Dear Mummies,
Need help urgently. My helper left for home leave last Saturday to Indonesia. Before she left, I already confirmed that with endorsed passport (with my residence address) as well as her renewed work permit, there'll be no problem for her coming home this coming 21st June 2011.
However, the very next day after she return, she started telling us that the officer from the airport told her that she is currently with this ID pass, KTKLN, she won't be allowed to come back to Singapore. As frantic as her, I rushed to Indonesia embassy today to check this fact out, but only to be told that she don't need this pass as she is a renewed maid. Went personally to the employment agency to check out further, and they verify against some clients whom Indo maid also went back recently, all came back with a hitch. No mention of the KTKLN card. My agent also told me my maid is definitely lying to me. For, my maid had in fact asked me to loan her another $600 in order for her to get the KTKLN pass.
Can someone out there help me with this?!!! I had checked out her wardrobe and found she still left 70% of her personal belongings behind. Which could easily mean that she still have wish to come back right? Or is she lying? I'm so lost.. Someone help me please.
Greatly appreciate if you could email me @ [email protected].
Thanks! -
yeah... i hope no more.. in fact, i hope no more of her!!!SMH FOREST:
they say we pay peanuts last time... now we pay more, we are getting even less quality maids... they dont seem serious in wanting to earn money?? if these maids know $ is precious and needs $ for food, why would anyone in the right mind throw away food?? :siao: i am still amused with that.. cos' in the past, we hear of maids who came, faced hunger at home, and came here n ate alot?? these new maids, doesnt seem to have issues with hunger leh??
My current myan one also threw food in the begining and I gave good big lecture since then nothing thrown I hope so
haizz.. this morn had to educate her again... she used the washing machine to wash..... 2 towels!!! now, still waiting for my hub to decide what he wants... he is keen to get old maid back leh.... dunno for good or worse?? haizzz... i choose to sit back n wait till he settles it.... but meanwhile i did ask agent to give me new profiles lah... she hasnt sent me yet... SIGH
YES!!! :gloomy: :faint: :yikes: :stompfeet: :slapshead: :stupid: :mad:
Used washing machine for just 2 towels :skeptical: :siao:SMH FOREST:
yeah... i hope no more.. in fact, i hope no more of her!!!
haizz.. this morn had to educate her again... she used the washing machine to wash..... 2 towels!!! now, still waiting for my hub to decide what he wants... he is keen to get old maid back leh.... dunno for good or worse?? haizzz... i choose to sit back n wait till he settles it.... but meanwhile i did ask agent to give me new profiles lah... she hasnt sent me yet... SIGH
but then again they might have never seen this thing before in the life and dunno wat to do with it :scared:
Yep... thats why i educated her nicely... :imanangel:
Am gonna show her what other clothes she can mix with in the washer tonight... but i must say, i have been quite resistant in showing her the ropes or correcting her mistakes cos' i wan her out... like yday, she changed the towels, when its not towel changing day... and i didnt say a word... n my mom complained tt she has showed her many times on how to wash the veggies, and till yday she still isnt doing it right... haizz.. dunno how! :gloomy: -
Last time Indon Maid salary is $270 & Filipino Maid salary at $360. Now both of them are now pricing at $420.
How come the government does not step in to control?
If inclusive in terms of levy every month cost around $600 (Excludes Food). Nowadays maid expect we employer to provide a room for them if not they cannot work long. Does anyone have similar experiences -
Think the filipino maids are more demanding. When I was searching for 1, interviewed indon, filip & myanmar. Myan cannot communicate & has very bad attitude. Fili is demanding. There is 1 transferred maid who was willing to take care of male elderly so I was keen. But then her question was like "do I have a room to myself / how many people in the house / do I need to hand wash clothes". Room NO, while there are 6 in my house, 90% washing machine, so her main task is basic chores & one elderly who was still mostly independent - just need to help bathe clean. My kids I take care cos Iβm sahm. Guess what, she chose not to accept my job even tho she already kena sent back 3 times. Well, a few weeks later when I got my indon maid, she was still unemployed loh.
