I think her intention is to help her kids DSA to top secondary schools in case they turn out to be not the studious kind. Another parent I met said that he sends his DS (I think in K2 now) to Ang Peng Siong Swimming school 3 times a week as he hopes to groom him to be a national competitor, which will help in DSA later. So this :yikes: phenomenon may become the norm next time, like tuition is the norm now.JGMum:
Maybe that's why SIL sent her 2 kids for \"enrichment\" in CCA when young - she got personal trainer and coach to train her kids in table-tennis and track-and-field, so they will be selected to join in the pri school's CCA (her kids represent their school in competitions), and then prepare them for DSA to good secondary schools based on sports ability. Not cheap, $300+ per month per kid for once a week lesson. I really :salute: her.
Why need to spend the $$ to send for enrichment in CCA? Is it going to be graded as well.. :?
For me, I just \"shun qi zi ran\" lor - I have limited budget for enrichment, so cannot really afford anyway. -
JGMum:
I think her intention is to help her kids DSA to top secondary schools in case they turn out to be not the studious kind. Another parent I met said that he sends his DS (I think in K2 now) to Ang Peng Siong Swimming school 3 times a week as he hopes to groom him to be a national competitor, which will help in DSA later. So this :yikes: phenomenon may become the norm next time, like tuition is the norm now.Castle House:
[quote=\"JGMum\"]Maybe that's why SIL sent her 2 kids for \"enrichment\" in CCA when young - she got personal trainer and coach to train her kids in table-tennis and track-and-field, so they will be selected to join in the pri school's CCA (her kids represent their school in competitions), and then prepare them for DSA to good secondary schools based on sports ability. Not cheap, $300+ per month per kid for once a week lesson. I really :salute: her.
Why need to spend the $$ to send for enrichment in CCA? Is it going to be graded as well.. :?
For me, I just \"shun qi zi ran\" lor - I have limited budget for enrichment, so cannot really afford anyway.[/quote]I think it's quite common now. I registered my DD1 for violin lesson, to provide an anchor for her temperament, I was told by the administrator that she could use it to enter certain sec schools later on if her progress is good. I think it's used as selling point liao. I find this sad. -
tigger88:
M2M2,
You still online now? Thought you wanna cook pasta?
Wah liew.. u change my name again??? Tigger Jie.. u shorten my name by so much leh.. :roll:
Heehee.. finish cooking liao mah.. n was eating.. tatz y can come in n yak yak.. :evil: -
JGMum:
I think her intention is to help her kids DSA to top secondary schools in case they turn out to be not the studious kind. Another parent I met said that he sends his DS (I think in K2 now) to Ang Peng Siong Swimming school 3 times a week as he hopes to groom him to be a national competitor, which will help in DSA later. So this :yikes: phenomenon may become the norm next time, like tuition is the norm now.Castle House:
[quote=\"JGMum\"]Maybe that's why SIL sent her 2 kids for \"enrichment\" in CCA when young - she got personal trainer and coach to train her kids in table-tennis and track-and-field, so they will be selected to join in the pri school's CCA (her kids represent their school in competitions), and then prepare them for DSA to good secondary schools based on sports ability. Not cheap, $300+ per month per kid for once a week lesson. I really :salute: her.
For me, I just \"shun qi zi ran\" lor - I have limited budget for enrichment, so cannot really afford anyway.[/quote]JGMum, same here.. I also dun like to stress my kiddos.. 3 kiddos if all go enrichment classes will b triple the money.. For now.. though 2 kiddos r in swimming n maths enrichment.. is only bcoz they enjoy it after trial.. if not i also wont put them in there.. -
ok ok tonight i go see the game...kabalevsky:
[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]
Kabby,
think you should join the game, see MintyMin posting keep increasing? She's going to catch up to me soon :rotflmao:
The game starts every week day morning 930am to 3pm...
[/quote]huh? oh ok!! no wonder hard for me to join, but will go and hv a look ltr!
You eat and yak at the same time? Very powertigger88:
M2M2,
You still online now? Thought you wanna cook pasta?
Wah liew.. u change my name again??? Tigger Jie.. u shorten my name by so much leh.. :roll:
Heehee.. finish cooking liao mah.. n was eating.. tatz y can come in n yak yak.. :evil:
:welcome" yeeteng!
abt enrichment, my kids have tried a few things before, mostly those trial classes, but only have piano for now. that's for ds1 and ds2. dd nothing yet, she's only 17mth.

oh btw, most Pr schools have swim class, either P2 or P3.
basic lessons for 1 term. but it was enough for my ds1 to learn swimming.
so i find thatβs settled already, very happy. -
for those kids who are already good in swimming, the Pr schs' class divide the kids according to 3 levels.
cannot swim 1 lap of standard pool, can swim at least one lap, and those who have lifesaving skills or something
so if your kids are already good, don't worry, they won't be bored and will still learn something in the Pr sch swim program
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.