Letter to Heng Swee Keat
KSP members have discount or not?
Onz! You be my advertising agency!! We will conquer this market of panicked, worried parents who dunno how to teach and have NO TIME to teach. Seriously, the more I think of it, the better it sounds. Why I so stupid, start a petition? Should've started a BUSINESS!!Funx3:
I Can Visualise the Advert for U Already ....
Chenonceau - God of ALL Tutor
(\"A-Shen\" - Anyone Out there Watch the HK Serial?)
Master of Solving - Teach Less in School, Learn More from ME!
:laugh: :laugh:
:clubmyself:
Henceforth, I switch camp. I will now maintain that we have a perfect system, and that parents are kiasu... and there is nothing we can do about kiasu parents except help them. So I start Chenonceau's After School Care to help kiasu parents feel better. -
KSP members have discount or not?[/quote]Advertising Agency .... Speaking Here ....
Onz! You be my advertising agency!! We will conquer this market of panicked, worried parents who dunno how to teach and have NO TIME to teach. Seriously, the more I think of it, the better it sounds. Why I so stupid, start a petition? Should've started a BUSINESS!!Chenonceau:
[quote=\"Funx3\"] :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
I Can Visualise the Advert for U Already ....
Chenonceau - God of ALL Tutor
(\"A-Shen\" - Anyone Out there Watch the HK Serial?)
Master of Solving - Teach Less in School, Learn More from ME!
:laugh: :laugh:
:clubmyself:
Henceforth, I switch camp. I will now maintain that we have a perfect system, and that parents are kiasu... and there is nothing we can do about kiasu parents except help them. So I start Chenonceau's After School Care to help kiasu parents feel better.
With Chief's Permission ....
ALL New Registration Will be Rewarded with ....
100 KP's!
How's That, Chenonceau?
:hugs: :hugs: -
kwokwc:
I think when I was young, I made a wrong move. I was thinking of going to study in NIE to become a teacher then, but my bf (husband now) objected strongly to it, saying that study so hard in EEE, then become teacher and earn less. Hmm, if have became a teacher, then do tuition, maybe now earning so much more now. :evil:[/quote]Tutors, when compared to teachers, teach less and earn more. :evil:Edureach:
[quote=\"WCW\"]i have a frd open tuition centre till live in bunglow
Not suprising lah! One guy teaching jc physics at Bishan, just one class x 2 hrs once per week can generate 10k. No wonder hard to get good teachers to teach in school over a prolonged period. -
ANobleNerd:
And No Need to Teach So Many Subj - Focus on ONE Will Do ....
Tutors, when compared to teachers, teach less and earn more. :evil: -
1000KPs better lah...SAHM_TAN:
KSP members have discount or not?
Advertising Agency .... Speaking Here ....
With Chief's Permission ....
ALL New Registration Will be Rewarded with ....
100 KP's!
How's That, Chenonceau?
:hugs: :hugs:
And sure! All those who signed petition got discount (because these people obviously feel a need for such services!! I will be charging so much that I can afford to give discount. :evil: :evil: Man! I can't wait to go to the bank.
:rubhands:
Dun worry, my dear Advertising Agency... you will be well paid. -
I’m late to the discussion but I do have to say that I agree with the points raised here pertaining to the level of stress the PSLE is causing students, teachers and parents.
For me, one way of looking at this issue is not merely to ensure that the PSLE paper is set to what is taught, but that the school/classroom environment also needs to be considered.
I believe that our schools are too big for there to be a sense of ‘a community of learners’. Each cohort numbers between 350 to 400 kids, and with streaming, you lose a sense of the people you grow up with. At the start of each year, you might even find yourself with a new slate of teachers who don’t know you, and will have to take time to know your learning styles, by which time, it’s already time for exams to be held and who cares if you understand the syllabus or not? Or if you have a values crisis? Or if your home environment isn’t ideal? Who cares about YOU the learner? There are 39 other kids in class who might get more attention by virtue of them being loud-mouth or having more pressing ‘problems’ than you do!
I remember growing up in a primary school that had only 4 classes in each level. With 40 kids in each class, that made it about 160 to 170 per cohort. There was a closer sense of community because the numbers were small, and the faculty felt very much like family because their numbers were small too. There is a sense of community because you knew the kids in the other class, and after 6 years together, you also knew their names - and not just the popular pupils or the prefects. Because the enrolment was smaller, the environment felt safe and more familial, and it is this sense of belonging that is perhaps missing when I think about the schools I taught in, where each cohort is double in number - and the staff numbers to more than 80 in the school.
As a teacher, I found it interesting that lower Primary teachers sit together and hardly cross over to the upper Primary teachers - especially the very important P5 and P6 teachers. Perhaps it was because the curriculum taught and pedagogy is different, but perhaps it was because it made sense to group the teachers’ staffroom to facilitate sharing within the level. Nonetheless, I felt that in that environment, the teaching aspect became very impersonal - from cohort to cohort - and lacked that community feel.
Perhaps returning schools (and classes) to a smaller size could be an answer to our need for a closer look at a child-centred teaching. Certainly a mega-school impresses with the facilities and all, but the soul of such a school seems less personal when you consider how well the school community interact with each other. -
One more thing at Chenonceau’s After School Care, I guarantee motivated children… or you will get your money back. Give me any kid and 12 months, every day after school. I will give him so much drive that parents will have to lock up books and laptops to stop them from studying.
Money Back Guarantee. -
now people steal my business away.
nebermind… I be school teacher now.
teach little bit only and make exam paper super chuper hard.
then I relak, see what Chenonceau can do… heh heh heh -
Deleted
No joking.One more thing at Chenonceau's After School Care, I guarantee motivated children... or you will get your money back. Give me any kid and 12 months, every day after school. I will give him so much drive that parents will have to lock up books and laptops to stop them from studying.
Money Back Guarantee.
Do you conduct classes for parents on how to motivate kids? My kids now have the motivation to study. They were pestering me to give them work to do when I was cooking. I had to get my DD1 to read aloud to me in the kitchen to get her off my back. My DS2 was copying words from a phonics book onto the book itself. But anything to get him off my back for a few mintues while I finish up cooking.
But as they grow older, I think I need it, to keep the flame going while facing frustration in primary school. Let me know if you do conduct such classes. Thanks.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.