Hi andaiz
Maids accessing facebook! Thinks it’s pretty common already ESP with the expat maids, also saw one with 3G phone accessing facebook recently.
Even if u ask your maid to put the phone at a special place outside, she can still use it when u are not around. I have already closed two eyes to it. I also ask her to put outside and I know she has been using when I am not around…all need to talk one, if they don’t talk, they cannot take it. -
Can’t believe it is coming to one-year already since I got my 2nd maid in-charge of looking after my father! She is a young Indo. maid just came out to work and first time in SG.
She came last Sept. to take care of my father who just came out of hospital with diabetic problems. Since then, she has learned how to manage diabetes by performing injections, measuring the hypo-count, recording the results etc…etc… Quite a few diabetes nurses have praised her already for her understanding of how to perform the injections and how to manage diabetes!
Recently, my father requires tube-feeding through the nose to the stomach and I could not believe the nurses trained the maid and she could do it! This involves taking the stetescope to listen to the stomach and then do the tube-feeding. She also attended a 3-hr care-givers course at the hospital on how to take care of an ill person. She also had to measure blood pressure besides the usual temperature! Very bagus all BUT:
Bad point is she is prone to give herself off-time whenever there is nobody around the house except my father! She simply left my father alone in the house and disappear for a few hours and when she came back, hey presto, she had her hair done - re-bonding! Also new clothes will appear and my mother immediately knew she had gone out shopping by herself!
You will say "HEY, KICK HER OUT IMMEDIATELY GOONDU!" Yes, I also felt like a goondu but then changing maid will mean re-training again. Furthermore, my mum and father has already gotten used to the maid although she felt mad but after weighing everything, decided to just tell her not to leave my father alone again at home when nobody is around or ELSE no more chance!
Sigh…just cannot be trusted… -
DesertWind:
sounds like my maid just being packed off
Bad point is she is prone to give herself off-time whenever there is nobody around the house except my father! She simply left my father alone in the house and disappear for a few hours and when she came back, hey presto, she had her hair done - re-bonding! Also new clothes will appear and my mother immediately knew she had gone out shopping by herself!
You will say \"HEY, KICK HER OUT IMMEDIATELY GOONDU!\" Yes, I also felt like a goondu but then changing maid will mean re-training again. Furthermore, my mum and father has already gotten used to the maid although she felt mad but after weighing everything, decided to just tell her not to leave my father alone again at home when nobody is around or ELSE no more chance!
Sigh...just cannot be trusted....
after being discovered stolen thousand$$ from us, she apologised, we forgave, agreed to renew contract, gave her home trip....and upon return -- started stealing again....it is very exhausting to have to 'defend against' an in-house thieve...decided it is better to train a new maid...even on the last day she tried to sweep so many household items in her luggage ..... really shameless ... -
Desertwind, how can your maid just leave your father (who's got medical problem) alone and went jalan jalan? That's not right! If she has nothing to do when your dad is sleeping, she can take a rest or read her book or something but not leave the house like that. I feel you shld give her a stern warning. I know it's very sian to train new maid all over again, been thru that before...but sometimes can't be helped. Your dad's welfare is more impt.

This one really jia-lat. Theft is almost un-forgivable to me. Yet you have already given her one chance. In this case should kick her out. My agency will NOT transfer a maid accused/caught stealing no matter how urgent customer need one. It is a serious offence!sounds like my maid just being packed off
after being discovered stolen thousand$$ from us, she apologised, we forgave, agreed to renew contract, gave her home trip....and upon return -- started stealing again....it is very exhausting to have to 'defend against' an in-house thieve...decided it is better to train a new maid...even on the last day she tried to sweep so many household items in her luggage ..... really shameless ... -
Angelight:
Desertwind, how can your maid just leave your father (who's got medical problem) alone and went jalan jalan? That's not right! If she has nothing to do when your dad is sleeping, she can take a rest or read her book or something but not leave the house like that. I feel you shld give her a stern warning. I know it's very sian to train new maid all over again, been thru that before...but sometimes can't be helped. Your dad's welfare is more impt.

