National Junior College (Junior High)
No lah. During my time, it is 3xx/400.

I'm joking lah...but your 3xx/400 format already different from the format now -
Hmm... I think it's written on the curriculum for JH1 they gave out during open hseturquoise:
NJC has interesting curriculum. Everyone has to take HMT, regardless of whether you qualify for it or not, and exactly the same combination for Years 1-4. Very different from other IP schools.
Is this HMT compulsory for all confirmed? I could not find such info on its website. Written an email to the sch, but no reply yet. -
Hmm... I think it's written on the curriculum for JH1 they gave out during open hse
oic. Is this \"curriculum\" material the same as the brochure NJC gave out at the pri sch parents talk? -
I don't know. NJC did not go to my child's school.
oic. Is this \"curriculum\" material the same as the brochure NJC gave out at the pri sch parents talk? -
oic. Is this \"curriculum\" material the same as the brochure NJC gave out at the pri sch parents talk?
My daughter received a thick red brochure during the talk in her school. In addition, there is another booklet (small, light green) given out during NJC school tour this year, Academic Programme Information for JH1. It provides more information on the modules for JH1. For example Language Arts, there are 3 modules; \"Clues, Sleuths and Inkblots\", \"Get into the Groove\" and \"Blast from the past\". It was the information provided in the booklet that made her decide to go to NJC. -
Aiyoh, I buay tahan - wait so long they don’t reply email. So I called. They said only need to make the grade for Express Stream. Whew.
mumoftwo:
My daughter received a thick red brochure during the talk in her school. In addition, there is another booklet (small, light green) given out during NJC school tour this year, Academic Programme Information for JH1. It provides more information on the modules for JH1. For example Language Arts, there are 3 modules; \"Clues, Sleuths and Inkblots\", \"Get into the Groove\" and \"Blast from the past\". It was the information provided in the booklet that made her decide to go to NJC.
Thanks so much for the info.
I suppose the HMT made compulsory is spelled out in the Academic Programme Information? -
It doesn't say specifically. But in the list of subjects for JH1, it is stated HMT. There are no other options.Thanks so much for the info.
I suppose the HMT made compulsory is spelled out in the Academic Programme Information? -
It doesn't say specifically. But in the list of subjects for JH1, it is stated HMT. There are no other options.
Some parents raised this question during the discussion session after the school tour and the teacher reconfirmed all students must take HMT. On a separate occassion, he was further pressed on what happens if the child tried and still can't cope, and he said in it will be reviewed, as an exceptional basis. We didn't pursue and ask for specifics as during that period, no one was certain if they can get to NJC. Hope this helps. -
mumoftwo:
You know, we only realised this when my child & I poured through all the materials given from Open House and online while preparing for the interview, much to my child's shock.
Some parents raised this question during the discussion session after the school tour and the teacher reconfirmed all students must take HMT. On a separate occassion, he was further pressed on what happens if the child tried and still can't cope, and he said in it will be reviewed, as an exceptional basis. We didn't pursue and ask for specifics as during that period, no one was certain if they can get to NJC. Hope this helps.
Anyway, like you said, we were not sure if he could even get in anyway. But well, the school can see from his results over the years that he IS poor in MT. So, if they still select him, they should think that he either can cope, or there is some flexibility in the end. Good thing it's an IP prog w/o O Levels in between. Altho' I just have this suspicion that they might want the kids to take O-level MT, since it is often the case with many schools. Anyway, this is only a speculation, lah.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.