All About Church/Clan/Society Membership
littleterror:
Hi Littleterror,larkspur:
little terror,assuming you got the application signed and submitted this year, the general meeting at huay kuan to approve application is in Aug,if approved, your membership will be in effect from Feb 2012. Feb 2012 to Jun 2014, your membership is only 2 years 4 months. Frankly speaking 2 years plus may or may not have the letter and seeing this year application, 2 years plus are not given the letter. It is worst if you submit your application after August this year, your membership will be less than 2 years
Hi larkspur,
thanks for the explanation. in that case i better pray that my boy get balloted in!
I hope you don't mind me saying this,
I have heard so many info at different times, some says membership tenure count from the date that you submit the application form while some says it only count from the date of approval.
Also, some says that 2 yrs of membership isn't sufficient enough for you to get the recommendation letter while some says that 2 yrs is good enough for some certain school.
I do not know about which school that you are eyeing on, but if you feel comfortable for spending 500+ for membership, why don't you just give it a try for this path?
you never know what's going to happen in the future right? -
new adventure:
Hi Littleterror,littleterror:
[quote=\"larkspur\"]little terror,assuming you got the application signed and submitted this year, the general meeting at huay kuan to approve application is in Aug,if approved, your membership will be in effect from Feb 2012. Feb 2012 to Jun 2014, your membership is only 2 years 4 months. Frankly speaking 2 years plus may or may not have the letter and seeing this year application, 2 years plus are not given the letter. It is worst if you submit your application after August this year, your membership will be less than 2 years
Hi larkspur,
thanks for the explanation. in that case i better pray that my boy get balloted in!
I hope you don't mind me saying this,
I have heard so many info at different times, some says membership tenure count from the date that you submit the application form while some says it only count from the date of approval.
Also, some says that 2 yrs of membership isn't sufficient enough for you to get the recommendation letter while some says that 2 yrs is good enough for some certain school.
I do not know about which school that you are eyeing on, but if you feel comfortable for spending 500+ for membership, why don't you just give it a try for this path?
you never know what's going to happen in the future right?[/quote]Hi newadvanture,
I sort of agree with wat u said, no harm right... Actually having gone thru the stress of P2C, I'm starting to plan for my DD. Hoping for DS to get balloted in for Rosyth :xedfingers: , but will shift to the borders of Punggol in 2.5yrs' time. If he gets balloted in, I'll leave him in Rosyth. If not, will put DS in Horizon Pri (only sch with vacancies). Then join SHHK & hope for P2B @NCPS while DH will apply for PV @MTS to secure P2B too. Will be within 1km to MTS & 1-2km to NCPS.
If all these fail, then it is fated that both my kids will go to neighborhood schs coz DH's Pri is too far away.
littleterror, just want to let you know that your membership will be confirmed upon the membership letter issued to you and they will state the date of your membership. This letter is important as you need to produce this letter when you apply for the registration.Anyway, you can go ahead and try if you want but just be prepared to do PV for other schools. There are 2 condomiums coming up in 3 years time so i am not sure if you will even have a chance at phrase 2b cos many of us living nearby the schools are waiting to see if there will be balloting <1km at phrase 2b. Not to mentioned there will be new flats very Near to the schools. Talk about all the wind that will be blocked by all these flats and condomium. I am glad in 3 years time, my second one is at phrase 1 so i dun have to worry about balloting. my fren who is registering her child in Nan chiau next year whose membership for huay kuan by next jun will be 2 years plus. The staff at the huay kuan told her that she will have no chance at all. Ended up she quickly check with the school for PV, in case she did not get the letter next year, she can depend on the PV.But you better have a backup and do pv at other schools too so as not to be caught off guard.
Last year was great as if your membership only 1 year plus , still have the letter to register phrase 2b but this year very different and every year it is getting worse and this year registration, i was worried sick that i will need to ballot at <1km at phrase 2b. Luckily the total registered for <km is 67 people out of the 68 places. a close shave! -
Hi, just to share with you what iβve experienced. I have join SHHK for 2 years and did voluntary work @ SHHK (which many ppl said that helps to get the recommendation letter). Unfortunately, i didnβt not get my recommendation letter for NCPS. Iβm staying within 1-2km of NCPS. But there are members i know from SHHK who told me they have friends who also join 2 years only and didnβt do any voluntary work, got the letter for 2010 registration. The only thing i observe is that the Chairman for SHHK change last year. I suspect internally, theyβve done some changes and now they are very strict about issuing the letter. I would suggest to go via the PV channel which is more gurantee.
larkspur:
Hi larkspur,littleterror, just want to let you know that your membership will be confirmed upon the membership letter issued to you and they will state the date of your membership. This letter is important as you need to produce this letter when you apply for the registration.Anyway, you can go ahead and try if you want but just be prepared to do PV for other schools. There are 2 condomiums coming up in 3 years time so i am not sure if you will even have a chance at phrase 2b cos many of us living nearby the schools are waiting to see if there will be balloting <1km at phrase 2b. Not to mentioned there will be new flats very Near to the schools. Talk about all the wind that will be blocked by all these flats and condomium. I am glad in 3 years time, my second one is at phrase 1 so i dun have to worry about balloting. my fren who is registering her child in Nan chiau next year whose membership for huay kuan by next jun will be 2 years plus. The staff at the huay kuan told her that she will have no chance at all. Ended up she quickly check with the school for PV, in case she did not get the letter next year, she can depend on the PV.But you better have a backup and do pv at other schools too so as not to be caught off guard.
