Myanmar maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    799 Posts 94 Posters 526.4k Views 1 Watching
    • bigsnoopyB Offline
      bigsnoopy

Angelight:
      :rotflmao: You've got a wicked sense of humor, bigsnoopy! But I agree with fifi, I wouldn't dare to try Vietnamese maids. Better safe than sorry! :razz:

[quote=\"fifiyeo\"]Yes, Vietnamese can work here as maids now. Do you dare to try? A lot of them are out and about looking for foreign husbands just to get out of their country.

Better not try. Wait u wait up in the middle of the night and find DH missing.

[/quote] :lol: of course cannot try la. Have you seen some of the vietnamese here. wa their skin is very fair and very smooth hor. Don't know how they mantain it.

• 1 Offline
        1amber

Angelight:

Bigsnoopy, what kind of smell is it? Like incense? Some of them may bring their own kind of powder etc from their homeland.

[quote=\"bigsnoopy\"]Haiz despite the fact I ask my maid to bath twice a day, I still find she smells. I wouldn't use the word smelly but a kind of smell which I dislike. Any idea how to deal with it?

I don't think she brought any cos i go through her bag the very 1st day she came. DH commented she smell like old people and i think the smell is like you know when you hang clothes during rainy season and the clothes is dry without the sun. It is that kind of smell.[/quote]Yes I think I agree with bigsnoopy on the description of the smell. Becoz my dear maid doesn't wait for my clothes to be dry and folds them. A few times I wore my clothes only to realise they are damp. Told her a few times and I think she still doesn't understand what 'dry' really means. One KSP said \"out of this world\" and I really agree. :frustrated:

moonee

I don't think she brought any cos i go through her bag the very 1st day she came. DH commented she smell like old people and i think the smell is like you know when you hang clothes during rainy season and the clothes is dry without the sun. It is that kind of smell.

Perhaps due to the fact that they are too long in the village, they have been wearing village clothes with that certain smell for years, think it has penetrated into their skin. Think u got to ask her to lay off those mynmar clothes and start wearing new Ts and shorts.
          When I opened my maids bag, it carries tat smell too.

• bigsnoopyB Offline
            bigsnoopy

I don let her wear the Myanmar clothes she bought. So weird, the materialnis very thick n not comfortable at all. I saw her Myanmar clothes most are long skirts. How to work in long skirts? One day she ask me to help her to buy Myanmar slipper. Wat is Myanmar slippers??? I told her I don’t know where to get it.

BabyLiaw

Wah…myanmar slippers?? This is Singapore leh…so daring, dare to ask things from you…

Btw, do u all find that Burmese maid can be quite rude? I am not too sure if I am asking for too much…but she has been working for me for 8mths and lately, when I talk to her, she’ll not "response"…meaning no acknowledgement whether she heard me or whether she get my message…I am starting to find this very irritating!! Worse still, sometimes, she just walk away!!! This is maddening!!!

• bigsnoopyB Offline
                bigsnoopy

BabyLiaw:
                Wah..myanmar slippers?? This is Singapore leh..so daring, dare to ask things from you..

Btw, do u all find that Burmese maid can be quite rude? I am not too sure if I am asking for too much..but she has been working for me for 8mths and lately, when I talk to her, she'll not \"response\"..meaning no acknowledgement whether she heard me or whether she get my message..I am starting to find this very irritating!! Worse still, sometimes, she just walk away!!! This is maddening!!!
                Yeah sometimes mine does that too. But you cannot let bygones be bygones. You must be firm with what you want the maid to do. For me, if she does not respond the first time or try to turn a deaf ear, I will stand in front of her and repeat my questions and make her say yes mdm for like 15 times and i also make her say sorry mdm for not answering. Bad manner is something I will not tolerate at home because kids are living by examples.

BabyLiaw

BabyLiaw:

Wah..myanmar slippers?? This is Singapore leh..so daring, dare to ask things from you..

Btw, do u all find that Burmese maid can be quite rude? I am not too sure if I am asking for too much..but she has been working for me for 8mths and lately, when I talk to her, she'll not \"response\"..meaning no acknowledgement whether she heard me or whether she get my message..I am starting to find this very irritating!! Worse still, sometimes, she just walk away!!! This is maddening!!!

Yeah sometimes mine does that too. But you cannot let bygones be bygones. You must be firm with what you want the maid to do. For me, if she does not respond the first time or try to turn a deaf ear, I will stand in front of her and repeat my questions and make her say yes mdm for like 15 times and i also make her say sorry mdm for not answering. Bad manner is something I will not tolerate at home because kids are living by examples.

Oh my, u made her repeat for 15times?? Is she ok with that?? Will that hurt her pride?? I agree with you that kids are living by examples and I have been discussing with my hubby if we should change maid..but looking at her good sides..she's quite a good worker..just don't know why, lately..I alot of undesirable patterns..buay tahan!!

• bigsnoopyB Offline
                    bigsnoopy

BabyLiaw:

[quote=\"BabyLiaw\"]Wah..myanmar slippers?? This is Singapore leh..so daring, dare to ask things from you..

Oh my, u made her repeat for 15times?? Is she ok with that?? Will that hurt her pride?? I agree with you that kids are living by examples and I have been discussing with my hubby if we should change maid..but looking at her good sides..she's quite a good worker..just don't know why, lately..I alot of undesirable patterns..buay tahan!![/quote]How to hurt her pride? I did not scold her. This extreme case of repeating 15 times is only in the begining when she first came. I do not want to be talking to the air. Now she alway answer me when I talk to her only sometimes when she forgot, I made her repeat a few time to refresh her memory. Otherwise she will be in dreamland. Must ask her to wake up! 😄

moonee

From experience most that I encounter are rude, most come frm the village, what to expect frm mynmars that dont even have a proper education system? most dont even have 8 to 10 yrs education but fraud their way here. Some may look good initially but after working a month or less with them, u can tell the difference frm their mannerisms and attitude.

My last 2 maids claim that they had more then 10 yrs education but judging frm their behaviour, no way. Turned out that one carry tomatos everyday and the other hardly held a job for a month. My current maid can only count up to 10.
                      Sometimes the schools will close for a few months whn theres a protest and not all will get back to school after that. Parents busy on the farm and no time for their kids.
                      The so called training centre trains english and thats about all that their taught. Its the spore agent that give them some briefing on manners, not all of them can keep up with what they have been taught.
                      Errr. … Ive nvr heard 3 of my mynmars wish goodmorning, goodnite or say sorry not even a thank you.
                      Mine does turn a deaf ear to wat i say so I normally call out her name firmly b4 i proceed with my instructions. Well, that seem to work.
                      I thought MOM requires the girl to have at least 8 yrs education and be 23 yrs b4 they can come in.

jtoh

BabyLiaw:

Have you talked to her about it? They may not realize that it's rude bec it's not perceived as such in their home country. And if they know it's rude, even more so you should have a word with her. For me, I always tell myself that this is my home and why should I tolerate behavior that makes me unhappy in my own home.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 80