Opinions of the Primary School Registration System

2.2k Posts 485 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
    • NebbermindN Offline
      Nebbermind

actually not very ethical for the school to allow PV if their affiliation has a huge pool of members, unless that particular school have not been very popular in the past and had a trend of vacancies after 2C.

lostlostmom

i duno .. have to \"boost up\" popularity of the school 😛

kiddo

st start early and chope 1st....

Serene Ctr? Coronation Plaza? are these watering holes for SCGS, ACSP, NYPS, RGPS, MGS?? Good place to hang out??
          :scratchhead:
          :rotflmao: First get DS to hang out there get the
          gal then the alumni ...bingo ...the kid get into the school
          there but must plan
          for gal gal :evil: :rotflmao:

Can we just live and Let live for now :faint:

Atan

The new policy for Ph2C is that citizens will get 2 chances and PR 1 chance, right? So, it is fairer now compared to before…

Actually, I do agree that PR should not be in this phase at all, they should be in Ph 3. After all the taxes that we citizens have paid thru out our lives and our contribution in nation building, we do deserve a better chance than PR or should I say, Foreign Talent.

Atan:
              The new policy for Ph2C is that citizens will get 2 chances and PR 1 chance, right? So, it is fairer now compared to before....

Actually, I do agree that PR should not be in this phase at all, they should be in Ph 3. After all the taxes that we citizens have paid thru out our lives and our contribution in nation building, we do deserve a better chance than PR or should I say, Foreign Talent.
              many PRs pay more tax than citizens actually

Atan

Atan:

The new policy for Ph2C is that citizens will get 2 chances and PR 1 chance, right? So, it is fairer now compared to before....

Er.. you are a PR? Many Singaporeans, esp those with 1 child only, have paid alot of taxes (no child concession mah), similar to my husband I. So what if some PRs are paying more taxes than the general Singaporean, that do NOT give them the rights to fight for places at our public schools in Ph 2C. Singaporeans, being citizens, should receive fairer treatment than PRs that may be here for a short term only.
                Luckily, our child got in since we are staying within 1km.I have read in the forum that a parent failed at Ph 2C, after tolerating the horrible traffic at NY area for more than 30 yrs .. so sad! No wonder, PAP has lost so many votes in this yr's election.

Atan:

[quote=\"Atan\"]The new policy for Ph2C is that citizens will get 2 chances and PR 1 chance, right? So, it is fairer now compared to before....

Er.. you are a PR? Many Singaporeans, esp those with 1 child only, have paid alot of taxes (no child concession mah), similar to my husband I. So what if some PRs are paying more taxes than the general Singaporean, that do NOT give them the rights to fight for places at our public schools in Ph 2C. Singaporeans, being citizens, should receive fairer treatment than PRs that may be here for a short term only.
                  Luckily, our child got in since we are staying within 1km.I have read in the forum that a parent failed at Ph 2C, after tolerating the horrible traffic at NY area for more than 30 yrs .. so sad! No wonder, PAP has lost so many votes in this yr's election.[/quote]just merely answering your point about taxes

tolerating the traffic for more than 30 years ? then he / she has to be alumni then!

30 years ago traffic was so bad ?

but any way, within 1 km and unlucky in the ballot deserves a lot of sympathy. be on the wait list for a transfer

MumandMe

In that case, GRL should have priority in HDB queues, medical care…[/quote]

I thought GRL already has priority in choosing HDB flats?[/quote]

And healthcare right? Didn’t some minister pay just $8 for his heart-bypass surgery?[/quote]

Gosh! That’s not because he’s a minister. But becos he bought medical insurance using MediShield. You and I can buy the same using our Medishield too. Do get the facts right before posting or others might be misled.

NonKiasuDad

NonKiasuDad:

That's because the figure includes PRs. There are soooo..... many PRs living within 1 km of brand name schools in B Timah. This is going too far. I think give them 1/2 chance also not fair to us citizens.

If they really want good schools, then become citizens lah!

how do you know there are so many PRs ? and around NYPS is mostly landed housing, and many of them are already under Phase 1 due to siblings .... but for first time registration got so many ? how many are not staying there ? that is what I am trying to ask !!

Because I went to RGPS and saw lots of Indians with Indian accent and some even ask for PR reg. Also ang moh.

You ask yourself, Singaporeans where got so many children ... especially the rich Singaporeans? Rich Singaporeans usually have less or no children so the supply must come from rich foreigners who have better fertility rates in their countries, namely, India and China. Even if we Singaporeans get 2 chances, it is not good enough. Some of us will be deprived of a place and some PRs will surely get in.

MOE must look into this matter otherwise Singaporeans will be marginalised in no time. Our gahmen of course hope these PRs will become citizens but you talk to these PRs and you know that's a pipe dream.

MumandMe

smurf:
                        Wanted to say this, but I think may be 'stoned' by others.

All these priority phases should not be given to PRs. If you are really sure you want your child to study in the primary schs for six years, then you should change your citizenship.

Actually, the best is to allocate the child to the sch based on proximity. Doesn't matter if flats around the sch shoot up in prices, if you are staying in the area for many yrs, you shouldn't be worried. If you want to send your child to that sch just because you want to, then you should be prepared to fork out more.

Anyway, flats around the popular schs are already very expensive (think pei haw, Henry park, nanyang, taonan, mgs, schs) So does it matter anymore?
                        If there is no limitation to resources, all is well. Any school that any and all parents want to enrol their children into will be accepted. The tricky part is because resources are scarce while wants are unlimited. And an allocation process is needed to distribute these scarce resources among the unlimited wants.

Bottomline: What happens if the number of places in schools < number of applicants (all stay at nearby houses/flats).

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 67 / 218