Presidential Election 2011

1.7k Posts 157 Posters 404.4k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

reported that TJS's rally will include Nicole Seah from NSP as speaker

why is he getting political party to speak for him ? is he running it as political party contest ? like that will TT gets PAP member to speak for his rally ?

I thot the PE is non-political ?
      If PAP can endorse TT, why NS cannot endorse TJS?

As for speaking up, the PM and a few other have been speaking up for TT on MSM rite.. no?

Strparent

just to re-affirm that Nicole Seah's endorsement of TJS is personal and not of NSP's choice, http://tankinlian.blogspot.com/2011/06/endorsement-by-goh-meng-seng.html

http://www.157sg.com/_blog/onefiveseven_blog/post/Tan_Jee_Say_is_hottest_social_media_candidate/surprisingly. It seems TCB starting to show his meek personality more and some feel that a strong character is needed to tackle the cabinet in times of necessity. Even OTC did not talk about quitting when he was denied the information he requested.

However, the ground sentiments amongst those not on social media......... mai kong liao. Simply choose to go with familiarity and cant be bothered with the bigger opportunites at stake. One president is not going to destabilise the government, we need a strong protector of the country's reserves. If he turned out to be a disaster, you can be sure he will be booted out before you can even say I told you so'.

• E Offline
          Ed1975

I agree that we need someone strong and has an independent mind and not someone who say he has an independent mind. However at the same time, this future president still has to play largely by the government’s rule.

Strparent

insider:
            raysusan:

Ex-ISA detainee issues challenge to Dr Tony Tan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk-TH257ggI&feature=feedu

I listened at least 4 times to this fearless old man who seems to be prepared to give up even his life to seek for justice.

I recalled the 白色恐怖。

I mourned for the loss of the strong Chinese roots that we once had due to the whatever of the many true blue Chinese educated people...

I cried for the innocence...

Insider,

seems Mr Dhanabalan also felt the pain, http://jeannettechongaruldoss.blogspot.com/2011/08/tan-jee-say-man-with-passion-to-serve.html.

excerpt
            Recently, Mr Goh Chok Tong revealed in the book “Men in White: The Untold Stories of the PAP” (SPH 2009) that former National Development Minister S Dhanabalan left the Cabinet in 1992 because he was not comfortable with the way the 22 had been dealt with in 1987. “At that time, given the information, he was not fully comfortable with the action we took…he felt uncomfortable and thought there could be more of such episodes in the future…he’d better leave the Cabinet. I respected him for his view,” Mr Goh said.

concern2

I don’t feel it is appropriate for Nicole Seah to get involved, although the intention is clearly to win votes from her supporters. She is a reminder of GE, and I think there should not be more grey areas than there already are.

However, there indeed are many who vote because of familiarity, so I guess she might be appealing to some. The older folks are talking to themselves to ‘vote for the white haired’.

concern2

dimsum:
                Strparent:

I personally can't believe we are still talking about choosing the EP based on the candidate's looks or his spouse's appearances. We cant be seriously that shallow right ? :xedfingers:

[/size][/i]

Relax strparent, that was just some light-hearted exchanges among forummers. None of us said we will be selecting EP based on their looks.

Agree - jus for fun onnie lah 😆
                Anyway, I showed my son a row of the wives' photos, and a row of the potential presidents' photos, and asked him to choose based on who he thinks has the kindest face. Guess what? He chosed TCB and wife! And his second choice is actually TT! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

raysusan

[quote]Dr Lim Wee Kiat ‘lectures’ candidates on role of Elected President

August 23rd, 2011

http://cdn.temasekreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/lim_desmondwee.jpg\">

If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars...

PAP MP Dr Lim Wee Kiat has given a ‘lecture’ to the presidential candidates on the role of the Elected President.

In an interview with Lianhe Zaobao, Dr Lim said he is ‘concerned’ at the ‘promises’ made by some presidential candidates and he hope Singaporeans will not be stirred by their rhetoric.

“Some Sembawang residents have feedbacked to me that some of the candidates appear to mistake the Presidential election to the General election,” he added.

Though he did not mention any names, it is obvious he is referring to pro-Singaporean candidate Tan Jee Say and to a certain extent Tan Kin Lian.

Mr Tan Jee Say’s pledge to take only a $500,000 salary only and donate the rest to charity must have shocked Dr Lim who told the state media on 23 May 2011:

“If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister’s ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain abit of dignity.”

[Source: Zaobao.com][/quote]

Strparent

Anyway, I showed my son a row of the wives' photos, and a row of the potential presidents' photos, and asked him to choose based on who he thinks has the kindest face. Guess what? He chosed TCB and wife! And his second choice is actually TT! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
                    hi concern2,

is that what they meant by ' pian gin nar ' ? :siam:

• G Offline
                      growie

Strparent:
                      insider:

[quote=\"raysusan\"]Ex-ISA detainee issues challenge to Dr Tony Tan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk-TH257ggI&feature=feedu

I listened at least 4 times to this fearless old man who seems to be prepared to give up even his life to seek for justice.

I recalled the 白色恐怖。

I mourned for the loss of the strong Chinese roots that we once had due to the whatever of the many true blue Chinese educated people...

I cried for the innocence...

Insider,

seems Mr Dhanabalan also felt the pain, http://jeannettechongaruldoss.blogspot.com/2011/08/tan-jee-say-man-with-passion-to-serve.html.

excerpt
                      Recently, Mr Goh Chok Tong revealed in the book “Men in White: The Untold Stories of the PAP” (SPH 2009) that former National Development Minister S Dhanabalan left the Cabinet in 1992 because he was not comfortable with the way the 22 had been dealt with in 1987. “At that time, given the information, he was not fully comfortable with the action we took…he felt uncomfortable and thought there could be more of such episodes in the future…he’d better leave the Cabinet. I respected him for his view,” Mr Goh said. [/quote]Tks for the link...very good read.
                      BTW, where's Mr S Dhanabalan now? And I must say this is such a wonderful platform to share infos, read & learn so as to make an informed choice. :lovesite: :thankyou: everyone!

Personally, this PE this Saturday spells another public holiday (off in lieu on Monday for those working 5 day week).

Whoever is selected has to abide by the rules set by the govt…be it ex-PAP or Opposition. I have not watched any rally or listened to any talk by president hopefuls. But I’ve looked at the wives of these presidential hopefuls…thinking which one of them has the FIRST LADY look.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 74 / 172