Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Clubs for parents with similar age children
    31.0k Posts 153 Posters 5.2m Views 1 Watching
    • bigsnoopyB Offline
      bigsnoopy

YES...definitely miss you..

cos I am talking to a few xmm.. makes me so old..

wahahaha...
      I am not one of the xmm right?....

• bigsnoopyB Offline
        bigsnoopy

[quote=\"Castle House\"]The way.. the scenario.. is described.. makes me wonder.. is it really .. necessary... to stress our kids like that.. :roll:

Sorry.. no offence.. but I don't remember I attended any.. not even tuition... of course.. I am not a high flier... but still manageable...

I doubt I would stress them too... as long I know they are doing their best .. 😓

I also won't do that la... Not so :siao: la... I m also shock when the grandma told me they did that...

U sure u wont??? :evil: 😉[/quote] :pokeeye: :razz:

peipei73

Hw u noe i m gg in Nov?? :evil: 😉

Yupz.. both DDs love the indoor theme park.. but now DS only wan to play animal kaiser.. :skeptical: which i told him tat he might as well stay in sg..

you mention before ma.. The graduation n orientation saga... My memory very good hor...

Ur kid too... :slapshead: :stupid: DD also into animal kaiser.. Now they come up with the dinosaur one too... Me having headache looking at animals fight....

:slapshead: animal kaiser made me :moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies: lucky now my DS no more crazy abt it :evil:

• bigsnoopyB Offline
            bigsnoopy

i throw receipt liao....n not burst on the spot 🤷
            Aiya.. Wasted... Cannot throw receipt one la...

peipei73

Ya.. If enrichment is at night, then I must be super mummy lor.. The last time slot for Most enrichment start at 7.30pm... DD ends at 6.30pm.. How to rush wor? Reallly must fly... Not many place have morning enrichment leh... :slapshead:

Yup not many places have morning timings.

Even if you can fly, how is your DD going to finish dinner?

Tat's y i prefer to sch with morning session :evil: ...

MintyMin

I also won't do that la... Not so :siao: la... I m also shock when the grandma told me they did that...

U sure u wont??? :evil: 😉

:pokeeye: :razz:[/quote]means m right?? 😆 :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :siam:

peipei73

I received the yellow slip fr sch…tat’s all? Just waiting for orientation day on 17 Dec…

SAHM_TAN

Sorry to post a serious and long post on the day that I come in to say hi.

As a mummy I look at MOE website and brochure and I find that their statements are all rather PC. I agree I'm a bit cynical but I feel the system is reducing talents rather than discovering talents.

I will not be so worried if the kids are not group in below average, average, and good class in upper primary. I know some parents feel this is good becos kids are taught at the level that they are able to understand. But I beg to differ because the system does not allow a child to catch up.

I will not be so worried if there's no foundation course offered at P5. I know it's up to the parents' decision to accept the recommendation of the school to accept foundation course. But even if the parents refuse to accept their child to take up foundaton course, which class will the school place the child? Foundation science is not included in PSLE, so if a child takes up foundation science and can still go to sec. school, what are the options for the child.

I will not be so worried if the system does not allow DSA. For DSA, the application is open in P5.

I agree academic success does not equal to success in adult life. I also agree there are many routes to success and many routes to tertiary education. It's also perfectly fine to work and study at the same time.

As parents we need to understand the system, look at it and then look at our child and decide.

In current system with a class size of 30 in lower primary and 40 in upper primary, I think it's very difficult for the teacher to nurture every child, to make sure that no child is left behind.

I'm not aiming for top sec schools and I'm still worried. It's possible for a child not to have any tuition but the child must be able to keep up with the teacher, read materials outside of curriculum content, be in the top class. If a child is able to do all these 3 on his/her own, then there is no need for intervention. I'm not being ks, our system pigeon-hole our kids at a very young age. If I have to resources to leave the system, I will.

I want to live in Finland 😢 :rotflmao:

BTW, will be MIA again after today. Don't worry. I will not be offended by any reply on my post. I totally understand that parents have their own style, belief, etc.

As to non-academic enrichment, will post my thoughts on that another time. 😄

Castle House

YES...definitely miss you..

cos I am talking to a few xmm.. makes me so old..

wahahaha...

I am not one of the xmm right?....

you mentioned less than 35 ma.. so xmm lor.. :rotflmao:

Castle House

Just settled my girl…

told her if she is still not feeling well tml… then no need to go to school…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1237 / 3099