Dunman High School (Junior High)
Bedokid:
Hi AugmumAugmum:
[quote=\"Bedokid\"]My dd having C.T. , she seems very stressed,she is worried that she cannot do well.....told her to relax and do her best will do.......understand from her that triple sciences not so easy to do well and her class has too many PRC classmates to compete with, I really need to convince her to take easy........in Singapore everything is stressed, living is stressed, studying is stressed, go out also stressed(see so many people everywhere)......really jialat :mad: :mad: :mad: Anyone parents also encountered the same????please share so that I know I am not alone......thanks........

bedokid, which yr is yr dd in ?
my gal has finished her common tests last week. (yr 2)
ya.....not easy to study in an IP school..........
lots of assignments, projecst and tests ongoing......dun seem to stop
and lots of role play too.....( i dunno why the teachers like so much abt role plays)
never a day, i see her free, sitting there....doing nothing........
that day, she complained to me that ....juz sorting out and filing of her sch notes already took her 1 hr + to do it.....
oh yes, going out no longer a joy, esp driving ard to look for carpark lots...... :slapshead: :mad: :faint:
My dd is in sec.3.....very stressful.....very worry that she will breakdown......she is the kind very serious with her work and trying to excel every tests (not possible, right???)tell her to take it easy but seems cannot go into her head, very stubborn lah...... :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:[/quote]hi bedokid
oh.....sec3, yes.......def more busy and stressful .......
my gal will be taking triple science too, yr gal's subj sombo is triple science with ??
breakdown.... ??? wow..so jialat.....u really must keep a closed eye on her.
same here, my gal is also very serious and busy with her sch work,
everyday, can hear her usual words ........
\"today must do this and that.....2morrow, must finish this and that....\"
sometmes, i wonder must they really be given so much work to do..??? -
Hi Augmum
My dd has the usual 3 sciences, H1 and H2 maths, LA, chinese and geog. If fact without tuiton, she is able to cope well in most of the subjects…just that she always like to push herself too hard which makes her unhappy…comparison and competitions among classmates also stress her further…nowadays, parents really not easy to be, kids don’t study we worry, kids study too hard we also worry (I am one of them, I rather she is healthy and happy everyday then putting herself in those stressful situations)as long as she can make it, we are o.k. with her, we don’t expect her to excel everythings… -
Hello, I’m here to kaypo a bit. Does Dunman high have full and partial exemption for exams for students?
sall:
Hello, I'm here to kaypo a bit. Does Dunman high have full and partial exemption for exams for students?
Hi sall,
Sori I don't quite understand your questions......are u asking whether they have 'o' lvl exams????if yes, there is one class for that......if not what u asked, maybe other parents can help.........or maybe u can just explain abit of your question...... :? :? :? thanks...just trying to help.......... -
Bedokid:
My dd is in another IP sch. For them(Y1 -Y4), if they do very well for the first 3 terms, ie, A1 for all subjects, then they don't have to take final yr exam. Instead, they get to go somewhere, do some project, something like that. If they get 2 A2 and the rest A1, then it's partial exemption. That means, sit for the papers where they get A2 and subjects where they scored below 75. I'm just curious to know if Dunman high has got this practice or not?sall:
Hello, I'm here to kaypo a bit. Does Dunman high have full and partial exemption for exams for students?
Hi sall,
Sori I don't quite understand your questions......are u asking whether they have 'o' lvl exams????if yes, there is one class for that......if not what u asked, maybe other parents can help.........or maybe u can just explain abit of your question...... :? :? :? thanks...just trying to help.......... -
Hi
Oh finally got u.......Duman High has no such practice........
:lol: -
Bedokid:
hi bedokidHi Augmum
My dd has the usual 3 sciences, H1 and H2 maths, LA, chinese and geog. If fact without tuiton, she is able to cope well in most of the subjects.....just that she always like to push herself too hard which makes her unhappy.....comparison and competitions among classmates also stress her further...........nowadays, parents really not easy to be, kids don't study we worry, kids study too hard we also worry (I am one of them, I rather she is healthy and happy everyday then putting herself in those stressful situations)as long as she can make it, we are o.k. with her, we don't expect her to excel everythings......
my gal also intends to choose this combo i.e. 3 sciences with geog,
understand this is one of the popular choices.
btw, how many classes are there for 3 sciences and geog ??
oh yes, some classes are real competitive while some are not so
u mentioned that there are some PRC in her class, how many are there ??
yes, i agree with u that when kids don't study , we are worried but
if they study too hard, we are also worried abt their health and mental state......
pupils must find some ways to destress......
my gal likes to dance and listen to her korean pop songs ........
try to get yr gal to do something she likes during the weekends as form of relaxation.... -
sall:
hi sall
nice to see u dropping by here,
NO, DHS has no full/partial exemption for exams.....juz like what bedokid had replied....
wow......how i wish they have....then can relax a bit and
also having more time for preparation of other subjects...... -
sall:
so how does RV grade those pupils who are exempted ??
My dd is in another IP sch. For them(Y1 -Y4), if they do very well for the first 3 terms, ie, A1 for all subjects, then they don't have to take final yr exam. Instead, they get to go somewhere, do some project, something like that. If they get 2 A2 and the rest A1, then it's partial exemption. That means, sit for the papers where they get A2 and subjects where they scored below 75. I'm just curious to know if Dunman high has got this practice or not?
i mean the marks are spread among assignments, projects, tests and EOY throughout the yr.....
so w/o EOY , how are the marks be alloted ?? -
Dear Augmum,
thanks for sharing, apricot.Apricot:
My dd was interviewed by 2 people. The questions were :
1) What attracted you to the school ?
2) What other schools you have applied for DSA ?
3) The school mission is to develop the potential to care, serve and lead. Give an example of how you have cared for someone. :roll:
hmm....so rather general questions been asked....
at least not one which i ever heard from another school, \" do u cook at home?\"
are the applicants being interviewed in small grps or individual ??Apricot:
oh yes......DHS likes to emphasize on 诚 信 勇 忠3) The school mission is to develop the potential to care, serve and lead.
Give an example of how you have cared for someone. :roll:
Wish yr gal ALL THE BEST.....shd be hearing from them soon, right ??
Applicants were interviewed individually. Thanks for your good wishes ! The waiting for the DSA results can be so nerve racking.....Hopefully, will receive the results this week.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.