Hey hquek,
hi admummy,
(I hope she dun stay near the capital city...else you got no bargaining chip). I did that to my last maid - told her I can buy her an airticket that make her transit in Jakarta airport OVERNIGHT; or if she do her work well, to spend more money and let her fly faster to her home town.
Other chips you can try...give her her money in cents versus dollars. Make me really angry and I may just try that. I'll see how she wrestle that big bag of money to the airplane. [in case MOM is reading this, no I have not tried this on anyone]
really thank you for the \"tips\"... her hometown is at Brebes (nearer to Semarang Airport). During her second year home leave, we bought her ticket to Jakarta Airport. She complained that the domestic transport fare from Jakarta to Brebes costed her a fortune and the journey is too long. so this time round, we intend to fly her to Semarang Airport (slightly more expensive only available Garuda or Batavia). Maybe i can explain to her that i am doing her a favour by paying more to make her trip comfortable and i expect her to reciprocate...
now i need your opinion on this, her work permit expires 3 Jul, she only willing to work until 30 jun. She has about $1200 in her accounts (excluding Jun pay). As i've been paying her every 1st day of the following month, that means her Jun pay will only be due on 1st jul (after she leaves Singapore). Previously (when she haven't show pattern), i told her that i will pay her Jun's pay before she leave Singapore instead of 1 Jul so that she can remit all her savings back to Java before she leave Singapore (my dumbest mistake!!).
My mil alerted me and told me that I should hold some money (e.g. Jun's pay) at my side first and remit to her later so that if we discover anything missing, we can still dock off from the pay.
Frankly, i've been trusting her all this time that was why i initiated the withdrawal of money before she leaves Singapore... but her recent cocky and bochap attitude really made me boil...another thing that drove me nut recently... my hubby suddenly decided to go for a short holiday..initially was without the maid and bb so i told my maid during our absence she and bb will stay with nai nai, she was ok...then my hubby changed his mind and decided to bring bb along, so naturally, the maid also follow....when i told her, wow she stare at me fiercely and said \"no lah, stay at nai nai house lor! why go, dun want to go lah!\" damn defensive leh and extremely rude to me (the same tone she use when i told her about filming!)...i was so mad then i said \"must go means must go\" then i just walk off, and then for the next few days i avoided eye contact with her and did not talk to her unless necessary. i hope she catch my hint that i am ANGRY....
i know what she thinking coz her chance of going back to Java earlier is dashed BUT must she be so rude to me? now she also sit on the sofa slouching comfortably even when i want to sit, she dun make way, or sneeze or hiccup loudly without the least courtesy!!!......
i am really \"fan\" by her now... how to handle the remiting of money... let her remit whole or partial? when to remit? must hold back money as backup? when to bring her close her POSB account? how to bring the message across nicely?
Actually i dun wish to adopt anything that sour our relationship but then if not will i suffer in the end....as for the extra bonus of 1-month, i think cannot take back already, since i said it, have to give... :stupid: now to make matter worst, the maid i've shortlisted to replace the existing one, has \"escaped\" from the Jakarta agency and gone missing!!! goodnes... :gloomy: i think i will be maidless for quite a while before the next one comes along....Admummy will miss KSP... -
Not sure that you have the right to hold back her salary as the money you pay her on July 1st if for June salary so she has every right to be given it. Also if the POSB account is in her name you will have to close it before she leaves.
I understand that there is the possibility she has taken/will take something from you but imagine if you resigned from your job and your company held back money in case youβd stolen something - how would you feel?!
