[Bedok/Katong/Marine Parade/Siglap] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    562 Posts 236 Posters 442.8k Views 1 Watching
      maisy

jerejoy:

Thanks for yr reply. I'm also looking for a school that encourage learn thru play. But I'm also worried it might compromise on the academic wise, It's really a headache choosing over all these preschools.

As I am not a christian, does Bethesda Katong Kindergarten allow non christians to enter the school? Do they teach bible in the class?
      Hehehe... Bethesda & St Hilda's and all other Christian kindergartens accept students of all races, religions...

BTW I am not Christian .... in fact I addressed this concern with the Principal... she is fine with that .. i even went to the extent of asking her if my son will be \"ostracized\" since he is not Christian.... to which she smiled, and said .. \".. a lot of our students aren't Christians\" and she said the \"biblical part of the curriculum is very little\" ...the children only spent 10 mins each day (during assembly singing christian songs..and she said not all songs are Christian... for eg Twinkle Twinkle little star and Barney's I love you, You love it... they sing it all the time) and they are taught to say grace before they eat... thats it... no preaching.. they are too young no point preaching to them... and i feel saying grace is good as they teach the young to remember to thank God (or thank people) for the food .. instead of taking it for granted.

When I was there, i saw the teacher \"playing building blocks\" with the kids, and telling them stories via the building blocks ... in the music room , i saw the students singing & running around happily with the assistant teacher... while the main teacher plays on the piano ....

BTW the principal is Ms Irene Wee - give her a tinkle - i like the fact that she cared a lot for her students (u can tell cos she is hardly in her office, always making rounds to ensure the classes are going on well) and she speaks to almost every child she walks passed, addressing them by their name... and the children will very happily greet her \"good morning Ms Wee\" ... oh btw... if u r enquiring for next year, i think they might be full already... in any case, u may check w Ms wee .. me not too sure... website is this .....
      http://www.bfec.org.sg/bkk/general-information.html

jerejoy

Thank you so much for yr info. πŸ˜ƒ I’m actually v ks. My boy is only 17 months now. Will go to the school to see the principal. Thanks again!

jerejoy:
          ...Hi ChiefKiasu,

Does yr daughter need to attend other enrichment classes? I'm looking for a gd preschool which I do not need to send him for lots of enrichment classes.
          Err... we're KiasuParents, afterall πŸ™‚ She's attending a couple of Chinese enrichment classes during the weekends.

maisy

jerejoy:

Thank you so much for yr info. πŸ˜ƒ I'm actually v ks. My boy is only 17 months now. Will go to the school to see the principal. Thanks again!
            wOw only 17mths old ...very kiasu indeed lei ...hahaha..no offence hor:)
            I guess we are all concerned over the well-being of our kids lah ...hehe

My son will be 4 next year and i only recently started scouting for nursery for him next year .. he doesn't attend any Pre-Nursery nor childcare at the moment except a once-a-week Julia Gabriel which i have recently pulled him out too hahaha...

I am not sure if my parenting style is now \"extinct\" but i really don't wish to stress my boy out too much... That said, doesn't mean i \"bo chap\" lah...just wanna let him takes things easy for now.... i think when he reaches Pri 1, there will be \"natural pressure\" from the school, peers, teachers..all over...hence i told myself 1st 3 years will be play play and absolute play for him πŸ™‚ hahahaha.....

jerejoy

haha! No worries. I hv to agree that I’m v ks. At his age, he has mastered the 26 A-Z, colors and shapes. But all are taught thru play. He is currently attending Shichida but I’m also looking for another enrichment class for him. Maybe more on speech & drama or music. Just hoping to build his foundation before he goes into P1.

It’s just so hard to choose the preschools. some are good but v expensive. Just talked to my cousin and realised that her daughter used to study in Bethesda Katong Kindergarten too. She also commented that the principal is v caring and nice.

pea

maisy:
                wOw only 17mths old ...very kiasu indeed lei ...hahaha..no offence hor:)

I guess we are all concerned over the well-being of our kids lah ...hehe

My son will be 4 next year and i only recently started scouting for nursery for him next year .. he doesn't attend any Pre-Nursery nor childcare at the moment except a once-a-week Julia Gabriel which i have recently pulled him out too hahaha...

I am not sure if my parenting style is now \"extinct\" but i really don't wish to stress my boy out too much... That said, doesn't mean i \"bo chap\" lah...just wanna let him takes things easy for now.... i think when he reaches Pri 1, there will be \"natural pressure\" from the school, peers, teachers..all over...hence i told myself 1st 3 years will be play play and absolute play for him πŸ™‚ hahahaha.....
                Hi maisy. I wish I was as kiasu as jerejoy. Now my boy is turning 3 soon and he's still on the waiting list for a few preschools. May only get a place next year, when he is N2. Your boy same age? Have you decided on any school?

