I think it's not mandatory for maids in Spore to have 4 days off a mth or to keep their WP & pssport cos not all employers are doing that leh. As for S$450 basic pay for fresh Indon maids, I read somewhere that those agencies that fix the maids' pay have been fined for price fixing. so not sure if the basic pay for Indon maids now back to normal?
actually I think maids are supposed to be keeping their wp and passports in SG already, and we have to give 4 days off a month (or it will be compensated). So I see these are already in place.
I'm curious if they will pay RM900 per month (as was suggested by SG maid agencies previously) for fresh maids. -
cwc:
Agreed.
Hmmm......all now like to use same tricks huh? Think agent somehow know how to control them. My agent also tell me, contract not finished=no money=cannot go back. Mine 6 months here...since 2nd month tried all sorts of tricks liao -DesertWind:
Yesterday my mother's maid called me to say she wanted to go home. Reason being her father in hospital and want to see her. She said she wants to go home on Tuesday ie. tomorrow.
Since she only with us for 9 months and have not finished her contract, didn't know exactly what should be done so told her I will call the agent and check.
Today I told her to call the agent directly to tell them she wants to go home.
She just now told me her agent said no money and have not finished her contract cannot go home. So now she said she will continue to work for us.
She told me no need to call the agent anymore. She think her father should be fine now and will send back money if need be.
???
1. 3/4 of money lost, wonder if they have money .....very worried, wanna go home
2. Mom died ...... worried family cannot handle the funeral (when siblings around to help), wanna go back
3. Her brother scolded her 20yo son and he's upset, so wanna go home cos' son upset
4. House broken into (lost TV, VCD and handphones) .... wanna go home
5. Recently....talked about her father, wonder if he's the next victim.
Anyway, 2 years ago, this maid went home after 1 yr in SG cos' her Grandma died......
Think better get agent to speak to them whenever there's any issue.....
There Was an Occasion When I Told My Maid I Call Agent to Check On What she Told Me ....
She Immediately Ask Me NOT Call Agent, Please ....
And Her Problem Vanish Immediate-ly .... :roll: :roll: -
Next time when I hire a new maid, I'll ask how many living relatives they have. So I can keep count of how many funerals they have to attend every few months.
No Use ....
The Whole Village is Her Family .... :evil: :evil: -
Aiyoh U Forgot the incident of ....I cannot imagine 20 year old son, still must go back home to comfort him after his uncle scold him. Cannot do via the phone?
if my son need me to do this when he's 20, I'll probably hantam him upside down.
Maid Carrying Back-Pack for Army - Boy ....
:roll: :roll: -
cwc:
:rotflmao: your maid so innovative leh! But I am sure it must have been very irritating. Also yes, I think your agent also quite good can control!Hmmm......all now like to use same tricks huh? Think agent somehow know how to control them. My agent also tell me, contract not finished=no money=cannot go back. Mine 6 months here...since 2nd month tried all sorts of tricks liao -
1. 3/4 of money lost, wonder if they have money .....very worried, wanna go home
2. Mom died ...... worried family cannot handle the funeral (when siblings around to help), wanna go back
3. Her brother scolded her 20yo son and he's upset, so wanna go home cos' son upset
Anyway, 2 years ago, this maid went home after 1 yr in SG cos' her Grandma died......
I always advise people who got problem with maids to ask the agents to deal with them because they know better. I dunno exactly what my agent told my maid but I told my maid I dunnoo if she wants to go home she must call agent to advise. After she spoke with agent, she changed tone, asked me nicely whether she can continue since she got no money? I said of course! (Lagi better since I don't need to get a replacement maid as she is actually OK, I think she just wants to follow her friend as her friend just finished her 2 years contract and going home!) :siao:
Coincidently my agent (another lady) called me back and told me she already got one transfer maid for me if this maid wants to go home. I can get a replacement already (agent also very smart because the guarantee period just finished replacement maid I will need to pay agency fee again!) :roll:
I told agent this maid changed her mind liow now not going home.
She told me to bank in at least 2 months of her salary going forward so that I get to hold on to at least SGD500 in case such things happen again. I agreed. With this 2nd maid, got to do this, in case she spend all her money then wanna go home (next time dunno what excuse), at least I got some money can just buy a ticket and grant her her wish next time and get a new replacement maid! :razz: -
I lost track indeed after a while who is actually their relatives...so many cousins...brothers....etc...!
:rotflmao: :rotflmao:MrsSeah:
One of my ex-maid told me her mother is sick, she want to go back to indo. I remember when she 1st come here, she told me her mom passed away. When I question her, she told me, is the step-mother. :faint:
If anything, your maid is quite smart...can think on her feet instantly!
This 2nd maid told me her mother asked her to go home see her father in hospital. I always thought her mother is in Indonesia. When I told my 1st maid, my 1st maid said isn't 2nd maid's mother in Saudi Arabia working? Apparently that was what 2nd maid told my 1st maid. I said I dunnoo... :?