I would suggest that on the day she leaves, just before she packs, you tell her that your are going to check her luggage. Yes, she could send stuff back or give to someone else earlier but if she doesnβt suspect that you will check then she may not. -
nms1:
nms1, thks, noted your point...i won't hold any of her money beyond 1st Jul since payment date for Jun's pay is by 1 Jul. It will be unfair to her if i do that...maybe i did not make myself clear, my point is if she leaves before 1 Jul, she has every right to take back all her money in the POSB account but not for Jun pay since it is not yet due for payment ...so she can withdraw all her savings excluding Jun pay (which i will remit to her on 1Jul) or i pay her before 1 Jul (maybe this week) so that she remits all her savings including Jun pay....the purpose of doing this is just like what hquek term it as \"bargaining chip\" to have something to hold on so that i have bargaining power, at least she will respect and behave \"for the sake of the remaining money...Not sure that you have the right to hold back her salary as the money you pay her on July 1st if for June salary so she has every right to be given it. Also if the POSB account is in her name you will have to close it before she leaves.
I understand that there is the possibility she has taken/will take something from you but imagine if you resigned from your job and your company held back money in case you'd stolen something - how would you feel?!
I would suggest that on the day she leaves, just before she packs, you tell her that your are going to check her luggage. Yes, she could send stuff back or give to someone else earlier but if she doesn't suspect that you will check then she may not.
the POSB account is a joint one with her, so I think should be able to close the account even after her departure? anyone please correct me ok...
I will definitely check her luggage but she's a clever woman, dun think she will hide it in her luggage...
i hope i'm not portraying a \"evil\" \"wicked\" employer here. i am not... i was the one who initiated the early release of her savings and Jun's pay, even offered to fly her directly back to Semarang instead of Jakarta or transit in Jakarta then Semarang...but look at how she treated me and my children lately....
so my tip for all employers, dun be too complacent until the last min... i only become paranoid because of the change in her attitude and performance ... -
Admummy:
Don't think there's anything Dis-Honourable in Holding the Bonus Money until she Leave. afterall this is to Reward her for her full term of service, right till the Last Day.
nms1, thks, noted your point...i won't hold any of her money beyond 1st Jul since payment date for Jun's pay is by 1 Jul. It will be unfair to her if i do that...maybe i did not make myself clear, my point is if she leaves before 1 Jul, she has every right to take back all her money in the POSB account but not for Jun pay since it is not yet due for payment ...so she can withdraw all her savings excluding Jun pay (which i will remit to her on 1Jul) or i pay her before 1 Jul (maybe this week) so that she remits all her savings including Jun pay....the purpose of doing this is just like what hquek term it as \"bargaining chip\" to have something to hold on so that i have bargaining power, at least she will respect and behave \"for the sake of the remaining money...nms1:
Not sure that you have the right to hold back her salary as the money you pay her on July 1st if for June salary so she has every right to be given it. Also if the POSB account is in her name you will have to close it before she leaves.
I understand that there is the possibility she has taken/will take something from you but imagine if you resigned from your job and your company held back money in case you'd stolen something - how would you feel?!
I would suggest that on the day she leaves, just before she packs, you tell her that your are going to check her luggage. Yes, she could send stuff back or give to someone else earlier but if she doesn't suspect that you will check then she may not.
the POSB account is a joint one with her, so I think should be able to close the account even after her departure? anyone please correct me ok...
I will definitely check her luggage but she's a clever woman, dun think she will hide it in her luggage...
i hope i'm not portraying a \"evil\" \"wicked\" employer here. i am not... i was the one who initiated the early release of her savings and Jun's pay, even offered to fly her directly back to Semarang instead of Jakarta or transit in Jakarta then Semarang...but look at how she treated me and my children lately....
so my tip for all employers, dun be too complacent until the last min... i only become paranoid because of the change in her attitude and performance ...
I'll suggest giving the Final Bonus in Cash at the Airport to her.
This is Often Practice in the Industry for WP holders working for Private company, to deter them from MIS .... In Fact for not very trustworthy workers, PP is hand over to them at Airport as Well ....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.