Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      Funx3

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]eh, most of the maids are very good actresses too

Thought Only Mummies Will Comment on this aspect .... 😉 😉
      Why U Say So?
      Got Specific Incidents?

if you read backward a couple of pages you would realise how i recently packed off the maid balik kampong[/quote]Errrrrrrrr ....
      The Stealing One, Is It?
      Then the Same one is Good Actress, Too?

kiasubox

Anna Ng:

[quote=\"Anna Ng\"]My friend's maid has been with her for 10 years and getting $380 only but she is very happy working with my friend. She only needs to take care of a P5 girl, housework and cooking. My friend allow her to work part time with other families (during weekday), i heard she works for 3 houses $360 in total and she also selling SIM cards (she got a strong network leh). She also can take the money when selling old stuffs like newspapers etc to \"karang guni\".

And if the relationship turns bad, the maid can always report to MOM that ma'am makes her work in other houses - leaving her with little rest.... Onus will then be on employer to prove she didn't know about it.

yes, my friend got to take risk while enjoying the low salary[/quote]Wah, your friend very daring, is serious if MOM found out that the maid is working with others. $380 is not very low salary, 6 mth ago i hire my PH maid at $380, I just got a replacing maid at $400+$30 off day. Actually many employers given too much freedom to their maids thinking that their maid is working happy and they are happy, but they never know what the maid actually doing, some even praise the maids untill they caught the maid stealing.......

• O Offline
          omgmum

Ah, now I understand why my friends tell me agents are seldom on the side of employers. I thought my agent was not too bad, so I asked her to get her pinoy counterpart to try to talk to my maid. Cos my maid's english can't make it.

I had to tell them what happened in front of everybody but when they talked to the maid, they asked me to leave. Come to think of it, like that not very fair.

Instead of them talking to the maid, it seemed to have became a major suaning session for me by the agent. Told agent the maid banged things around, agent said that some ppl are just rough. But the thing is my maid looks meek, until she starts showing face and banging things. And she doesn't always bang things, only when she is not happy.

Told agent that the maid can't cook, doesn't know how to take care of kids, and can't cope with the chores and is always looking very haggard and tired. I kenna suaned for not being able to cook, for not keeping the maid occupied because I can't cook, and don't know how to teach the maid. The best part was agent did all this while pretending to talk to the maid!

Win liao. Give too much work, say employers give too much work. Give reasonable amount of work, say employers don't keep maids occupied.

And no more smiley, smiley face at my maid anymore. Damn pissed off. Gave her a chance to look after my dd yesterday and my dd fell off from the chair because she was unattended. Today clean lights, the whole light came loose!!! :frustrated:

But then I didn't scold her for the lights because I was actually v entertained by the sight of her having to hold the lights up on the ladder while waiting for the repairman to come. Serves her right! Though I was quite worried that she would fall off the ladder and cause me even more prob!

hquek

Hi omgmum,

you should have shown face to the agent and ask him what does he mean by meaningful amount of work that is just right, and maybe demo what you mean by banging around. if he is happy to see that kind of banging, then yes, it’s a natural sort of rough. I guess the amount you pay him is lesser than what your maid pays him. but yes, to me, it’s very bad service.

On the lights, good that you can see the fun of it. Have fun and take care not to blow any temper over your maid. It’s so not worth it.

kiasubox

After hearing all those comments on the bad agents, i think my agent is very good. My previous maid stole $, when i brought her back agency she scolded her badly. She arranged a new maid for me, and she warn this new maid on things to watch out for, so far i find the current maid better than the previous one. My agent is fair and she told me the costs upfront, her service is good. In case you need to find a good agent, she’s Liz from Besthome in Hougang Festival Mall. I’m not advertising for this agency but I really find their service good, but I think the person serving you also important, Liz is good in customer service, there’s once she’s not around another aunty serve me, when i told her I’ll give my maid $360+$20, she gave me nasty look and told me all maid are now $400, they’ll compare among themselves and leave me! I really feel like slapping her when she gave me the kiampak look, the next day I told Liz about it and she told me the salary will stay at $360+20, which is the amount she agreed with me. So if you’re going there, make sure u look up Liz.

Lynn2010

[quote]And no more smiley, smiley face at my maid anymore. Damn pissed off. Gave her a chance to look after my dd yesterday and my dd fell off from the chair because she was unattended. Today clean lights, the whole light came loose!!! :frustrated:

But then I didn't scold her for the lights because I was actually v entertained by the sight of her having to hold the lights up on the ladder while waiting for the repairman to come. Serves her right! Though I was quite worried that she would fall off the ladder and cause me even more prob![/quote][/quote]

I think some times we employer should 'punish' them indirectly. \"hold the lights up on the ladder while waiting for the repairman to come\". Good

Once i had a Indon maid. Every 2 days told my mum she is not feeling well, cant do work, rather sit in a corner doing nothing. When come to meal time, she can eat very well. I told my mum - when she says she is sick and cant work, tell her to have \"bed rest\". So my mum ask her to lie down on her mattress whole day, other than going to the toilet and eat, she lies down the whole day. Hahaha. From then on, she is never \"sick\" again.

I'm not saying that they cant fall sick, but we are not idiot that we cannot differentiate 'really sick' or 'pretending to be sick'. Whenever my current maid is sick, not often (at most twice a year), i give her money to see a GP, get medicine, and she can no need to do any work but rest. Still she will wake up to prepare the children for school and cook for them.

peapot

Actually there are all kind of maids around. Eventhough my Indo maid can be relied on to work but she is just simply too pious. Pray 5 times a day and then now fasting for 1 month. Because of puasa, she cannot handle pork and must use plastic glove to cut pork. During puasa month, the chicken she eats must also be halal type!!! Sigh, many restrictions. She scrutinised all seasoning and read the ingredients label and ensure that there cannot be pork or anything remotely found to be a by-product of pork or else she will not use in the daily cooking.

I wonder whether she knows not many employers can tahan her ways.

HC_Parent

I would have changed this maid looooong ago… Maids these days are different. They don’t appreciate that you give them chance, in fact they will not hesitate to tell u they want to change employer at every incident. If ur maid is so free and yet does not clean the house then why do u still want to keep her.

Don’t be afraid of the initial teething period when you change a new maid. Sometimes change is necessary for a better tomorrow!

kaka

peapot:
                      Actually there are all kind of maids around. Eventhough my Indo maid can be relied on to work but she is just simply too pious. Pray 5 times a day and then now fasting for 1 month. Because of puasa, she cannot handle pork and must use plastic glove to cut pork. During puasa month, the chicken she eats must also be halal type!!! Sigh, many restrictions. She scrutinised all seasoning and read the ingredients label and ensure that there cannot be pork or anything remotely found to be a by-product of pork or else she will not use in the daily cooking.

I had 3 indo maids before and they didnt have those request. If they did, I would not have agree. They would need to use whatever available in the house.

BeContented

kaka:
                        peapot:

I had 3 indo maids before and they didnt have those request. If they did, I would not have agree. They would need to use whatever available in the house.

Same here. All my previous maids had to use whatever available in the house. Peapot, you are solid :salute: Dun think I can tahan nor would employ them if my maids were to be as 'strict' as yours.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 573 / 1032