Hi Angelight,
Yes, unbelievable right?
I have given her a stern warning already after she came back from compassionate leave (let her fly back to Indo. as her father recently passed away). We were fully prepared to change maid should she not return but she insisted she will come back and wants to continue to work for us!
My mother and I decided to give her a second chance but as my father's health is not as good as before already, this time we mean business.
Have already told her everything, from how she should be a responsible employee to having a conscience about leaving a sick old man alone at home, to having many old neighbours around who is watching her...even down to the fact that God above is also watching already!
See how liow lor! -
That is right.
Once they Clear Immigration in Spore, their Special Visit Pass (Issued upon Cancellation) will be taken by the Immigration Officer.Funx3:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]vk2010, when you send your maid back, do you just cancel the work permit online and send her to the airport? Any other procedures involved?
How do you ensure that she actually boards the plane and leaves?
I've read of cases where after clearing immigration the maid insists on speaking to her embassy, creates a scene and does not leave Singapore.
They R Not Allowed to Stay in Spore anymore (Illegal Stay).
We, as Employers R Not even Allowed into the Immigration Area, but U Can See thru the Partition Glass that they Have gone thru the custom.
To Me, that's Final. Don't think the Authorities can Hold the Employer Responsible from that Point Onwards.
I drove her to the airport
Checked her in for her flight, gave her her remaining cash after deducting airfare (pre-agreed)....gave her the special pass printed out from WP Online which spelt out the departure date and flight number and watched her clear immigration -- no turning back
and I return the WP card to MOM personally, worth the trouble[/quote]Thanks Funx3 and vk2010. -
DesertWind:
Your maid sounded like such a gem, until I read the bit about her disappearing from the house to have her hair rebonded. Rebonding takes HOURS!Can't believe it is coming to one-year already since I got my 2nd maid in-charge of looking after my father! She is a young Indo. maid just came out to work and first time in SG.
She came last Sept. to take care of my father who just came out of hospital with diabetic problems. Since then, she has learned how to manage diabetes by performing injections, measuring the hypo-count, recording the results etc...etc... Quite a few diabetes nurses have praised her already for her understanding of how to perform the injections and how to manage diabetes!
Recently, my father requires tube-feeding through the nose to the stomach and I could not believe the nurses trained the maid and she could do it! This involves taking the stetescope to listen to the stomach and then do the tube-feeding. She also attended a 3-hr care-givers course at the hospital on how to take care of an ill person. She also had to measure blood pressure besides the usual temperature! Very bagus all BUT:
You will say \"HEY, KICK HER OUT IMMEDIATELY GOONDU!\" Yes, I also felt like a goondu but then changing maid will mean re-training again. Furthermore, my mum and father has already gotten used to the maid although she felt mad but after weighing everything, decided to just tell her not to leave my father alone again at home when nobody is around or ELSE no more chance!
Sigh...just cannot be trusted.... -
Your maid sounded like such a gem, until I read the bit about her disappearing from the house to have her hair rebonded. Rebonding takes HOURS!
Hi jtoh,
I asked her why she did not ask for permission to go out just go out like that?? She said if she ask us for permission, we sure won't allow! :scared:
So she just take-off by herself! :yikes:
So intelligent of her hor?! :mad: -
DesertWind:
Too intelligent. And defiant. I guess she assumes that since she's doing such a good job looking after your dad she's indispensable.jtoh:
Your maid sounded like such a gem, until I read the bit about her disappearing from the house to have her hair rebonded. Rebonding takes HOURS!
Hi jtoh,
I asked her why she did not ask for permission to go out just go out like that?? She said if she ask us for permission, we sure won't allow! :scared:
So she just take-off by herself! :yikes:
So intelligent of her hor?! :mad:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.