After a while, I just give up. Either communication problem I am not understanding their English, or the whole village is their relative indeed!
DesertWind:
Just be careful if you hold back her salary without her consent as legally you are not allowed to do it and she could report you to MOM if she wanted to cause trouble. If she suddenly wants to go home then you tell her you can't get a flight for a few weeks then she will have to work that time which should earn her enough money for a cheap budget airline ticket
:rotflmao: your maid so innovative leh! But I am sure it must have been very irritating. Also yes, I think your agent also quite good can control!cwc:
Hmmm......all now like to use same tricks huh? Think agent somehow know how to control them. My agent also tell me, contract not finished=no money=cannot go back. Mine 6 months here...since 2nd month tried all sorts of tricks liao -
I always advise people who got problem with maids to ask the agents to deal with them because they know better. I dunno exactly what my agent told my maid but I told my maid I dunnoo if she wants to go home she must call agent to advise. After she spoke with agent, she changed tone, asked me nicely whether she can continue since she got no money? I said of course! (Lagi better since I don't need to get a replacement maid as she is actually OK, I think she just wants to follow her friend as her friend just finished her 2 years contract and going home!) :siao:
Coincidently my agent (another lady) called me back and told me she already got one transfer maid for me if this maid wants to go home. I can get a replacement already (agent also very smart because the guarantee period just finished replacement maid I will need to pay agency fee again!) :roll:
She told me to bank in at least 2 months of her salary going forward so that I get to hold on to at least SGD500 in case such things happen again. I agreed. With this 2nd maid, got to do this, in case she spend all her money then wanna go home (next time dunno what excuse), at least I got some money can just buy a ticket and grant her her wish next time and get a new replacement maid! :razz:
nms1:
Whole Village is relative......and can also span across to other countries, oni one word - uncountable.
Just be careful if you hold back her salary without her consent as legally you are not allowed to do it and she could report you to MOM if she wanted to cause trouble. If she suddenly wants to go home then you tell her you can't get a flight for a few weeks then she will have to work that time which should earn her enough money for a cheap budget airline ticketDesertWind:
:rotflmao: your maid so innovative leh! But I am sure it must have been very irritating. Also yes, I think your agent also quite good can control!
She told me to bank in at least 2 months of her salary going forward so that I get to hold on to at least SGD500 in case such things happen again. I agreed. With this 2nd maid, got to do this, in case she spend all her money then wanna go home (next time dunno what excuse), at least I got some money can just buy a ticket and grant her her wish next time and get a new replacement maid! :razz:
Think these days, the tactic no flight cannot work. They just have to make your life really difficult, see if you tahan them or they make you get a more expensive ticket. I'm sure they will win :frustrated:
Mine actually quite solid I agree......but so far, she has yet to reach the point when I really need to go to the agent cos' I just ignore her request, tell her CANNOT, she has yet to push hard. I only really went to the agent once.... But now I scared is she :siao:
Sometime back, when something happened in the kitchen toilet while I was in bedroom with doors closed, she can insist I know about what happened cos' she relate to me....insist I heard it, insist I know. I gave up explaining. Just this morning, she claimed & insisted I followed her out last night when she went out to buy stuff. I was speechless. Either she is :siao: or done guilty stuff so phobia..... :faint:
Updated 1Jun.
Wonder, am I over-sensitive or maid is really guilty of something.
Recently, I/my children have been picking up calls (sometimes Malay guys) who will hang up on us after 1-2 sentences (on timings when we are usually out). Yesterday I purposely place the phone bill in open.....today, maid claim she recently has been receiving calls from unknown....everytime 5-10 mins after I leave.....hmmm. She think I'm the one who called.....hmmm. She probably noticed the bill has increased 5x since she came here.....so trying to dismiss it as nuisance call causing the increase? Interesting....I'll see what she cooks up next. -
nms1:
Just be careful if you hold back her salary without her consent as legally you are not allowed to do it and she could report you to MOM if she wanted to cause trouble. If she suddenly wants to go home then you tell her you can't get a flight for a few weeks then she will have to work that time which should earn her enough money for a cheap budget airline ticket

Can lah. She signed, I signed on the agent's salary worksheet which shows clearly SGD500 is to be banked into the bank account. Only I have not done it since she just got her pay in cash and less than SGD500 (loan just finished). Next month should have enough to go open a POSB bank account with her already! The bank account must be in her name so it IS her money. Just that I will keep the bank account so she cannot spend it. Last time she told me to keep her money so she won't spend it all. I refused since I don't want to get into trouble (like what you mentioned). This time I will do it, with her permission of course.
If so jia lat got to go MOM, I will kick her out straight-away, with her bank book and all!
Desertwind, you are lucky your maid agent is responsible enough to help you. The last time my maid gave me problems, I called my agent and they took so l-o-n-g to respond. By then, my DH and I solved the problem liao! :rant:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.