Hi jerejoy. You asked me in another thread about the preschools in the east that I'm considering. I thought it's more appropriate to discuss it here. As I said, since my boy hasn't attended any school yet, I'm certainly no authority on this. But I can tell you about some schools that I have shortlisted based on recommendations and personal visits.

In the Fort Road area (near where I live), I like the feel of Schoolhouse By The Bay, Pat's Schoolhouse, Brighton Montessori, Montessori For Children, and Odyssey. But note that they have quite different approaches and I still can't decide which approach I like best.

In the Siglap area, my friend recommended Little Sparks Montessori very highly. I have not visited it as it's too far for me, but my friend, whose daughter has been there for about 2 years, really likes it.

Would like to know about your school-hunting experiences too. :celebrate:

maisy

pea:
                  Hi maisy. I wish I was as kiasu as jerejoy. Now my boy is turning 3 soon and he's still on the waiting list for a few preschools. May only get a place next year, when he is N2. Your boy same age? Have you decided on any school?

Hi jerejoy. You asked me in another thread about the preschools in the east that I'm considering. I thought it's more appropriate to discuss it here. As I said, since my boy hasn't attended any school yet, I'm certainly no authority on this. But I can tell you about some schools that I have shortlisted based on recommendations and personal visits.

In the Fort Road area (near where I live), I like the feel of Schoolhouse By The Bay, Pat's Schoolhouse, Brighton Montessori, Montessori For Children, and Odyssey. But note that they have quite different approaches and I still can't decide which approach I like best.

In the Siglap area, my friend recommended Little Sparks Montessori very highly. I have not visited it as it's too far for me, but my friend, whose daughter has been there for about 2 years, really likes it.

Would like to know about your school-hunting experiences too. :celebrate:
                  Hi Pea
                  Yes yes i think my boy and your boy same age πŸ™‚
                  He will be 4 next year ....
                  I have signed him up with Bethesda Katong Kindergarten at Siglap (near where i stay) for next year ... this kindergarten was recommended to me by a few frens staying around Siglap /Bedok area ...and i read that it was highly recommended by mummies in another forum.... so i made an appointment and when i was there, i found the uniform familiar & realised that my neighbours used to send her kids there as well hahaha... cham me quite blur ....

This year my son is just ... hmm ... \"doing nothing\" kekeke... initially he was attending once-a-week Julia Gabriel but we pulled him out due to the distance . besides, both daddy & mummy are tired ...
                  Believe it or not...end of this year my son will be 3 and he still doesn't know ABC , not to even mention A-Z hahaha... so he is rather \"backward\" compared to some of the kids mentioned here.....

my husband says it is ok he will learn somehow (from school) and don't stress him....
                  Altho i share the same thoughts, i think i will start to sit him down and teach him a little alphabets, colours.. just before he starts his nursery next year πŸ™‚ hmmm....see how lah... hehe.

jerejoy

Hi Pea,

Thanks for sharing. Here are some of my findings from my friends and cousins. Most of them are in Holy Grace and Bethesda Katong Kindergarten. They have given v good feedbacks on these schools. And their kids are progressing very well in their primary schools now. As for school house by the bay, my cousin liked the one mirror concept where she could monitor her daughter but she told me that the teachers were always changing at her time so she switched her daughter to Bethesda Katong Kindergarten after one term.

I’m trying to look for a non christian kindergarten as both my hubby & I are non christians but I’m willing to compromise if it is a gd academic school with good teachers.

pea

Hi maisy. So yours also end of the year baby. Mine also and I can see quite a big difference between him and the beginning of the year babies. At this age, 1 year can be a big gap. Maybe should start a thread on this... :idea:

I was also like that, thought don't stress him lah, so let him start school next year. But him being only child (yours too?), I think the lack of interaction with his peers is a major concern. So suaku and shy. Kids his age at the playground want to play with him but he runs away, scared of them! Talked to my paediatrician who asked me to start preschool for him asap. That's why I started looking for the past few months, but the popular schools near my place are full! Some waiting lists are 6 months to 1 year long! :faint: But some schools have place in afternoon class so bopian, may have to start with that first.

I think it's okay to teach him some basic stuff before he attends nursery. Some threads in this forum have lots of information on how to home-school your child, in fun ways without stressing the child. You can also incorporate teaching into your daily activities, eg when you're on the road with him, just point out the colours of the cars around him and there, you're teaching him about colours already!

