pokemon97:
Thanks for replying. This is the first time my sil try Myamar maid, her previous one is indo but going back married after working 8 yrs. Can advise which hospital care-givers' course u send your maid to? Actually now is our indo maid train the new maid but she is going back next week. Think we will have to change another one and send her to the course cos this one keep saying difficult and can't communicate with us and do whatever she want.
Hi pokemon97,
My father was hospitalized at SGH so the nurses arranged for my maid to be trained at SGH. Apparently they have 2 such training each week, either on Thursday or Saturday for 3 hours. Will train them to clean the elderly/patient, tube feeding, measure blood sugar etc... Perhaps you can call and ask because I am not sure if it is just something for in-patient or care-giver interested can just attend. -
Lynn2010:
..Before signing her new contract, i ask her if she is expecting a certain pay. She told me. \"Ma'am, it doesnt matter how much you are going to increase, i will work for you\"...
I am going to renew my maid contract soon, think I will also ask her if she is expecting a certain pay. Just renewed her passport and the Embassy contract stapulate USD$400 plus off days, if I need to pay that amount, I think I reconsider about renewing her contract and look for other options. -
kaka:
She knows the Embassy contract is formality only. During the past 2 years working for me, i've been brain washing her with stories. These are true stories about employer ill treating their maids lah - not lying. But i re-iterate!!Lynn2010:
..Before signing her new contract, i ask her if she is expecting a certain pay. She told me. \"Ma'am, it doesnt matter how much you are going to increase, i will work for you\"...
I am going to renew my maid contract soon, think I will also ask her if she is expecting a certain pay. Just renewed her passport and the Embassy contract stapulate USD$400 plus off days, if I need to pay that amount, I think I reconsider about renewing her contract and look for other options.
Eg. Tell her about my previous maid bad experience with her prev employer - can only eat the cheapest veg/food and that her food was put together with the dog's food fridge. At our place she eats what we eat - waygu beef steak, cod, salmon (no bird's nest)
Another one. \"This maid can have 3 meals but all maggi mee. Can eat only when she completes her tasks. Maid eats till all her hair drop\".
\"Not all maid get all Sundays off\"
\"Not all maids get to rest at 8pm. Dont believe, check with your friends.\"
Blah blah blah. Hahahaha
I think also luck lah. Before her, i had 8 maids in 2 yrs -
Lynn2010:
May I know how much you are paying her after the contract renewal?
She knows the Embassy contract is formality only...
My maid has a cousin who just come to work in Sin. I asked her if she knows how much her cousin is being paid, she said $520 as the cousin's employer followed the contract. Then she quickly said she is not complaining as she is happy working. I am still uneasy ... -
$520 is a lot. How long has your maid been working for you?
Hope you all can gimme some views abt my situation..
I've a new helper who joined us for abt 1.5 mths..she's petite young lady, 23 yrs old according to biodata (definitely look younger),fair complexion consider nice looking... Data also indicated that she was maid at Jakarta for 2 yrs, mainly taking care of a 8 yr old kid and basic household chores when sir m'am at work..she was fully aware of my home situation, family with 3 kids (between 1.5 to 6 yrs), main role is housework, cooking and taking care of the youngest when I coach the elder two to study...and took up the job..
