Myanmar maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    799 Posts 94 Posters 534.2k Views 1 Watching
      moonee

Dont write down instructions for them, you quote and make her write in her own language. Ask her to repeat what u told her in her broken english

• Y Offline
        yanyan

Thks moonee for ur advises! I will try tat on sat! I talked to her last nite, tell her tat i want her to speed up… Dun knw if she understand me or not… Haha… Ya lo… Their trg centre shld juz pay us trg fees instead!

• Y Offline
          yanyan

Actually we wld pick maid frm myanmar coz my mum say try not to get indo coz of thr pork restriction & hb say no pinoy coz they too smart… Tat y pick myanmar… Actually we already expect these prob (i am an active reader of this forum) but sometimes when face reality, it can get on my nerves… Haha

fifiyeo

Yanyan,

Actually doesn't matter where you get your maid from. Any country is just as bad with its own set of problems. Somehow BLUR is better than other problems.

You know why I stopped using philippinos?? Let me tell you about my horror story.....my last and worst one tried to blackmail me for about $900 to pay for her trip home and return to work for another employer (if I can't wait) after working for about 8-9 mths (loan just finished) and us giving her a big angpow for CNY.

Story.......
            She claimed that her father-in-law died the very next day after DH flew off to Germany for a week. Expecting me to pay for all expenses and can't advise when she would like to return back for work. Maybe 1mth or more. If I couldn't wait, I was supposed to help her by arranging with the agent to let her work for another employer! Crazy! :mad:

I got the agent to speak to her. They told her to pay herself as she had only worked for a few months. She pulled a very long face that night and the next morning she told me that she didn't want to go back anymore 'cos it's too costly. Then she continued on......since I didn't solve her problem, she was going to the police to press molest charges on my 3 and 7 year old boys. Claiming that they had been molesting her and watching her shower through the toilet window using the long and heavy ladder in our house. :rant:
            When questioned how on earth they could have carried the ladder themselves, she changed the story to using a chair and later on to she didn't see but the kids had told her! She also couldn't answer how an adult like her could not fend off \"molest attacks\" from young children (actually she doesn't even take care or have much interaction with the kids 'cos I was home and doing that myself).
            She was crying and shouting in our garden for all neighbours to watch. Agent offered to come and take her to the police station to make the report and that's when she wanted to withdraw what she had said. Saying how sorry she was for saying rubbish. She even rang my MIL to appologize and my MIL actually tried to put in a good word for her!! By late morning, she was down on her knees begging me for forgiveness!!
            Needless to say, I had the agent sent her home for good!

That was why I switched to Burmese maids but they were so out of this world that I gave up. This was my story...how and why I chose to go maidless. I learnt 1 thing, never be too nice. That becomes your weakness.

• Y Offline
              yanyan

Wah fifi! Ur experience with pinoy is scary! Tat maid so drama!!! Scary!!

• Z Offline
                znzyzyzx

Hm.. My first two myammar maids don't really like to eat a lot, I guess they are not used to our food. The third one now is more adventurous in eating.

Joeyz18:
                I going get indo this time round cos sick of myanmar maids' black faces and huge appetite like pig then end up fat till lazy! That one I sent back can eat a big bowl of rice and noodle for a meal! She put on at least 8kg in the 4 months

• bigsnoopyB Offline
                  bigsnoopy

yanyan:
                  Wah fifi! Ur experience with pinoy is scary! Tat maid so drama!!! Scary!!

Yes very drama mama. But it is a typical thing a phillipino maid will do.

BabyLiaw

wah…really drama mama from philipino maid…that’s why my HB and I said a firm no-no to philipino maid…

My first maid was an Indo maid…which didnt turn out too well…on paper, it said dat she’s 33yo (I employed her to take care of my grandma)…but in real, she looked like 43yo and kept telling me whats right n wrong…oh, she’s a teacher back in Indo and she speaks decent English…after my grandma passed away, she got nothing to do…and she’s definitely not made to take care of my then 1+yo toddler…she got no energy for kids and has no patience with them…her hygiene is horrid and her appetite is graciously HUGE!!

Soon after, I changed to a Burmese maid…it was like a godsend…pleasant-looking and hardworking…I must say language is a barrier…very soon, I got her a Burmese tutor to coach her English…when the Burmese tutor came, I chatted with the teacher and somehw managed to get her "over my side"…I managed to bring the idea across to her that I am not looking down on her as a maid and I regard her as a family…I am paying extra for her class to groom her and she must work doubly hard…with the teacher ard, I managed to translate alot of things efficiently…eg."blench" and "soak"…in the past, wash is wash…but now, I expect more from her…or "fresh milk" and "goats milk"…in the past, milk is milk…

For the cleaning part, I was quite a strict employer and I make sure I can spot check on her anytime…eg. I use "pink cloth" for baby’s toys, "white cloth" for table, "brown rag" for floor…in the morning, when I touch the cloth, I would knw whether she has cleaned the things (baby’s toys or table)…and frm the smell of different detergent (baby detergent / dishwashing detergent etc), I would know if she do the right thing…

However, maid being maid…she has been working for me for 8mths nw…starting to see that she’s getting more and more slack…talk back…lazy to bath also…Haiz…but my 2yo loves her and she dotes on her…so, bo pian…close 1 eye lor…

fifiyeo

Yes, I do noticed that maids tend to slack a fair bit and have big attitudes once their loan is paid up. It’s like "I’m free and can be the boss now" attitude! Sure agree that my philippino maid was a DRAMA QUEEN!

It surprises me that these country girls are simply even too lazy to bath. Mine was like that too and still thinks she’s a beauty queen. If there was ever any Burmese male worker in our house (eg. the pest control guy was a Burmese), she’ll be fluttering like a butterfly around him. I wonder what the Burmese guys think of them??? Such a turn off!

• bigsnoopyB Offline
                        bigsnoopy

Agreed! All my maids are social butterflies! Like to flirt with men (especially FT) and like to talk a lot (only to other maids).

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 20 / 80

rr88senettR
                        rr88senett