Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

sleepy:

For soup base I will buy organic to make myself feel better.

Where to buy organic ones?

Cold storage, 4 seasons (I think that's the name of the shop). The soup base very basic, like chicken soup, vegetable soup, mushroom soup, etc. It's more ang moh. I usually buy chicken / vegetable soup becos more versatile.

sleepy

So relieved I'm not burdened by a maid. Those few years when I had one as daughter was a bb and son in P1...stressed out bcos of the maid. It's much easier now...on days when I am in the mood, I'll use the vacuum cleaner for the areas where irobot can't reach.

Once, I asked dh should I get a maid to relieve my load? I rather fancy the idea of being a 'tai tai'.

Dh asked me 2 questions 'Are you going to eat what the maid cook?'
        'Are you going to let maid handle the kids eg. bathe or feed them?'
        Now try picture me frowning away. Dh concluded 'So why get a maid?'

BeContented

:offtopic: sometimes, I think good that DH talks more to other woman outside esp. the aunties & DILs. Previously when I complain, he :roll: rolls his eyes, would think I'm fussy, exaggerate etc. But I realized, recently after he kept listening to some of his staff complaining about their MILs, he's now more understanding. Maybe he 'see light', maybe he realized I have actually been very accommodating, maybe...... Also, he is now firmer towards MIL esp. when it comes to taking care of FIL. MIL likes to comment that FIL is easy to handle and sometimes even claim we lied about the various things that he did during her absence. So DH now insists the mom be involved πŸ˜‰

terry

My kids are both in primary school...although my house is not tip top condition but neat and clean enough since there isn't any baby crawling around.

So relieved I'm not burdened by a maid. Those few years when I had one as daughter was a bb and son in P1...stressed out bcos of the maid. It's much easier now...on days when I am in the mood, I'll use the vacuum cleaner for the areas where irobot can't reach.
            can i say life will get better as time passes? i always tot when the kids go sch will be mre stress cos gotta monitor homework, tuition, cca, on top of making sure they are not mixing with wrong grp of frends...i noe alot of sahm go back to the workforce during this time..but isnt tis pre teen transition period mre time comsuming and need mre attention frm parents?

sleepy

terry:
              i always tot when the kids go sch will be mre stress cos gotta monitor homework, tuition, cca, on top of making sure they are not mixing with wrong grp of frends...i noe alot of sahm go back to the workforce during this time..

Because kids of this age spend many hours in school. Besides regular school hours, most need to stay back in school for extra lessons or CCA. Some even have tutors to come in in the afternoon to do extra coaching. Little time left to bond with kids since they're so busy. Probably that's why some SAHMs return to work?

BeContented

sleepy:
                terry:

i always tot when the kids go sch will be mre stress cos gotta monitor homework, tuition, cca, on top of making sure they are not mixing with wrong grp of frends...i noe alot of sahm go back to the workforce during this time..

Because kids of this age spend many hours in school. Besides regular school hours, most need to stay back in school for extra lessons or CCA. Some even have tutors to come in in the afternoon to do extra coaching. Little time left to bond with kids since they're so busy. Probably that's why some SAHMs return to work?

Agree.
                Actually, I would also hope to work part-time by then.....at least, get some pocket money & some outside life.

Kabby

cwc:
                  sleepy:

[quote=\"terry\"]i always tot when the kids go sch will be mre stress cos gotta monitor homework, tuition, cca, on top of making sure they are not mixing with wrong grp of frends...i noe alot of sahm go back to the workforce during this time..

Agree.
                  Actually, I would also hope to work part-time by then.....at least, get some pocket money & some outside life.[/quote]ya, since they'll be in school. i intend to go back too, but hopefully can arrange part-time nicely such that when they're in school, i am too, then i can be back at the same time as them.

i'm waiting for dd to reach 3yo, i'm planning to let her go nursery and then i'll return...

i can still be part of this club then, right? cos working part time, not FTWM? kekekeke

terry

i oso cannot cook. i love to watch cooking shows, they make it look so damn easy! i love jamie oliver and nigella's kitchen. i have many cookbooks, always telling myself..one day..

smtimes, i really did make it to the supermarket to buy ingredients with a list. then will always fail to find a certain ingredient/herb or whatever, then will gv up, complain say singapore cannot make it, always no fresh ingredients like in Australia..so hw to be like jamie oliver!?

my mum used to cook frm stratch,eg assam fish. but nw she oso play cheat, will buy pre package sauces n stock. itz quite convenient actually..once a while i shop in NTUC and realise wah! so many food nw comes pre package..i can oso cook like chef! but i do worry abt the MSG content tho.

last time when ds was starting solids, i very hardworking will cook for him only. Follow recipe books like annabel karmel. but my sis always look at the food and say look so yucky,pity my ds must eat wat i cook.

aw, the gist is i CANNOT cook well enough for my hb to depend on me 3meals aday. i make my mum teach the maid hw to cook simple dish. so nw maid will cook for ds and me. when my hb ard we usually eat out to gv me a break frm maid's cooking.

buds is asking me what i do evday...i very shy to say leh :oops: ,sure kena stone here. Btw, im NOT a tai tai ok? i do my fair share of hsework even with maid. im juz very blessed in many ways. i will share next time.

BeContented

linden2000:
                      cwc:

But then, I can't cook well and no time to cook everyday, so started TINGKAT!!! Tried 2-3 caterers, but 4 months later, MIL and DH complaint like shit, so back to me cooking again. But same lah, just cook 2-3 times....but then, MIL and DH complaint I am 'poisoning' them cos' I tend to use pre-prepared stuff and sauces ie. preservatives, unhealthy etc !!! Hello, MIL uses a lot of MSG loh..... what's the diff?? Now with helper, just close my eyes liao. I refused to let maid use MSG but MIL pass to her, insist ok....so whatever. Even cooking sooooo much trouble, so my motto now.....just tell the helper what I want, the rest CLOSE eyes, as long as not too oily and salty, no point complain.

Huh use pre-prepared sauces is 'poisoning them'? Actually some of the pre-prepared sauces are MSG-free and preservative-free. Usually choose those with the health promotion board logo.

Say lotsa preservatives loh. Also, sure got MSG loh. Say unhealthy loh. Come'on, these days, few will prepare from scratch......I like to buy those Jap/Korean marinate, kee plum sauce etc also kena loh. But I secretly lah, else how? πŸ˜‰

BeContented

sorry, duplicated.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 110 / 357