Abt half month after she arrives, on one occasion, she claimed that she dreamed of a friend dead and came looked for her..then in another occasion (at a condo showflat) she claimed that she saw a man starring at her outside the glass (outside was a patch of empty land with lots of trees) but we saw none...we complained to the agent and she was counseled and never talk nonsense since then..at this point I already deliberating whether to get her replaced coz besides the above (which is scarring the freak out of me), she cannot cook, my youngest dislike her, not even let her carry or change diaper for short while..my previous helper use to cook, and take full care of the youngest, including sleeping with him at night..now I have no time to do anything (including teaching my elder two since the youngest is literally cling on me every min).. So this maid role is really relax, every morning sweep and mop the floor, machine wash clothes, hang laudry, bathe my elder two, make breakfast, help me with lunch dinner (cutting ingredients) wash dishes, feed the elder two then can sleep...other chores will be non daily chores like change bed sheet forth nightly, etc she is literally free in the afternoon and go to bed at 9pm..for me no rest since my youngest still wake up at twice to thrice for milk..I cannot even nap during the day coz got to sieze opportunity to coach elder two to study when youngest sleep.. So tired and frustrated when I walk pass her room (she got one room herself, last time use to be my previous helper with youngest) and she sound asleep and I got to wake up for my bb ( pls dun think I am a irresponsible mom and I not selfless to sacrifice sleep for bb) I am only feeling unjust that I am behaving more like a maid than her.. What boils me is that this helper is too \"vain\".. Like for instance when we all at hawker centre eating (my youngest sitting on my lap while I eat), she is taking her time to eat gracefully, taking small bites at a time, cutting and toying with her food elegantly while I have to eat hurriedly with no 仪态 ...what boils me now is she got the cheek to ask for a handphone from me now! She claimed that she need one to listen to MP3 only, coz she need music when she is BORED! :mad: biang here I am fighting for sleep, rest even no time to sit down undisturbed to watch tv, there she is saying she is bored! My husband reluctant to change her despite all above..what piss me is he even say will give her a handphone (buy one for her first and then deduct her salary which is $20 per month for 8mths since she owe agency money!)... He said we have no right to stop her from listening to music when she finishes her work..really piss coz I know what she is planning, she got sim card so listening to music is just an excuse..plus she told me recently that her sis also coming to Singapore to work soon..I got a feel she will ask for her sis to meet her, she just testing her luck and planning her move now..Some other things that I dislike her include:
Disrespectful, got once she saw I was frightened by a cockroach, when she caught it, she purposely bring it in front of my face and smilingly said yeee m'am..my hubby defended her that she young so trying to be playful..
On one occasion she brought the elder two to toilet coz I was tied up by the youngest, when I joined them later on, to my horror my two kids were outside the cubicle playing with water outside and she inside one of the cubicle doing biz..
She very funny and kaypo, will ask about our details like full name (including my mil's, birthday,etc) dunno for what..
Vain..she keep on wanting to change clothes..once when my kid spill little Milo n her shirt when the cup dropped from his hand, nstead of cleaning my kid first all wet she asked to get change first...and every time when we wanna go out, she will request to change..it is notmas if her clothes unpresentaable or dirty..I also wear home clothes when I go down kopi Tiam or nearby...she requested for Lux body lotion (I am using it now) and branded pad dun wan kotex, want soft or Laurier!
She always carry a daze and faraway in thought kind of look, not sure if she suffering from any mental illness..
She appear friendly like to initiate talk with people even though I have told her not to talk to other people when outside..she also \"attracting\" a lot of stares from foreign worker, not confident to let her go out alone..my previous maid use to walk to my mil house..now I dun think can...
She cannot cook and is not helping me much but hubby said even new one may also be the same. He claimed that tis one can be tamed at least afraid of us if too matured very stubborn may tok back...
So if u all face with this situation, will you replace her? If not will you give her handphone (The job scope specified by me at time of recruiting , signed by her when took up this job, inicated no handphone and that she suppose to sleep with my bb and do nightfeed).. How to manage her? What tips you all think can lighten my load..sometimes I think I rather go maid less since she not helping me much but hubby said no matter how unproductive she is, she is still performing some tasks on my behalf so must be complacent ... :stupid: -
Hi Admummy,
Really not easy to have to handle 3 kids and a inefficient maid…
Have a chat with your hubby again, maybe will be good to get a change… -
Not need to give hp… Just give her a radio lor if she says she want to listen to music… Got sell those without the phone function one n see how she react to it… But I would replace her la if she cannot help out…
In your situation, I would change her, as in addition to all the negative characteristics you have stated, one of your major needs is that she helps you with no 3 and she is NOT doing that… I would let her go and get a part-time to help with the housework or get a replacement…
Admum,
Your maid could be young and cheeky, or quite sly. If she’s already like that in her first 2 months with you, she’ll probably get bolder, esp if you give her a handphone. If she really needs to listen to music, just get her a radio. Even better, a clock radio with alarm. You should seriously consider changing her if she doesn’t improve bec I don’t think you’d trust her to look after your kids.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.