Just wondering also how your child occupies his time since he's not at school. Who looks after him?

Hi jerejoy. Thanks for the feedback about schoolhouse by the bay. These are the honest tips that are useful as you won't get such information from the school principal! Any other feedback about the other schools that I listed? :lol:

I'm also non-christian so I understand your concerns. For your information, I studied in a convent primary school, was even taught by nuns! My class consisted of students from diverse religious backgrounds. It was okay for me. I haven't checked out Bethesda, as it's not so close to my place. But if you're keen, you should have a frank talk with the school principle and mention your concerns and see how they reply to you. πŸ˜‰

Just something to share here. I've been told by many experienced mums that despite all the homework that you do, you never really know if the school is suitable for your child until he is actually attending it. So many things may change, the teachers, even the principal, management and location! And what works for another child may not work for yours. But still, this homework is important because at least it narrows down the variables, right? And the search is part of the learning for us parents. :celebrate:

maisy

Hi Jerejoy

Yeah i agree w Pea...if u r keen but still unsure, you can give the Principal of Bethesda Katong a call, make an appointment, visit the school and ask her questions....

I'm also not a Christian, neither is my husband. Like yourself, i initially started out not wanting any kindergarten that is guided by any religious beliefs ... but soon, we decided to change our mindset hahaha.... like wat u said, if it is a good kindy with gd foundation, then perhaps worth a try ... I guess plus that fact that i managed to gather pretty good reviews and have a good feel after i visitied the premises, it kinda helped in the decision-making process πŸ™‚

Yeah Holy Grace is also another popular kindergarten... it was also in my shortlist choice of kindys hehe.... as i heard they are very strong in Chinese...but i decided not to go for it as i wasn't sure if 80% Chinese 20% English component is a bit of \"overkill\" for my son. But if u r ok with 80% chinese, then i think u should go for Holy Grace. Personally i would prefer the environment of Holy Grace over to say, St Hilda's? Again, just sharing a personal opinion πŸ™‚

Well, good thing for u is that you have plenty of time to research & decide since your child is only 17months old πŸ™‚ btw where do u stay?

Hi Pea,
                        Yes my boy is yearend baby but not in dec tho .... hehe... november child. yes his development is slow being a yearend child. very slow in fact.

Hmm sad to say he \"wilds\" away his time with his maids + grannys ...:p
                        On certain days he would spend it with my MIL and her maid, on certain day, he spends it w my mom & maid... i guess he does the most \"undesirable thing\" at home - ie Watching TV ! ! ! .. hahaha.... yes he spends a large part of his \"awake time\" watching TV but not every min lah... he watched about 30-45 mins in the morning ....another 30-45 mins in the afternoon... and another 30 mins while having his dinner ... hehehe ... as he is not yet 3, i m a firm believer in adequate sleep...hence i ensure he sleeps for 1 hour in the morning....and another 2-3 hours in the afternoon... on certain days, my mom will bring him down for morning walk....and certain days, my MIL will bring him down in the early evening to play w kids in the playground...

As for his \"learning\", he learns a bit from Barney, Hi-5 and also through the picture books i bought (my maid goes through the pictures w him at random, depending on when he wants it....altho most of the time he just have \"free play\" w the maid) hehehe .. actually i feel \"pai say\" to broadcast his \"timetable\" here.....i m sure he is clearly not doing enough compared to kids his age in today's era, but i really believe kids his age should just play, sleep & eat.... besides, by the time i come home, i m too tired to teach him anything ... so usually i just play w him, bring him to fren's house, let him play w other kids, while i chill out .... hahaha...

w.r.t. teaching him some alphabets & colours before he starts school ...hehe ..that's something i hope to do lah....but i can't guarantee i will do it...hahahaha....honestly when i have time (eg on weekends & when i m on leave) , i'd rather bring him swimming, roam parkway, bring him to playground, bring him to MacDonald's, let him play w fren's kids..... then to sit down & teach him alphabets ..... i myself find it boring...hahaha...those picture books i bought...i never really did go thru w him...it is my maid who did the honour! hahaha .. ooops... i better not say too much lest i give the wrong impression.... yeah by this november, i will try to squeeze some alphabets time ...just for him ...else he won;t be able to catch up at Bethesda .. cos i saw some of their worksheets, looked a bit tough lei .... πŸ˜›

oh btw i stay near siglap/opera estate area....

u were saying u r starting your son in the afternoon session of a kindy already ??? which kindy is that ? should be somewhere near Fort road bah... since u say u stay ard there πŸ™‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 57

MiracleLearningMLCM
                        MiracleLearningMLC