Class 95 news news news - Singlish
joconde:
On the whole, I conclude that we singporeans just dun appreciate the beauty of language. We are simply too lazy when it comes to speech and don't bother to expressing ourselves clearly.
Ermmm... i'm not included in the whole, okie!
I'm never too lazy when it comes to expressing
myself... sometimes too clearly...
I would rather opt for inter-changeability. It is highly dependent on who I am talking or writing to. Proper English with good pronounciation and enunciation when I am doing serious business meeting.
Among friends, depending again which group of friends. If they speak proper English, I use proper English. If the friends speak Singlish, I join the fun Singlish with Singapore accent. The lah, the lor, jia luck, wah lao, bo pian, auntie ahh, 1 kopi etc.
Often in unknown environment (canβt gauge my audience), Iβll be myself which usually prompted people to ask are you not local or which country are you from. So, that kind of question will make me just change my tune to suit the person I am talking to.
Make the person I talk to feel at ease talking to me mah⦠-
[quote]I have more tolerance for singlish than fake 'angmoh' accents. The latter literally give me the goose bumps. [/quote]
I am able to change my style of talking and writing easily to suit the audience. BUT I draw a line in trying to assimilate the fake angmoh accents society. They give CSC goose bumps and make me want to puke instead. :lol: -
EN:
Make the person I talk to feel at ease talking to me mah...
Yep, thats the way to go.
Since I move in very different circle of friends, I m pretty good in inter-changeability.
Accent is not a bad thing at all, cos it does gives you identity. In DH's dragon boat team, theres members from different backgrounds, although they are American/Candian, but they still may hv their Irish/West Indies/South American, etc accents. They are proud of their birth, so should we. Of course they tease each other about the quirky or oddities, but its all in good humour.
It happened once to me in San Francisco. We were down in Fishermen Wharf and while waiting for a ticket, I heard this couple speaking in Singlish. I had such a funny feeling and I went over to chat them up. It felt so good and that really made my day.
Often DH teased me about my use of Singlish with my friends. My blend of Singlish is more of a mix of English, Mandarin, Malay and some words that only we understand. Whenever I heard DH on the phone, I would be able to guess whom he was speaking to. When he talking to his siblings or friends back home he would don his West Indies accent.
:celebrate: -
i do not think our children should speak Singlish. In fact i do not like the man in yellow boots. I saw the national day parade and wonder why they get Mark Lee?
Buds i am with you β¦ !!! -
I agree with MLR & EN.
Not that my english is good, but I do change the way I speak (and write) depending on the audience. In KSP, I type normally, in other forums or online gaming, it would be like β¦ wat eh? u duno meh? dat one lor =.="
but for my 6yrs old son, I forbid him to speak singlish for now. Our education system is already stressful enough, no reason to pick up another sub-language and confused him. -
Hehee.. sub-language... i like how you put it!

Hokay, my English also not that great,
so inter-changeability is fine with me..
Like it's okay to Singlish here in KSP..
and Queens in another. Ahakz! :lol:
I don't Singlish with the kids. They
pick up A LOT in school already... :roll: -
Yep, we find ourselves trying hard to unteach him, especially when we call him and he goes Huh? or Ah? or Yah? :roll: recently its the \"I cannot\", \"Do for me\", \"don't want, don't want\" :faint:I don't Singlish with the kids. They
pick up A LOT in school already... :roll: -
MLR:
[Yep, we find ourselves trying hard to unteach him, especially when we call him and he goes Huh? or Ah? or Yah? :roll: recently its the \"I cannot\", \"Do for me\", \"don't want, don't want\" :faint:
My DD1 came back from playschool with Singlish taught to her by a German kid
who's localized, right down to his lunch preference! Now, go figure! :roll:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.