All About Parent Volunteers (PV)

4.2k Posts 535 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      deardear07

Red_Rhino:
      I came to know that Nanyang Primary request their parent volunteers to submit their CVs to the school. Firstly, the school conduct panel interview to select PVs, then they also asks for parents CVs. Wow, being a PV in that school is really like going for job interview. But there again, those selected as PVs must be like striking lottery...afterall, its going to last for generations, for as long as they continue to give priority to former students.

but but...nanyang is at bukit timah area...so those PVs could b staying near or far?wud they still select according to location?

deardear07

Red_Rhino:

I came to know that Nanyang Primary request their parent volunteers to submit their CVs to the school. Firstly, the school conduct panel interview to select PVs, then they also asks for parents CVs. Wow, being a PV in that school is really like going for job interview. But there again, those selected as PVs must be like striking lottery...afterall, its going to last for generations, for as long as they continue to give priority to former students.

Nanyang is reputed to be the choice school of many politicians for their children. I guess that makes it unsurprising that it requires quite stringent PV procedures.

:shock: do they all go there? or get in coz the sch is in prime district too?so they stay near,can get in..?

deardear07:

Nanyang is reputed to be the choice school of many politicians for their children. I guess that makes it unsurprising that it requires quite stringent PV procedures.

:shock: do they all go there? or get in coz the sch is in prime district too?so they stay near,can get in..?

Dear deardear07, I see you are trying to pick up the dark arts of PV and affiliated membership for priority registration. Here's a http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/getting-primary-school for your apprenticeship.

deardear07

deardear07:

[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]Nanyang is reputed to be the choice school of many politicians for their children. I guess that makes it unsurprising that it requires quite stringent PV procedures.

Dear deardear07, I see you are trying to pick up the dark arts of PV and affiliated membership for priority registration. Here's a http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/getting-primary-school for your apprenticeship.[/quote]i knw these oredi...i sourced out the schs i want le...bt just curious on these 'dark arts'... šŸ™‚

deardear07:
              i knw these oredi...i sourced out the schs i want le...bt just curious on these 'dark arts'... šŸ™‚

Ahh... good good... then we can cut to the chase and answer your questions directly:

1. For NYPS, most of the \"VIPs\" were probably alumni... no need to do PV lah.

2. PVs can stay anywhere in Singapore, but if they are beyond the \"hot zones\" of 1km or even 1-2km, they are taking a big risk especially if the school they are targeting is in great demand. Like in Phase 2B this year, none of the 33 PVs which stay beyond 2km have even a chance to ballot for a place. They were rejected even though they qualified for Phase 2B.

3. You can find info about the http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=395 here.

deardear07

deardear07:

i knw these oredi...i sourced out the schs i want le...bt just curious on these 'dark arts'... šŸ™‚

Ahh... good good... then we can cut to the chase and answer your questions directly:

1. For NYPS, most of the \"VIPs\" were probably alumni... no need to do PV lah.

2. PVs can stay anywhere in Singapore, but if they are beyond the \"hot zones\" of 1km or even 1-2km, they are taking a big risk especially if the school they are targeting is in great demand. Like in Phase 2B this year, none of the 33 PVs which stay beyond 2km have even a chance to ballot for a place. They were rejected even though they qualified for Phase 2B.

3. You can find info about the http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=395 here.

:lol: i knw these VIPS r usually in the alumni,or honorary advisory board. besides they r big shots,where to time to do PV? their name big enuf to get them into the sch of choice le...

these 33PVs frm 2B dun get auto transferred to phrase 2C?no priority there?

deardear07:
                  ...these 33PVs frm 2B dun get auto transferred to phrase 2C?no priority there?

In Phase 2C, the PVs have to compete all over again, this time with everyone else who are staying less than 1km away. There is no fight as distance wins. We explained this in the articles I pointed you to earlier.

deardear07

deardear07:

...these 33PVs frm 2B dun get auto transferred to phrase 2C?no priority there?

In Phase 2C, the PVs have to compete all over again, this time with everyone else who are staying less than 1km away. There is no fight as distance wins. We explained this in the articles I pointed you to earlier.

ok thanks! šŸ™‚

tohwei

phantom:
                      My niece who got into primary one recently didn't got into one of the more popular neighborhood school even though she is been balloted in phase 2c. No luck. So now my sis is doing school's voluntary work for the school to prepare for my nephew. Wow, I wonder I should do the same, but it is a tempting proposal. Except the school's do reject for late application of parents volunteers

Hola to all

let me quote some example
                      Most school starts 01.07.2008 to 30.06.2009 for students going for pri one in the year 2010.

Henry Park is different , there start from 01.01.2009 TO 31.12.2009
                      FOR YEAR 2011 REGISTRATION

So if you want to be volunteer you have to start by 1st july and before 30 June

For Rulang very steady ,they only shortlist 45 regardless no of applicants.this year 190 plus for 2010 applicants

Nan Hua they don't enrol volunteer, so you have to go to their website downlaod application form. Fill in whatever you are capable of doing, for example designing of web site, translation etc if you happen to fulfill their on going project at the right time , bingo they will invite you for an interview and shortlisted as volunteer.

Hpe this is helpful

šŸ˜‰

tohwei

deardear07:
                        where u get info for the number of babies born tat yr?

ai tong n nanyang are quite far apart...hw u gng to get in?
                        De la Salle being the best school in cck no volunteers practise, but if you are a catholic automatic under 2B if you can provide the letter of batispm
                        Hpe this is helpful

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 419