Maids seeking PR status in HK and wins

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    44 Posts 17 Posters 22.1k Views 1 Watching
      peapot

If the maids do get PR status here, their salary will no longer be $450 per month. It will be $10 per hour rate. plus they can apply for cashier job at NTUC, Macdonalds etc.

ICA does not even permit the filipina case who wanted to complete her study to continue even with financial sponsors…dream on for PR in SG …

• JGMumJ Offline
          JGMum

cos if they get pr status, maybe there might come a time, we or our children dont need to have them under same roof but can be daily help cos they have their own place to stay???? but do see there will definitely be more burden on our welfare benefits.

also this might mean more social problems etc. so probably not a good idea to grant them pr status.
          My previous Filipino maid asked me to apply for S-pass for her so she can quit being a maid and accept a waitressing job at a restaurant. Apparently, she went for a job interview during one of her off-days. And the boss said that if she could get a Singaporean to \"sponsor\" her for the S-pass (i.e. put up a certain amount of \"bond\" money), then he will give the job to her.
          Needless to say, I did not agree. To think that she even asked for it. :siao:
          When that failed, she tried to get a job as a child care / kindergarten teacher.

The point is, even when they are not given the chance to be PR, they are already seeking means to \"upgrade\" themselves to a better paying job (nothing wrong in that, we all do), what more if they are granted PR. I am sure a large percentage won't stay as daily rated maids, but will compete with us for jobs. And what about our own Aunties and Uncles who now work in McDonalds, NTUC as cashiers, etc., who already have difficulty finding re-employment due to their age? And in the future, their children will compete with ours for school places, etc.

Competition, to a certain extent is good. But we need to look at our resources, can we accept them as PRs? After all, Singapore is a really really small place, and housing and transport already come under great strain due to the recent increase in population. In addition, I wouldn't consider most maids to be of \"foreign talent\" calibre (of course, there may be a minority). If they are, they should already have been able to get PR status based on their own merit, and not try to seek a \"back door\" in.

jtoh

My previous maid went home saying her mother died... and I heard after few months she came back on S pass....

Good for her then. She's upgraded.

My previous maid went home saying her mother died... and I heard after few months she came back on S pass....

Good for her then. She's upgraded.

and LKVM got downgraded

peapot

Why she got downgraded leh?

peapot

I wonder why they s’pore so much?

peapot:
                    Why she got downgraded leh?

balik train new maid one more time

TAccs

First of all, I do not pro-maid and I am strict but fair on my helpers when we used to engage one.

As an individual, we are constantly in attempts to "upgrade" ourselves. Maids seeking new employers during employment is just like any one of us looking around to get better job, better pay. The only thing I dislike is how some of them handled the situation, thus often resulted in a sour relationship to lead to departure.

Humans are humans…

TAccs:
                        First of all, I do not pro-maid and I am strict but fair on my helpers when we used to engage one.

As an individual, we are constantly in attempts to \"upgrade\" ourselves. Maids seeking new employers during employment is just like any one of us looking around to get better job, better pay. The only thing I dislike is how some of them handled the situation, thus often resulted in a sour relationship to lead to departure.

Humans are humans.....
                        I agree that they should get market pay....and every contract renewal is accompanied with pay increases

the problem is these mad maids cooked up excuses to ask for transfer, just to seek that $10 more per month, sometimes

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 5