School Uniform

136 Posts 35 Posters 71.1k Views 1 Watching
      schellen

titank:
      Hi Schellen,

Yah hope the school would provide me the orientation goodie bag list so that I can get prepare for P1. This are some of the list I had in mind for preparation

(1)\tSchool Bag. Wonder can bring those with trolley wheels instead have to carry on shoulder. If on shoulder, then must have very good ergonomics type like those targus laptop bag.
      (2)\t Uniform. Hopefully can settle fast if not fight with 240 students during orientation day. Wonder the socks can buy from outside like some had said the quality of socks is not so good.
      (3)\tTextbook. Maybe can check whether to buy 1st hand or 2nd hand esp. some textbook like Social Studies is uniform in all school?
      (4)\t School Bus. Wonder can have trial a not on 1st few days of have to confirm on the orientation day. Heard they have to reach the school on 1215hr every day? Is this the same as other school?
      (1) I prefer the normal one cos of following reasons:
      a. cheaper and more variety
      b. lighter (trolley bag will weigh a bit even when empty)
      c. easier to carry on back
      d. trolley frame may prevent proper ventilation of back when carrying bag
      e. some schs ban trolley bags
      f. better check if your child can handle the trolley bag up the stairs cos no lifts in most schs (even if have lifts, they are for special cases only) --> My DD's class is on top floor (4th floor).

By the way, I remember that there was a discussion thread on school bags some time back. Maybe can use \"ergonomic school bag\" to do a search?

(2) Must check with sch first. Actually can call beforehand. Sch socks and shoes may be cheaper but quality may not be worth it.

(3) Not sure about pri sch texts. More likely for most sec sch texts to be uniform. Note: If you buy 2nd-hand, better check for any major revisions in later editions/syllabus changes.

(4) Sorry, can't help you here. Maybe you can call RMPS transport vendor and ask? Or ask at RMPS thread?

I think we have a few threads on school bags, schellen..

Found one here >http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=845&highlight=heavy+bags

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

titank:
          .... Uniform. Hopefully can settle fast if not fight with 240 students during orientation day. ....

šŸ˜ž 360 students over here ...

titank:
            This are some of the list I had in mind for preparation

(1)\tSchool Bag. Wonder can bring those with trolley wheels instead have to carry on shoulder. If on shoulder, then must have very good ergonomics type like those targus laptop bag.
            (1) My DD's school allows, as the P1 classes are at ground level. Some
            schools do not allow at all due to the noise from the wheels and also cos
            of higher leveled classrooms, which makes it inconvenient for a small
            child to lift all the way up.

titank:
            (2)\t Uniform. Hopefully can settle fast if not fight with 240 students during orientation day. Wonder the socks can buy from outside like some had said the quality of socks is not so good.

(3)\tTextbook. Maybe can check whether to buy 1st hand or 2nd hand esp. some textbook like Social Studies is uniform in all school?

(2 & 3) No fighting one lah.. not as exciting as how you may imagine it to be.
            Hehehee.. :lol: In fact for my DD's school, extremely orderly and fast. All
            the books have already been arranged in accordance to the booklist for
            all levels. They have many helpers attending to parents and there hardly
            was a queue. Decide upfront whether you would need misc stationeries
            like book covers (in rolls or pre-cut ones), colour pencils, notebook, (etc)
            And they have many different dates for the sale of books, shoes,
            uniforms, (etc)...

Yes, of course can by outside so long it's the same colour. Buuuuttt...
            that said there may be schools that have their school's name printed
            on the socks so for that reason alone, no choice but to get them in sch.

titank:
            (4)\t School Bus. Wonder can have trial a not on 1st few days of have to confirm on the orientation day. Heard they have to reach the school on 1215hr every day? Is this the same as other school?[/color]
            (4) Nope, different schools have different session timings. School bus
            trial subject to individual operator's leniency i suppose, cos my DD's
            sch bus operator didn't ask for fees at all for the first 2 weeks and i did
            see a few kiddies drop out after the first few days. This part must confirm
            with the actual driver or company.

So, I will look out for a guy pushing the NTUC trolley on orientation day. šŸ˜‰

I brought trolley too, for my P2.
              Cos in P1 realised the books were
              quite a handful to lug all the way back.

Raining some more... šŸ˜ž

But i brought my DD's trolley lah... not
              the NTUC grocery trolley kind. :lol:

titank

Wow like that guess I have to go ask RMPS whether can buy trolley bag & OEM socks. Normal white socks where can last longer than the school socks.

Yes, MUST ask. My friend assumed it was okay and

went ahead to get one nice trolley bag, in excitement
                  after getting a place in the school & to spur the excitement
                  in her child at the same time... Skali, during orientation...
                  parents were informed - NO TROLLEY BAGS ALLOWED! Wasted liao..
                  And of course not to mention she had to get another one! :roll:

at the bookshop, please take time to go through all items and recheck the amount to be paid.

that time i went back to purchase the books, even with no queue, the bookshop auntie gave me extra change and extra books.

titank

Extra change & extra textbook?Like that super gain gain yeh.Hee.hee.Tink muz bring at least $500 if going purchase all items in sch.Wonder those name tag can make at outside a nt yeh.

sysherlene

Wow... serious ah ... must prepare S$500 cash on orientation day? It's really gg to be PAP (Pay & Pay) day lor.. :shock:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 14

SGEducatorsS
                        SGEducators