All About Aircon (New, Maintenance, related components)
Damn sian one...have called the contractor before, because the wire no electricity going to one unit, now is this. Make me damn furious. :mad: :mad: :mad:
If never wire properly sure got cannot on the aircon mah. I have used it for nearly a year, and now suddenly the plug burst?? Anyone got experience?
Luckily it did not cause a fire, more so that it is nextbto the curtains.
Maybe inferior quality of wire or socket used. -
I asked the aircon contractor before, they told us that the wire is of higher quality. And my usual contractor is quite reliable, I dun think he would get someone so unreliable right? Thatwould tarnish his reputation mah.
The plug consists of wire, metal and plastic, nothing potentially explosive…
The only thing that has the potential to blown is the fuse. If too big a current flows thru, the thin wire instantly vaporises, building up pressure and "exploded" (usually it just melt).
So, a possible cause would be improper or low quality fuse, and exceeding large current. The large current could be due to a short circuit in the aircon unit, better to get the manufacturer to check. And as for the plug blewing off, probably the plug is of low quality also, or screws not properly secured.
Normally, the fuse melts, or possibly "blew" but the force should not be large enough to tear the fuse assembly apart, let alone tear the plug apart.
To confirm, just check that all the components like 3 metal pins, plastic cover, wires should be around almost intact, but the fuse is likely to be in "bits and pieces"… -
Thanks limlim! Really appreciate it! At least it sets my mind at ease knowing that.

My contractor came to see. He said it’s because it might be because the wire connected to the plug broke, so he would change it. But got such thing meh?
Possible. If the wire broke, meaning insulation is broken also, the wires maybe exposed and "short circuit", hence very large current flows and the fuse blow.
then must be very dangerous right? Coz the plug cover flew out. :shock:
kwokwc:
Actually it also depend on the usage of your aircon.I recently service my aircon by http://www.airconservicesg.com and i signed a 4 times yearly servicing contract.Last yr found an aircon service company who install a new set of aircon in my shop. After installing, check with them what is their charges like, Wow, I am impressed. Just $25/unit. My previous aircon service company charges at least $60 per unit. This is the normal unit that we install at home. Even after my staff heard his prices, also say that they will get them to service their home aircon. Now I have also change all my aircon servicing to them too.
they also don't recommend chemical wash as they say will spoil the aircon more. My previous company sure to do 1 chemical wash per yr with us, and it is so ex.
This aircon servicing thing is really like getting a maid, a bit depend on luck to find the right one. If the servicing is so cheap, can easily service twice a yr, and should be more than enough.
I think some office or industrial aircon needs to be service even more time a year depending on the usage.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.