[Choa Chu Kang] Primary Schools

1.7k Posts 166 Posters 625.8k Views 1 Watching
      Paulyn

Hi Jas007

To clarify, Regent Grove is within 1km to De La Salle. I checked as I stay there and was aiming for De La Salle.

I got in thru PV this yr. Asked in Nov 10 and finally got confirmation in Mar 11.

Jas007

Paulyn:
        Hi Jas007

To clarify, Regent Grove is within 1km to De La Salle. I checked as I stay there and was aiming for De La Salle.

I got in thru PV this yr. Asked in Nov 10 and finally got confirmation in Mar 11.
        i mean those HDB flats a few blocks behind the ones across the street from Regent Grove ....
        i checked onemap then to see where the competiton for DLS might be from ...

hmmm ... did you write in to DLS back in Nov ?
        we were told to write in if interested ... but didn't think much of it then cos everyone we spoke to said DLS doesn't take in PV then

just curious, what kinda PV assignments were you given ?

and gratz to you for your successful entry into DLS

dun forget about the Orientation though LOL

nss

anyone opting for Teck Whye Primary in phase2c supp?

appreciate any sharing on this school.
          thank you.
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapores-top-primary-schools#comment-9390

Meowie:
          nss:

My boy got in Unity, as well as all his friends :rahrah:
          His name was called twice, but I was šŸ˜“ before his ballot slip was picked.

To all those who were unsuccessful, wish all the best. I believe all children deserve education regardless who they are....

See you on 29th Oct!

Congrats to u, but I will most probably send hb on the orientation day.
          nss:

My boy got in Unity, as well as all his friends :rahrah:
          His name was called twice, but I was šŸ˜“ before his ballot slip was picked.

To all those who were unsuccessful, wish all the best. I believe all children deserve education regardless who they are....

:congrats: can enjoy the weekend.. šŸ˜„

Thank You šŸ˜„

Michecplow

Jas007:
            balloting is not fun ...

DLS ... 89 ... i counted 30 PRs
            my slip wasn't picked until 63 others ... by which time there were a lot of PRs already chosen in
            there were 1 or 2 disappointed SG amongst the 7 \"unlucky\" ones ...
            can't help but feel for them ...

no offence to PRs ...
            but i still think 2 to 1 ballot slip isn't fair ...

all for now ... very relieved
            congratulation , i still remembered that during my DS time , ( he is now P4 ) , we went thru the ballot too , 150 pupils for 60 vacancies ,,,

Paulyn

Jas007:
              Paulyn:

Hi Jas007

i mean those HDB flats a few blocks behind the ones across the street from Regent Grove ....

we were told to write in if interested ... but didn't think much of it then cos everyone we spoke to said DLS doesn't take in PV then

Yah, I wrote and called in. Many times as they were still finalising. I guess I kept asking month after month so when they finalise, I got updated. The vice principal was very nice and explained to me why the waiting was so long.

I did timetable cards, helped at sports event etc....Seems to be a very disciplined school and I like it. As for results, I think its up to the individual kid as hving some top performing kids do not mean the sch is gd. I think discipline and values more impt.

Yah, orientation. See u there.

nss

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapores-top-primary-schools#comment-9390

durianbei

Hi Jas007, thanks for your valuable replies! Hee... actually my son is not registering next yr, just that some of my frens are already registering with sch & they are already accepting PV!!

Jas007:
                  and also bcos mission schools ... supposedly less likelihood of my boy getting bullied in P1 LOL
                  yeah, have heard of such incidences ... i suppose more proned if one's child is from a church kindergarten
                  Can share why is it more proned for kids to be subjected to bullying if in church kindy?

Jas007

Paulyn:
                    Jas007:

[quote=\"Paulyn\"]Hi Jas007

Yah, I wrote and called in. Many times as they were still finalising. I guess I kept asking month after month so when they finalise, I got updated. The vice principal was very nice and explained to me why the waiting was so long.

I did timetable cards, helped at sports event etc....Seems to be a very disciplined school and I like it. As for results, I think its up to the individual kid as hving some top performing kids do not mean the sch is gd. I think discipline and values more impt.

Yah, orientation. See u there.[/quote]thanks for the little info shared reg school's discipline
                    was pretty impressed with the way they went about the P2C today ...
                    although a tad slow in the beginning, they were methodical and very careful with the procedures
                    i dunno how other schools run their system ... each and every individual ballot slip was shown on the projector screen, and then carefully folded and dropped into the goldfish bowl

were there many PVs accepted ...
                    cos today they mentioned the PVs they have could be counted on one hand LOL
                    if so, u must be one of the lucky ones šŸ™‚

ya, see you on orientation day ... along with the rest of the 268 children

Jas007

durianbei:
                      Hi Jas007, thanks for your valuable replies! Hee... actually my son is not registering next yr, just that some of my frens are already registering with sch & they are already accepting PV!!

Jas007:

and also bcos mission schools ... supposedly less likelihood of my boy getting bullied in P1 LOL
                      yeah, have heard of such incidences ... i suppose more proned if one's child is from a church kindergarten

Can share why is it more proned for kids to be subjected to bullying if in church kindy?

not directly saying if from church kindy means u gonna kenna bullied ...
                      or it's not like there's a target on your back LOL

what i'm equating to is perhaps church kindy kids could be :
                      1) more goody two shoes and naive (esp if single child)
                      2) less \"street-smart\" as compared to their PAP peers
                      3) less exposed to the playfulness or naughtiness of some kids their age

i think you get my drift ...

Jas007

Michecplow:
                        Jas007:

balloting is not fun ...

DLS ... 89 ... i counted 30 PRs
                        my slip wasn't picked until 63 others ... by which time there were a lot of PRs already chosen in
                        there were 1 or 2 disappointed SG amongst the 7 \"unlucky\" ones ...
                        can't help but feel for them ...

no offence to PRs ...
                        but i still think 2 to 1 ballot slip isn't fair ...

all for now ... very relieved

congratulation , i still remembered that during my DS time , ( he is now P4 ) , we went thru the ballot too , 150 pupils for 60 vacancies ,,,

Thanks šŸ™‚

must have been nerve wrecking for you back then also ...
                        was your DS picked early or left till late ?
                        and yes, i understand there were no extra ballot slips then ... level playing field
                        but i think PR situation then and now are very different
                        what's more, 11 years ago ... Yew Tee was still pretty much a new town (3-5 years old ... i moved to Yew Tee in '97)
                        new town usually means young families, young kids, babies

DLS was THE school then ... Yew Tee was just starting up (year 2000), Unity (1999), Kranji (1997)
                        i suppose it's like the situation at South View
                        if you're from that area, the logical thing to do is to take a gamble on SV
                        failing which, there are other \"lesser\" schools (parents' perceptions) that you can send your child to ...
                        but nevertheless, the balloting process then and now is not much different ...
                        equally nail-bitingly difficult for whoever it is going thru one esp when you know you're really up against it as the number of vacancies starts to shrink ... leading to the inevitable outcome of someone leaving utterly disappointed

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 149 / 170