Travel: USA - Florida/Orlando

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    423 Posts 47 Posters 216.7k Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

But can you charge your iPad on board? What if battery runs out?

can charge, and apple re-sellers also sells power pack....'kensington' brand

So not so bad. Oh, some UA domestic flights can get wifi too.

jtoh

Emelyn:

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: what service are you expecting from the flight attendants huh ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: large screen movie in front lor ..... very last century type....but safety wise is okay, you save on ticket price and buy a few iPad2 for the kids to play onboard and watch your own movie....and get to keep the iPad some more...

heee.... I scared they roll their eyes when I ask for water......
        Ya. My kids will love to have the iPad2 instead.....

Do you think SIA will run promotion for flights to NY anytime soon ? 🙏 🙏

Is it cheaper to buy air tickets during NATAS ?

hmm... i sound v ignorant hor.... and innocent.... and clueless :?:

They probably give out bottled water so you can keep a bottle on you at all times.

Honey

Emelyn:
          Is it possible to fly to Washington, stay few nights there for museums, white house, lincoln memorial, then fly to Orlando for theme parks ?

Anyone with experience with such a route to share ?
          You click on to Multi-City when booking your air-tickets then key in the cities you are flying to. We did a SIN-ORLANDO-SF. We clicked on to Multi-City for NorthWest Airlines in 09 & a list of timings including transit times were shown.

• E Offline
            Emelyn

Honey:
            Emelyn:

Is it possible to fly to Washington, stay few nights there for museums, white house, lincoln memorial, then fly to Orlando for theme parks ?

You click on to Multi-City when booking your air-tickets then key in the cities you are flying to. We did a SIN-ORLANDO-SF. We clicked on to Multi-City for NorthWest Airlines in 09 & a list of timings including transit times were shown.

Hi Honey,

Thanks for the advice..

Just did a comparison for United Airlines for 2 adults 3 kids
            This is to share with everyone.
            (a) SIN -> Washington -> Orlando -> SIN ==> S$14, 426.50 :moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies:
            (b) SIN -> Washington -> SIN ==> S$10,933.20
            Then Jetblue for Washington -> Orlando -> Washington
            ==> USD947....which is approx S$1,183.75
            So, total S$12,116.95 :moneyflies: :moneyflies:

I will try out the NorthWest tomorrow....
            Plus the vk2010's suggestion to fly into London then take Virgin Atlantic to US....

Will share again.....

Honey

Emelyn, you can’t find NorthWest doesn’t exist anymore as it has been bought over by Delta. So you search for Delta Airlines. We were happy with the service & food.

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

Emelyn:

Emelyn,
                I did exactly this some years back. A multicity trip booking will do the trick. If your dates are very set and firm, you can try AMEX travel --> <https://axptravel.americanexpress.com/consumertravel/travel.do?a=book-flights>. The tickets can be very good value, but are frequently instant purchase, i.e. non-refundable. Here is an interesting flight that gets you into JFK.

Sat, Jul 30:\tDepart 02:25AM
                Arrive 03:00PM
                Singapore Changi Airport, (SIN)
                New York J F Kennedy International Airport, NY (JFK)\t
                1 Stop
                Qatar Airways - Flight 639 / 83
                Fri, Aug 19:\tDepart 11:50PM
                Arrive 03:05PM
                Arrive Sun, Aug 21\t New York J F Kennedy International Airport, NY (JFK)
                Singapore Changi Airport, (SIN)\t
                1 Stop
                Qatar Airways - Flight 84 / 638

I like Qatar by the way, planes are new and comfy. IFE is pretty good and so is food.

If you wish to take SQ, the ports of entry are SFO, LAX, EWR, JFK and Houston. UA can take you into Chicago. Chicago can be a bit of a zoo, and I really hate LAX with a vengeance.

Yes, long haul travel x many people is ex, but you already know that!

IMO, Washington is a must see for kids, more so than Orlando.

• E Offline
                  Emelyn

3Boys,

Thanks for all your inputs !
                  Will check out Qatar…

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Emelyn:
                    3Boys,

Thanks for all your inputs !
                    Will check out Qatar...
                    Qatar is world airline of the year for 2011 --> http://www.worldairlineawards.com/
                    :rahrah: :rahrah:

But Doha is a nothing like Changi though......

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

Last thing, if you are flying into Washington DC, better to arrive at Reagan National than at Dulles if you are flying domestic. Its closer to downtown by a lot (cheaper taxi ride), and getting around terminals is not the nightmare that it is at Dulles.

rosemummy

My own experience is that, apart from Delta, it’s cheaper if you book the domestic flights separately. If you’re planning to go only to Orlando, just get the cheapest air ticket to any US city and take a domestic flight from there.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 43