CWC, can you drop some hints to your maid to quit or transfer out ? :evil:
Cwc, i would also rather go maidless if not for my #2. Counting on maid to do housework and help in cooking. My confinement auntie told me my maid has been getting influenced by my neighbour's maid (worked for 4years) who bragged about how easy is her job, high pay, freedom, gifts from employer etc. :stupid:
Recently, my maid has toothache problem and we sent her to dentist for tooth extraction. As she's only with us for 3months, we helped to pay partial dental expenses and deduct the rest through monthly expenses. But later she heard from neighbour's maid that her employer paid for all her dental expenses, she gave me super black-face. :mad:
My CL tried telling my maid that we've been treating her right (every meal got meat, eat all she want, little housework, no need to get up at night to make milk for #1 and #2, slept at least 8-9hrs, rest time afternoon) yet she's dissatisfied. We usually bring her out on weekends and even when my hb can't bring her out to library, he will help her borrow her Malay romanace books for her.
She also told my CL she hoped to get off on Hari Raya so she can go out and visit her friends in Singapore when she clearly knows she has no off-days in her contract. I don't mind giving her some time off on their New Year but if she gives me attitude problems and don't seem to appreciate our kindness then can forget about it!
All these my maid never tell me and i don't know if my CL is the one who's stirring things up. So just wait and see. Akang datang... :roll: -
hquek, my existing maid is quite reliable and has clean record with me so far.. \"BGR\" issue shld not be a problem...but then lately she show \"pattern\" like taking easy way out to do things, hiding in the kitchen most of the time, using \"working time\" to chat on the phone, losing patience over my children....thks for highlighting me on pt 2! this is a valid point which i overlooked!...actually for me, I'm a SAHM so i can \"supervise\" the new maid, maybe the risk of having existing maid \"polluting\" the new maid is not worth taking....i also scared they discuss about pay leh...Admummy:
Is it a good idea to let the new maid \"attach\" to my existing maid coz i only managed to get air ticket for existing maid to fly back to Java after the new maid arrives...i was thinking the existing maid can provided sort of orientation and buddying to the new maid and i could save the trouble to re-train the new maid plus there will be no language barrier......what are your views? Thks in advance!!
I have person to jaga maid so I don't intend to let the 2 meet. But if training is really impt, and your old maid is leaving on happy grounds, and/or your current maid is a trusthworthy and nice sort of person, then it may be a risk worth taking.
Reasons for not meeting:
1. old maid could teach new maid negative things. I heard of stories where the new maid get acquainted with bf of existing maid...so the relationship continue.
2. I would wonder if the new maid may be sad at seeing the old maid go home (ie increase homesickness) - brain start to wander etc (I have very fertile imagination). -
jtoh, yah, scarly she jealous of the pay difference then sabo her hor..coz this new maid starting pay is already higher then my existing maid (due to the recent pay hike for indo maid)....i've spoken to my existing maid, requested her to let me record how she perform daily chores and make it into a vcd for the new maid to refer....like this shld be quite safe bah....and i can \"recycle\" the vcd for future maids...hahahha...Admummy:
Is it a good idea to let the new maid \"attach\" to my existing maid coz i only managed to get air ticket for existing maid to fly back to Java after the new maid arrives...i was thinking the existing maid can provided sort of orientation and buddying to the new maid and i could save the trouble to re-train the new maid plus there will be no language barrier......what are your views? Thks in advance!!
It depends on how much you trust you old maid. Sometimes the old maids will pass on gossip or purposely sabo the new one by giving them wrong instructions on how to clean your house etc. -
Admummy:
Wow, not a bad idea to record a VCD for the new maid to learn how to perform daily chores.
jtoh, yah, scarly she jealous of the pay difference then sabo her hor..coz this new maid starting pay is already higher then my existing maid (due to the recent pay hike for indo maid)....i've spoken to my existing maid, requested her to let me record how she perform daily chores and make it into a vcd for the new maid to refer....like this shld be quite safe bah....and i can \"recycle\" the vcd for future maids...hahahha... -
Ya!! The VCD is really a fantastic idea!!! I m going to do that with my current maid should she decides not to renew. Wa!! That’s why I think we should really share ideas here. Especially new maids with problem in English and can just watch the video since it’s your own house layout.
Hiya all…
Sigh… life has not been easy… went for last min biz trip… kid got admitted to hospital while i was there! And then new maid… not as expected… cant speak english or understand!! Dunno how my hub did the interview!! Up until now, after repeating to her "handkerchief" alot of times over the many days she’s been with us… she still looks at me blankly when i asked her to help get 1 for my boy yday…
Haizz… its a long and painful process training new maids!! -
Wah... I should have done this man!!!! Admummy, too bad you posted this now only.... SOBZ!!!peapot:
Ya!! The VCD is really a fantastic idea!!!! I m going to do that with my current maid should she decides not to renew. Wa!! That's why I think we should really share ideas here. Especially new maids with problem in English and can just watch the video since it's your own house layout.
Yes indeed very good idea hor... :dancing: -
SMH FOREST:
Oh dear, how is your kid? Hope is nothing serious. Your maid is from indonesia? Maybe you can pick up some simple behasa to communicate with her. Else chicken and duck talk, very tough.Hiya all....
Sigh... life has not been easy... went for last min biz trip... kid got admitted to hospital while i was there! And then new maid.. not as expected... cant speak english or understand!! Dunno how my hub did the interview!! Up until now, after repeating to her \"handkerchief\" alot of times over the many days she's been with us... she still looks at me blankly when i asked her to help get 1 for my boy yday....
Haizz... its a long and painful process training new maids!! -
tigger88:
Thanks tigger88!!
Oh dear, how is your kid? Hope is nothing serious. Your maid is from indonesia? Maybe you can pick up some simple behasa to communicate with her. Else chicken and duck talk, very tough.SMH FOREST:
Hiya all....
Sigh... life has not been easy... went for last min biz trip... kid got admitted to hospital while i was there! And then new maid.. not as expected... cant speak english or understand!! Dunno how my hub did the interview!! Up until now, after repeating to her \"handkerchief\" alot of times over the many days she's been with us... she still looks at me blankly when i asked her to help get 1 for my boy yday....
Haizz... its a long and painful process training new maids!!
Thank goodness my boy recovered!! Lung infection and pneumonia...
Yes, from indo.. guess, her comprehension of english is really bad! I barely knew a word of bahasa and have been trying to speak to her in my very limited malay... her issue is that she is not so willing to learn the english language... during 1 of her first days, she even told me she DUN WAN to learn english... had to ask the agent to talk to her then! FAINT... :faint: :faint:
I really wonder how she managed to pass her english test at the first try?? To be honest, the test is really useless in ensuring that the maids know a lil english... mine can't speak and can't understand the schedule i gave her.. i really wonder how she passed her test! Haizz
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.