Presidential Election 2011
so can we go / had we gone round asking what has he done ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Basically the citizens dunno what to vote cos' they dunno what the President is supposed to do?
:? :? :?
e.g. if it's for the ceremonial role purpose, then we should vote someone who \"look\" good in ceremonies? -
eh, u are saying he does not look good ? u bad !
Basically the citizens dunno what to vote cos' they dunno what the President is supposed to do?
e.g. if it's for the ceremonial role purpose, then we should vote someone who \"look\" good in ceremonies? -
eh, u are saying he does not look good ? u bad ![/quote]eh... I'm referring to the new President lah... old one dun say lah... but if he's running for another term... then good luck to him lor... better to step down gracefully, than to be voted out. :xedfingers:Daddy

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]so can we go / had we gone round asking what has he done ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
So what are the roles of elected president?
So high salary but I donβt know what the roles are, so how to vote whose "resume" best suit the post? -
:lol: :razz: So which new candidates will \"look\" good in ceremonies?
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1134471/1/.html
\"SINGAPORE: Law Minister K Shanmugam has explained what the President is elected and empowered to do under the Singapore Constitution.
A statement by Mr Shanmugam said that under the Constitution, the President has custodial powers, not executive powers.
He can veto or block government actions in specified areas, but he has no role to advance his own policy agenda...\"
So custodial powers = no powers?
And so high salary... Really power lah... waste time to vote only...
:faint: :faint: :faint: -
Aiya, all along the president do not have executive powers. Thought we all know unless PAP stop being the ruling party. Then the new party may decide to change everything? I think they a "yes" man.
peapot:
Aiya, all along the president do not have executive powers. Thought we all know unless PAP stop being the ruling party. Then the new party may decide to change everything? I think they a \"yes\" man.
PAP knows... We the citizens know... but seems like some of the new President candidates dunno?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.