English - How to Teach Comprehension Cloze

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    62 Posts 24 Posters 52.1k Views 1 Watching
      Mum1113

thanks cwc, do you have copy of ‘IN’, can share the snapshot too ? MTIA

cimman

cwc:

One stone 3 birds - clear cupboard, read news, do assessment.
        err... make that 4 birds - clear dust, clear cupboard, read news, do assessment. There can never be too many birds to kill. 🙂

BeContented

Mum1113:
          thanks cwc, do you have copy of 'IN', can share the snapshot too ? MTIA

Sorry leh.....no \"IN\". My kids only primary, so have not seen it myself cos' believe it's also via school subscription. Think need mommies with sec children to help already.

Mum1113

Okay calling calling parents with Sec going kids with \"IN\".... 🙂

BeContented

Mum1113:
              Let my P6 boy tried both today after this mummy did some random \"Blanko-ing job\".. :imanangel:

He tried one article from ST and other from Little Red Dot.
              Both gave comparable results.
              So this mummy's interpretation : let him handle more ST articles.... :evil: 😉
              Hee hee....have you been keeping up on this??? 😉
              I just started this week, after 2 weeks of school activities & fun :rahrah:

I'll choose an article, make DD & DS do some simple-mindmap followed by giving me a summary of the article (oral), then blanko for comprehension cloze.
              At the same time, try to explain to them on general knowledge, how things are related etc.....me also limited skills and knowledge, but hope with someone to guide them now, they will develop themselves later. But frankly, think it helps me too.....in the past I'm totally ignorant of many many things, but cos' I go thru the articles with them, somehow i gain too eg. who are the 4 tigers of asia, some history of abraham lincohln, how & when he die etc, how is dandruff formed. Just hope can retain the info in my limited memory space 😓

So far, P4 DD very excited and look forward as she feels that she is learning new stuff, but P5 DS a little xianzzzz but think i better persevere, both kids like frog in well, lack perspective.....very unlike the daddy.

Champion

cwc:

I'll choose an article, make DD & DS do some simple-mindmap followed by giving me a summary of the article (oral), then blanko for comprehension cloze.
                At the same time, try to explain to them on general knowledge, how things are related etc.....me also limited skills and knowledge, but hope with someone to guide them now, they will develop themselves later. But frankly, think it helps me too.....in the past I'm totally ignorant of many many things, but cos' I go thru the articles with them, somehow i gain too eg. who are the 4 tigers of asia, some history of abraham lincohln, how & when he die etc, how is dandruff formed. Just hope can retain the info in my limited memory space 😓

So far, P4 DD very excited and look forward as she feels that she is learning new stuff, but P5 DS a little xianzzzz but think i better persevere, both kids like frog in well, lack perspective.....very unlike the daddy.
                Hello :hi5: ,
                :goodpost: Very inspired by what you are doing for your 2 kids! :please: Guess I have to do something with the newspaper thing else The Straits Times will be like after hubby & me read - put away in the store room and later donates to students who comes over to collect for charity 😄

smartmummy

My son read a lot of story books and attend I Can Read.P1,P2 he was lost marks in this area.Now in SA1 he got a good marks.I didn’t teach any strategies.He hasn’t yet start to read newspapers.He lost marks in composition.

BeContented

cwc:

Hello :hi5: ,
                    :goodpost: Very inspired by what you are doing for your 2 kids! :please: Guess I have to do something with the newspaper thing else The Straits Times will be like after hubby & me read - put away in the store room and later donates to students who comes over to collect for charity 😄

No lah :oops: nothing inspiring. 🙂
                    Just got a bit overwhelmed by all the assessment books around. I realised with assessment books, I'll just dump to kids and often didn't even mark them. So, end up fruitless for all. With this IDR, I forced myself to sit down & go thru' with them and ensure all gain something from it. I want them to be more aware of what's happening in the world, be more analytical......cos the mommy lacked all these 😓
                    So far, I enjoyed this method more than going through the passages in assessments books which seem pretty boring & lifeless.

Champion, since your children are only P3 and younger, you probably need to select suitable ones. IMO, ST articles is drier & tougher. I actually tried using ST last year too, but failed, painful process as kids were complaining dun understand this lah, that lah, article long lah..... :slapshead:
                    At least now, I find it a lot more enjoyable with IDR. Probably will try with \"What's Up\" which is a little more difficult than IDR (suits upper Pri)......DD school has asked them to subscribe just b4 Jun holidays.

Mum1113

Thanks for sharing cwc 😉

We did a couple of ST articles together, and your suggestion is actually good. To discuss after the readings, not only keeps their train thoughts moving but mine as well , otherwise may get too dusty.

Mum1113:
                        Thanks for sharing cwc 😉

We did a couple of ST articles together, and your suggestion is actually good. To discuss after the readings, not only keeps their train thoughts moving but mine as well , otherwise may get too dusty.
                        Hi Mum113/CWC,
                        Thanks for valuable tips. Will try out the \"Blanko-ing job\" with son.
                        What I did was to attempt to do some of the passages in his assessment book myself, in front of him. Then let him do the marking. He sure enjoyed doing so !!!
                        Then I asked him to refer to the answers and fill in those I got wrong.
                        We went through together and I explained why some answers are such that 'it has to be that one' and nothing else...for eg phrasal verbs.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 7

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations