whatever results they have achieved. Of cos there are moments of panic when they failed to understand a topic. But, i keep the panic to myself and try my best to coach them, focusing more on their learning attitude.
I am a kiasu parent, otherwise I wouldnt be in this forum.
I am kiasu to want to know what's in store for my kids' education and future. I am kiasu to want my kids to be the best too. It's just that the best need not be IP schs or scholarships or the most coveted job. I believe that as long as my kids develop a strong character and good attitude, they can be the best in anywhere and in whatever they do.
What solution can I propose to others?
None. :oops: This has to be a personal choice. But, like the starfish story, I hope to influence parents around me to share my perspective. And hopefully, those who share my perspective will continue to influence people around them.
And I hold on to the idealism that if all parents were to allow their kids to just learn at their pace, to be their best and not subscribe to the society's perceived best, then the whole learning environment will be less stressful and learning will be more meaningful. -
My brother isn’t happy with the N level streaming. His eldest boy was in N level … My brother commented the teachers teaching the N levels students aren’t good so further ‘jeopardize’ these kids study … His daughter also ni good in study … So to him, Singapore education is v stressful and should take away the n level streaming. What u guys think?
Chenonceau shared an article about Finland education system earlier and the conclusion is that teachers make the difference between other systems and Finland. I cant agree more. The consistent lack of teachers could be due to our system that overdrives our teachers as we continue to lose good teachers. I am not sure if allied teachers, VP of administrations etc are the answers to having the teachers that will have the \"heartware\" as well as the \"software\" to bring out the best in our children.
We are kiasu, and the system stimulate kiasuism. This is a chicken and egg issue, which comes first? While I have no solution too, I believe we should continue to look for one.
I felt the recent discussions with different perspectives are really healthy.
vlim:
My brother isn't happy with the N level streaming. His eldest boy was in N level .. My brother commented the teachers teaching the N levels students aren't good so further 'jeopardize' these kids study ... His daughter also ni good in study ... So to him, Singapore education is v stressful and should take away the n level streaming. What u guys think?
Currently I volunteer in a non-profit organisation that conduct leadership training to secondary schools. It was an eye opener for me as I helped in the classes of normal/ acad and normal/ tech, and see with my own eyes how some of the students can be so uninterested in study or disruptive in class. But if the system or teachers dont help these kids, who will? I am sure they are who they are because they are less fortunate compare to other kids in their upbringing etc 人之初性本善
I agree with your brother comment and that her daughter needs to be really self disciplined and mix with the right group of friends. 近朱者赤 近墨者黑
N level is meant for those who are slower in their studies to eventually make it for O level. The intention of the system is right and suppose to bring down the stress of the less academic inclined by giving them more time. However, there is a social stigma and chances of mixing with wrong group of friends. I think there is still room to improve and review the system. -
Lock:
I am just thinking, if all is constant. As in parents dun send kids for further enrichment, kids learn as much as they can frm sch, then the bell curve will skew to the left if exams r beyond kids' std.
But the PSLE papers are not constant. I skeptically believe that 20% of the questions are deliberately set above the average school (my good old HDB estate school) standard. This 20% percent questions will be meticulously drills to the top schools children.Lock:
Could it be the average school is informed that the 80% is 100% of the PSLE coverage? Hence, some average teachers can't even solve some of the PSLE questions.The problem now that the bell curve keeps skewing to the right is that more and more children are levelling up, not thru sch but thru tuition n enrichments.
But parents learns that by reading the school text books outside down and inside up will not lead their children to the TRUE 100%.
Hence, the flourishing of tuition centres and individuals who claimed that they know the system and literally provide the extra 20% and make the average student leveled up.Lock:
Innate abilities :? like Albert Einstein :salute:Even if u remove the bell curve, as long as parents remain kiasu n refuse to accept their children innate abilities and keep pushing, the environment will hv little change.
sorry I'm forever skeptical about the system. How I wish they ask me to set the exam paper, then I will open more tuition centres. :celebrate: -
Good that MOE acknowledged the petition and took pain to explain.
This is the MOE's response to our petition... I haven't read it yet (need to run) but had an understanding with them that their response would be posted in this thread. Parents can feel free to comment. We have a respectful dialogue started and MOE should be watching this thread. It is nice that MOE has responded. I had not hoped for as much.
1. Thank you for your email to Dr Ng Eng Hen, highlighting your blogpost which raises several issues of concern to parents. We recognise the strong desire of parents who want their children to do well and, at the same time, the anxiety they feel over the competitive pressures that their children face.
Would like to ask, MOE, whether is this a new issue or is this an issue that has been going on for years? What is the underlying problem? (Blue wording is my uneducated layman interpretation. It contains flaws but yet it is my perception.)
I don't think education is a competition, hence, competitive has no ground here for me. I think the ugly head of competition begin with those who set the exam questions. These people are trying to out smart a primary school child with their arrogant snobbish and elitist attitude of \"my question was the toughest I beat a small boy, therefore, I am the smartest\". They set the pace for the so called competition not the parents.
Explain till the cows come home, the truth of the matter is - our educational system places a great emphasis on academic performance in grading students, period.
Please grant me a priviledge to set 1 question for these people who set the PSLE paper, so that I can regain my confident that they are not better than the children sitting for examinations. :rotflmao: -
Looking4Tutor, can please do me a favour… the above post looks like Chenonceau was the one who wrote the comment that you responded to. Is there a way attribute authorship to MOE, not me? I was merely the one who copied and pasted it here. Thanks!
Looking4Tutor, can please do me a favour... the above post looks like Chenonceau was the one who wrote the comment that you responded to. Is there a way attribute authorship to MOE, not me? I was merely the one who copied and pasted it here. Thanks!
It was my honest mistake, no intention to harm your good name. :oops: I have listened and prompt action taken to rectify the error. :imanangel: -
vlim:
My brother isn't happy with the N level streaming. His eldest boy was in N level .. My brother commented the teachers teaching the N levels students aren't good so further 'jeopardize' these kids study ... His daughter also ni good in study ... So to him, Singapore education is v stressful and should take away the n level streaming. What u guys think?
Not to be rude vlim, if they did away with N level, what would the kid be doing? Working? Go straight to ITE (im sure that is not what your brother want) or force the kid to take up O levels which probably has twice the content, and thrice the depth?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.