Opinions of the Primary School Registration System

2.2k Posts 485 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
      keenDaddy

I know bricks will start flying when I say this...but Phase 1-2C should be reserved ONLY for Singaporeans. If PRs want to enjoy the same priority, they should convert. There must be a distinctive advantage for Singaporean parents and kids.

Supported. I think this is what a lot of Singaporeans feel as well.
      After giving more ballot chances to Singaporeans vs PR last year, the govt probably still facing a lot of pressure to make e distinction even clearer. PRs should be excluded completed - at least from Phase 2A-2C.

chatty

keenDaddy:

I know bricks will start flying when I say this...but Phase 1-2C should be reserved ONLY for Singaporeans. If PRs want to enjoy the same priority, they should convert. There must be a distinctive advantage for Singaporean parents and kids.

After giving more ballot chances to Singaporeans vs PR last year, the govt probably still facing a lot of pressure to make e distinction even clearer. PRs should be excluded completed - at least from Phase 2A-2C.

Hi Janet and Keen Daddy,

Agreed with both of you wholeheartedly.

I am proposing that maybe Chief can start an online petition, and all concerned parents can all sign for it. I will be the first to sign and very confident that loads of Singapore parents (or parents-to-be) will do our part to pave the path for our future generation as well.

No point us whining and complaining, and doing nothing. IMHO, we should make some 'noise' to make a point, for the Singapore government to act and realise that it's high time to implement the \"Singapore First' policy in P1 registration.

ngsc23

Al the best to parents in the forum for the balloting this coming Friday. Maybe i am selfish, we the Singaporeans should have a good National Day gift from our Govt.

Think we "deserved" it, for we are holding on PINK IC, separated from our loved ones for 2 years for NS, pay tax, sing our hearts out at NDP, proud to have our SINGLISH (??).

All the best.

CayennePepper

teddy75:

CayennePepper,
            I think we should also ask ourselves why some \"kiasu\" parents' \"whining\", justified or otherwise, became louder and louder especially in the last 2 to 3 years ? Why their chances for the more popular schools are dwindling by the years ? Why the authorities, until as recent as last year, had to tweak the balloting system by giving an additional chance to S'pore Citizens which some feel is still not enough done ? ... Why ? .... is there a correlation to all things happening around us that is clearly taxing our infrastructures and facilities ? WHY ?

The cutting of classes to go single session could be the other reason that is causing supply of places in certain schools to be reduced while the demand is still strong and growing thus adding even more to their woes... so we can't really say the parents concerned by coming up with ideas and suggestions on how to increase the supply side of the equation are whining...
            Hi teddy75
            Wow, you were reading KSP posts at 2.58am... :salute:
            Thanks for being so restrained; actually you want to :pokeeye: :nunchuk: me for saying people are whining... right? :evil:

Actually, I'm impressed by the parents who come up with decent suggestions on how to make the system more equitable (more in their favour?? šŸ¦† /more transparent/more efficient/less painful etc. I know they are not whining lah but genuinely concerned about improving the system to benefit as many as possible.
            It's those who keep saying,\"all animals are equal but some are more equal and I AM THAT ANIMAL who deserves the coveted spot because I am morrrrrreeee equaaaalllllll!\" who make me feel :skeptical: :skeptical: :rant:

Uh oh, now I'm calling people animals in caps! :shock: :siam:

CayennePepper

JGMum:
              CayennePepper, you made my day. :rotflmao:

JGMum, you made me very happy that you didn't :stompfeet: at my post, haha. When I was scrolling down the page to read your comment, I was thinking you could be :torchme: You see, I'm actually very peace-loving and very chicken!

CayennePepper

Sun_2010:
                PS: Can you get drunk more often and post šŸ˜†
                Shhhh... Like that huh, my dh will be very impatient waiting for me to finish typing leh... So hard to type when floating high... šŸ˜‰

chatty:
                  keenDaddy:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]I know bricks will start flying when I say this...but Phase 1-2C should be reserved ONLY for Singaporeans. If PRs want to enjoy the same priority, they should convert. There must be a distinctive advantage for Singaporean parents and kids.

No point us whining and complaining, and doing nothing. IMHO, we should make some 'noise' to make a point, for the Singapore government to act and realise that it's high time to implement the \"Singapore First' policy in P1 registration.[/quote]Singapore schools should give Singaporean kids the priority to register...no point bringing up the prices to differentiate between PRs & Singaporeans, and forgetting the impt issue of P1 REGISTRATION. Once PRs get their kids into our schools, the younger ones will enjoy guaranteed Phase 1.
                  If PRs want to enjoy similar priority, kindly convert.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Singapore schools should give Singaporean kids the priority to register...no point bringing up the prices to differentiate between PRs & Singaporeans, and forgetting the impt issue of P1 REGISTRATION. Once PRs get their kids into our schools, the younger ones will enjoy guaranteed Phase 1.
                    The irony of this policy will be that soon, the top popular primary schools will become Singaporean only, and the lesser neighbourhood schools will take in top performers from overseas and provide all their students with an international experience. Soon they will trounce the 'premiere' schools in PSLE, like that girl from Qifa a couple of years ago.

This issue is that many of us wish for an international exposure at P-school, but at somebody else's expense.

kidznme

Singapore schools should give Singaporean kids the priority to register...no point bringing up the prices to differentiate between PRs & Singaporeans, and forgetting the impt issue of P1 REGISTRATION. Once PRs get their kids into our schools, the younger ones will enjoy guaranteed Phase 1.

Absolutely, totally, completely agreed with all of you here. :goodpost: Even my hubby who's a man of few words finally opened up and remarked that further distinction must be made between SGs and PRs...totally exclude the latter from Phase 1 to 2C. šŸ˜‚

mummyo

The irony of this policy will be that soon, the top popular primary schools will become Singaporean only, and the lesser neighbourhood schools will take in top performers from overseas and provide all their students with an international experience. Soon they will trounce the 'premiere' schools in PSLE, like that girl from Qifa a couple of years ago.

This issue is that many of us wish for an international exposure at P-school, but at somebody else's expense.

:goodpost: :goodpost:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 92 / 218

cheeseflakesC
                        cheeseflakes