Presidential Election 2011
Angelight:
I read from papers that supporters of TJS booed-booed at TT during the latter's nomination speech. I think that is very distasteful and totally uncalled for. Have a fair election fight, by all means. But don't have to resort to insulting the other candidates. JMO.
perhaps the resentment was carried over from his days as No.2 in our garment. -
whatever the reason is - anti-government or anti-TT - it’s just not right to boo-boo at someone who is giving a speech. I don’t see TCB, TT or TKL supporters boo-booing the other candidates. Reminds me of Malaysian fans’ unruly behavior during the recent World Cup against Spore.
Interesting commentary by Catherine Lim on the PE : http://catherinelim.sg/
CMF:
Interesting commentary by Catherine Lim on the PE : http://catherinelim.sg/
I don't agree with her assessment. It will only be divisive and bruising if TT or TJS wins. This is because both of them are heavily endorsed by a political party.
If either TCB or TKL gets through, I think all will be well.
I think the president needs to be someone who takes a politically neutral stance, so that if we should have more opposition MPs in parliament in future, he can be a unifying figure. He shouldn't be someone who takes sides in the PAP vs opposition debate. -
My friend’s family will be voting TCB. Reason being that many years ago, her uncle lapsed into coma at a public hospital. Hosp wanted to transfer him to nursing home but family asked MP (aka TCB) for help. Instead of just writing letter, he actually went down to the hosp and did a checkup on him. and subsequently hosp relented and allowed him to stay on.
Also, understand that his clinic didn’t charge needy patients - not sure how true that is.
Anyway, I’m pro-TCB becos I like his election msg. Unify all SG regardless of colour. And he’s someone who has indeed spoken out when he feels something is not right. -
We thought it was \"entertaining\".raysusan:
i was about to post about it too each of them has their own style~ and TT look very stress using mandarin but at least i can understand what he said

I got very tired listening to TT's speech in Mandarin. Worried if he can continue with his next sentence.
His Mandarin really CMI. :rotflmao:
I watched the clips with the kids and they were laughing at the CL especially the pronunciation of some words which can mean something else. :rotflmao: They are like, is this guy going to be our president???? -
TT’s mandarin very hilarious lah …
TT's mandarin very hilarious lah .....
It's hypy without the intonation - yes, very funny. Positive in that he tried.
But I'm just curious why he doesn't seem so prepared - thought candidates would have rehearsed like mad before the actual event. -
You mean like our kids for PSLE Chinese Oral? :evil:verykiasu2010:
TT's mandarin very hilarious lah .....
It's hypy without the intonation - yes, very funny. Positive in that he tried.
But I'm just curious why he doesn't seem so prepared - thought candidates would have rehearsed like mad before the actual event. -
keroppi:
oh yes, psle oral these 2 days right? tell me how many would go for psle without even rehearsing or practice.hquek:
But I'm just curious why he doesn't seem so prepared - thought candidates would have rehearsed like mad before the actual event.
You mean like our kids for PSLE Chinese Oral? :evil:
How many world leaders will go on public broadcast without practising like siao beforehand (given the chance to)? this is serious stuff leh. Either that or he should have a good talk with his chinese coach.
Anyway, some of what TJS say I also don't understand. I think I need to brush up on my chinese.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.