CHIJ Primary (Toa Payoh)

1.6k Posts 106 Posters 643.8k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      gksmummy

coffeedrinker:
      exciting discussion, buy, buy buy.. i also excited to buy shoe, uniform, bag..SPI is the bag I'm going to get.. Dec should have promotion/discount .

prepration for P1,well i am those KS parent.. My gal has started her P1 assessment since Jan this year, but is one day do about 3 pages.. so as not to \"stress\" her
      i hope she can be more relax when she is in P1 as she needs to cope with waking up early, new friend, new place, new schooling experiences.. so hopeful she comes home no need to tuition to catch up schoolwork
      Spi bag sept and oct hv discount bcos of sept Holstein and children's day promotion. It's only 30% though do I thought I will buy now... Cofeedrinker where do u stay?

gksmummy:
        Hi all, just another kiasu qn... Where will u be buying the sch ahoes frm? I know of a colleague who bought 2 pairs of sch shoes for her girl. Is it necessary? Aldo I was thinking of buying white plain Jane shoes. Or will Velcro shoes be better?

The mummies here are really excited.
        I bought Bubblegummers white shoes Velcro type from Bata...it's very soft PVC and easy to wash...soles can also be taken out to wash. 2 pairs, in case you wash one and it's not dry in time. Buy shoes at the end of the year as there is usually 'Back to School' sale.

Kaylasmum:
          Ya I know what u mean. I work v near bras brash so of late, I hv been browsing the assessment books. So many choices. Must be a lucrative market for publishers. I hope she eases well into p1 but I also don't want to hot house her too much. I just hope that whatever prep I give her, it will be sufficient without being too overwhelming nor stifling.

What abt other mummies? What do u do to prep Ur girls?
          Don't hot house your girls...leave it to the teachers to do that.
          In the meantime, get your girls to read as much as possible. It not only helps for vocab but also Maths...bcos Maths in today's context is a play of words...it's no longer straightforward addition or subtraction.
          You can get assessment during BookFest in Dec...Suntec.

Kaylasmum

That balance is impt. Just spend from 8 am till now to learn tsien tsia ting xie. Geez I really dislike that! And so does she. But I know ij girls used to be v kan tang in past so I want to ensure she doesn’t grow up to be one. Times hv changed. Mandarin is really v impt.

Yah reading … I totally agree. The Montessori phonics help a lot. So I m not too worried abt that.
            Yeah buy buy buy… Bubble gummers I saw… So soft… These days the kids are so lucky…

Baby2luv

coffeedrinker:
              baby2luv, which block you will be stay ?

I ddon't mind meeting up for coffee and light dinner (with my hubby too)
              Coffeedrinker, I'll be staying at blk 138C. Wat abt you?

• E Offline
                Essential

gksmummy:
                Hi all, just another kiasu qn... Where will u be buying the sch ahoes frm? I know of a colleague who bought 2 pairs of sch shoes for her girl. Is it necessary? Aldo I was thinking of buying white plain Jane shoes. Or will Velcro shoes be better?

Velcro shoe it's depend on child's preference. Like my boy p5 , he dun like to tie shoe lace so he likes the Velcro type

• E Offline
                  Essential

My knowledge of TP also very "limited"。where is blk 138c

Essential:
                    gksmummy:

Velcro shoe it's depend on child's preference. Like my boy p5 , he dun like to tie shoe lace so he likes the Velcro type

When my son was in lower primary, I got those Velcro type...now that he's in upper primary, I get those with shoe laces as he will need how to tie them when he goes to army. For my daughter, the Bubblegummers brand with velcro are very comfortable.

As for Mandarin, do make sure your girls can handle phonics well b4 they start lessons on hanyu pinyin. The first 2 terms is on mainly hanyu pinyin. IJ girls of today cannot 'kan tang' anymore...the worksheets are tough for P1 standard. I just emailed the teacher to inform her that the homework was done by ME as it is simply too difficult to explain. Out of the blue (now Term 3), there are sections on 辨字测验,短文填充 and 理解问答...my daughter refused to sit through when I explained...she was simply put off with the length of the passage :frustrated:

• E Offline
                      Essential

Wow MCP need to ballot. 83 app for 53! Gd luck for those balloting

Essential:
                        My knowledge of TP also very \"limited"。where is blk 138c

I only know Blk 168 Toa Payoh Lor 1...where my daughter is dismissed after school. Other than that, I'm lost.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 82 / 165

mathtutor11M
                        mathtutor11
                        cgsunwintopmobiC
                        cgsunwintopmobi