Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)
Hi cambriant, not too sure whether does this info helps.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapores-top-primary-schools -
Thanks laughingcat. I guess its kinda useful though its a couple of years behind. Plus really what I want to know is how the school does on the whole and not how many top students they have.
I remembered I read it somewhere in this forum that there is a compilation throughout the years but I can't find the link now. :sad:
From MOE press statement, here is the link. ACS is one of the school that have top students and also one of the school with good progress in PSLE in 2010.
Alternatively, you can scan through the list at http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=16286&start=2470
Hopefully this helps lah. -
Hi, my DS in P6 now. He loves school.
One of the reasons why I sent my son to ACS is because I believe in an all rounded education. It’s not impt that ACS does not produce top PSLE kids, what’s important is that the school produces happy kids with good social skills and values.
My DS is into competitive sports (one of the reasons why I chose the school) as I believe competitive sports mould character. My DS is highly motivated now, wants to do well (aim for RI), is highly vocal and is socially adapt. A shy person by nature (another reason for ACS), I felt an all boys environment would nurture him to become more inquisitive and be more participative. He also holds leadership positions in the school as well.
Like any other schools, there will always be a share of good/lazy teachers. At the end of the day, the parents need to partner the school in nurturing the kids.
Generally no academic pressure till P6 - by then the boys already understand the importance of PSLE as the teachers kept reminding them & parents too. Assuming your kid goes to University, that’s 16 years of education marathon, so give your kids a break for the first 4 years. What’s more important is the motivation and discipline to do well needs to be inculcated from P1, not the pressure to be band 1 all the time.
Knowing my DS, I let his academic results slipped in P3/P4, (no tuition). But being a competitive sportsman, he gets up each time he is defeated and he is showing improvement now (and he is happy going for tuitions because he wants to do well, not because his parents want him to). Such is the character building from competitive sports.
At the end of the day, I would rather my son be a 240/250 with strong leadership and social skills, than being a 270 (tops) with no social skills and leadership exposure. Of course its a bonus if its both.
But no pressue, think in perspective a top P6 student may not be a top earner or corporate warrior, or business owner. -
Shame on the big bully!
hypergatak:
My son also had similar experience in ACSP when he was a monitor in P1. He wrote angmoh boy's name on the board for talking before lesson proper and was scolded by the angmoh father. I am surprised that these angmoh parents are so protective.
I've heard of a similar incident happening a couple of years ago too, with an angmo father. Wonder if it's the same bullying father.jtoh:
[quote=\"ng4145\"]I was at ACS (Pri) transport centre to pick up my son yesterday & I saw this incident.
A lower primay chinese boy was stopped by non-chinese father & son. The father started scolding & shouting at the chinese boy for hurting his son on the face. The poor little boy was shivering with fear & crying uncontrollably & he kept on saying sorry to them. However, the father did not stop his shouting & replied that \"what is there to say sorry now\". Obviously, he did not want to let go & puting all his anger on the poor helpless boy.
After a while, a teacher came. She was trying comfort the boy & calm the angry father. Neverthless, he continued shouting at them. The teacher, however, had to tell him to write a complaint letter to the principal if he insisted to take up the case.
I am sad to withness this incident & felt shameful for the father. He was a big bully! I tried to call the school regarding this incident however, it telehpone line was always engaged.
A few comments about ACSP:
(a) Academically, it is not stressful, hardly any homework. My boy in P4 also does not get much homework up till now.
(b) Discipline-wise, it is not probably not as strict as those Chinese school. Heard that in schools like Aitong, students have to bow and greet teachers, not sure if it's the same for Nanyang.
(c) CCAs wise, lots of choices and my boy is able to get into the CCA that he wanted with much ease, he has tried 3 different types of CCAs so far. I heard it's quite competitive in some schools and the student is required to have some knowledge of the sports/game before he can join.
However, I personally find that the boys are more rowdy, noisy in an all boys school vs co-ed school.[/quote] -
Any parent advised on this year registration for Phase 2C at Anglo Chinese Primary for 2012 intake.
Would like to register my son as we are staying within 1km to the school. Last year need balloting, am very anxious if this year will be the same. -
Hi South African
Thanks for your thoughts. Its definitely heartening to hear your perspective. My husband and I agree that education is a long process. Its more important to go to a school which nurtures the kid’s character and social development than for him to burn out at such a young age.
Good luck for your son’s psle! just curious, what sport is your son in? -
Hello,
I am a non PR and my son is 4 years old this year. Intends to register my son with ASC(P). Would appreciate for your advice. -
wongsc:
please read up the phases under the MOE website and determine what you need to do to get your son into ACPS...it's not ASC(P).Hello,
I am a non PR and my son is 4 years old this year. Intends to register my son with ASC(P). Would appreciate for your advice. -
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.