Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
Hi Ririan,
My situation is the same as u… I am just staying in front of Rosyth… Just across a small road, but I don even dare to think of applying there… My alternative choices are hougang n xinmin pri which is within 1km but all still need ballot…really damn sian… -
Galleria,
I perfectly understand how u feel
.... I really can't imagine my kids going to a school so far away when there is one school just a road away from my place ... I will pray for u galleria. And let's meet up for coffee at Hougang mall after the whole P1 registration madness is over -
Yup, agree. Be careful what you wish for, you might just get it.
No.. I meant, the neighborhood schools populated with foreign students and trounce the premiere schools sounds good..Kissgurami:
sounds good? might as call for closed door policy :siam:
it is like inculcating an incorrect mentality to the next generation... what happens to secondary schools then...? 2 phases -> Singaporeans submit their 1st,2nd 3rd choice followed by PRs/foreigners?
Then all the schools will have similar ranking.. isn't it a good thing? parent no need to be so stressed which \"branded\" school to choose, just go for the nearest school. -
I got a pri sch tat is walking distant and just across the road but it was closed down... Who do I complain to :?

puff:
I got a pri sch tat is walking distant and just across the road but it was closed down... Who do I complain to :?

I've NO schools within 1km and I live in a HDB, not an expensive private bungalow...
Then who do I complain to???
mummyo:
puff:

I've NO schools within 1km and I live in a HDB, not an expensive private bungalow...
:evil: your hubby ???? :laugh: :siam: :siam: :siam:
mummyo:
[quote=\"puff\"]I got a pri sch tat is walking distant and just across the road but it was closed down... Who do I complain to :?

:evil: your hubby ???? :laugh: :siam: :siam: :siam:[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :laugh:
Just take a look at our national primary school registration system:
Total no of primary schools : 180
Total no of schools requiring balloting : 83 i.e. almost 50% of our national schools need to ballot to get in. We are not talking about kiasu parents clamouring for a few top popular schools anymore.
Out of those 83 schools, 62 require balloting within 1km i.e. almost 75%.
And we are talking of a declining birthrate over the years. Balloting has become common place in our public education system. But education is not a hello kitty toy that we may desire but can do without. When policy makers make its citizens wrestle for a basic need, a public good, it is catastrophic IMO. -
1amber:
:? I am struggling to understand
And we are talking of a declining birthrate over the years. This is a policy mistake at a national level. -
in that case all children are equals
it is not about the parents, but the children.Khordan:
Just curious...
These are two real-life scenarios.
1) A is a Malaysian citizen with Singapore PR. He has studied in Singapore since primary school (he was an ASEAN scholar) all the way to NUS. Since graduation, he has worked in Singapore and has since married a Singapore citizen. His kids were born before the law was changed so his children are Malaysian citizens and Singapore PRs. He does not wish to change his citizenship as he is proud to be a Malaysian but calls Singapore home as this is where his family is.
2) B is a Singapore citizen. After NS, he went to US for his University degree and has worked in the US since. He married an American citizen but never renounced his Singapore citizenship (not because of any loyalty to Singapore, just that there as no reason to convert). His children are thus entitled to Singapore citizenship. He is considering sending his kids to Singapore to study because he thinks the US system is crap. He has family here who can help to take care of them.
So, are we saying that B is more worthy of a place in a Singapore school compared to A, even if B has contributed NOTHING to Singapore (even through taxes) while A has been contributing to Singapore for his entire adult life?
okay, bricks start flying at me
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.