Last year was great as if your membership only 1 year plus , still have the letter to register phrase 2b but this year very different and every year it is getting worse and this year registration, i was worried sick that i will need to ballot at <1km at phrase 2b. Luckily the total registered for <km is 67 people out of the 68 places. a close shave!
thanks for you advice.
yeah, i hv a few backups already. actually i was rather pissed off by dh, he's a catholic but din wan to get the church endorsement for P2B @catholic schs.
rather stressed out by the balloting that will be carried out this friday.
i will decide everything after this friday's balloting.
lih_rabbit:
Hi, just to share with you what i've experienced. I have join SHHK for 2 years and did voluntary work @ SHHK (which many ppl said that helps to get the recommendation letter). Unfortunately, i didn't not get my recommendation letter for NCPS. I'm staying within 1-2km of NCPS. But there are members i know from SHHK who told me they have friends who also join 2 years only and didn't do any voluntary work, got the letter for 2010 registration. The only thing i observe is that the Chairman for SHHK change last year. I suspect internally, they've done some changes and now they are very strict about issuing the letter. I would suggest to go via the PV channel which is more gurantee.
hi lih_rabbit,
im sorry to hear that, then which sch did u enrol eventually? im in a mess now, will be moving in 2013 when the hse is ready. then the sch thingy also driving me nuts... :scared: my friend also got hers leh... 1.5yrs of membership without volunteer work done. PV i guess u need to ballot too leh... as with Rosyth, less than PV will be taken for next yr but a total of 211 applied! :yikes: -
littleterror:
My Plan A which is NCPS is out since i didn't get the recommendation letter for Phase 2B. At lease PV still has chance to get into the balloting stage. Without SHHK recommendation letter, no chance to get into Phase 2B at all. I was within 1km of CHIJ OLN, so i put that as Plan B, for Phase 2C. This year is very competitive. Even CHIJ OLN also need to ballot for 1-2km. From Kiasu history, usually, this school only ballot for 2km and above. So, you got to have a few plan in place and look at the chances. I heard this year there is 500 lesser vacancy due to some school changing to single session. On top of that, we have FT coming in and the birth rate is higher compare to the previous year. Yes, birth rate also play a part. If more baby for that year, lesser vacancy mean more competition.lih_rabbit:
Hi, just to share with you what i've experienced. I have join SHHK for 2 years and did voluntary work @ SHHK (which many ppl said that helps to get the recommendation letter). Unfortunately, i didn't not get my recommendation letter for NCPS. I'm staying within 1-2km of NCPS. But there are members i know from SHHK who told me they have friends who also join 2 years only and didn't do any voluntary work, got the letter for 2010 registration. The only thing i observe is that the Chairman for SHHK change last year. I suspect internally, they've done some changes and now they are very strict about issuing the letter. I would suggest to go via the PV channel which is more gurantee.
hi lih_rabbit,
im sorry to hear that, then which sch did u enrol eventually? im in a mess now, will be moving in 2013 when the hse is ready. then the sch thingy also driving me nuts... :scared: my friend also got hers leh... 1.5yrs of membership without volunteer work done. PV i guess u need to ballot too leh... as with Rosyth, less than PV will be taken for next yr but a total of 211 applied! :yikes: -
littleterror:
Hmm... I don't believe you need a letter from the church for Catholic schools. Most of them require just the baptism certificate, either of the child or one of the parents. But best to check as it might differ from school to school.Hi larkspur,
thanks for you advice.
yeah, i hv a few backups already. actually i was rather pissed off by dh, he's a catholic but din wan to get the church endorsement for P2B @catholic schs.
i will decide everything after this friday's balloting. -
Hi all,
I urgently need 1 more sponsor name and signature to apply for SHHK member any kind soul could extend helping hand? PM me if you could help ok? desperate father
Cheers -
citygirl:
Hi all, according to my fren who is a catholic... My hb was an d boy of the catholic schs therefore my boy shld be eligible for P2A.
Hmm... I don't believe you need a letter from the church for Catholic schools. Most of them require just the baptism certificate, either of the child or one of the parents. But best to check as it might differ from school to school.littleterror:
Hi larkspur,
thanks for you advice.
i will decide everything after this friday's balloting.
Is tat true? If it is... I'm gonna faint.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.