hi hquek,Hi smh_forest,
Agree with your posting. Forgot to put down that I only let her do these (make friends etc) after sometime. When they are new, I will even ask my mum to suffer and not go out so much. Else, the maid is alone most of the day at home.
i also made my parents suffer now... they now commute to my plc every wkday to watch over the maid, and also to teach her how to cook! but this is only for the beginning... have yet to figure our for how long too! haizzz... :scratchhead: -
Ya, actually sometimes quite sad. We hire a maid because we need additional help but end up getting our parents or inlaws to watch over the maid. If only the maid would be more sensible. This probably explains why our birth rate is so low.
When I was staying in Bukit Panjang last time, maids will having afternoon gathering downstairs. I m talking about 5 to 8 maids at any one time. Till today I m still wondering why their employers are so relax with them.
If I ever get a transfer maid, I would prefer her ex-employer to be strict with her and lay down the rules. That will be easier for the next employer. -
ya lor, i hire a nanny to assist my maid and hire a maid to assist my nanny and at the end i also confused who assist who liao but the fact is my pocket got 2 holes as i need to pay both sides.
Yesterday i took a day off to supervise my new maid (5 days with us and 1 mth with her ex-employer) and noticed that she seem like not able to handle the workload and look quite lost (attitude ok, willing to learn but a bit slow). I am thinking to send her to nanny’s house for 2 weeks training. -
Anna Ng:
Anna,ya lor, i hire a nanny to assist my maid and hire a maid to assist my nanny and at the end i also confused who assist who liao but the fact is my pocket got 2 holes as i need to pay both sides.
Yesterday i took a day off to supervise my new maid (5 days with us and 1 mth with her ex-employer) and noticed that she seem like not able to handle the workload and look quite lost (attitude ok, willing to learn but a bit slow). I am thinking to send her to nanny's house for 2 weeks training.
wow, your nanny so fortunate leh...so thoughtful of you to engage a maid to assist the nanny...but double cost for you, very siong..if both were engaged to take care of your kid, aren't there duplication of duties? i remembered during my confinement, my confinement lady(CL) and maid got conflict of interest and in the end my bb suffer...
I believe your nanny's primary role is to take care of your child right? if she cannot cope and need help, why not change? or you can let your maid understudy your nanny then when she's ok then you can do away with the nanny...
personally i think having a maid (if she is a good one) is more \"useful\" than a nanny since she is with you 24hrs (of course intention is not to make her work 24hrs but at least she's there to \"standby\" whenever need arises)...JMHO... -
Admummy:
I cannot let my maid alone at home with my 1 year old boy that’s why i send them to nanny house. While waiting for my new maid, the nanny is the one who take care of my baby. And now my nanny’s role is to "look after" and "train" my maid not the baby. I was doing this to my first maid and eventually stop nanny’s services when we felt that my maid can handle alone and when we trusted her. My nanny understands where we from and she enjoyed this as my maid is helping her to do some housework.
Ya lor! is double costs but what to do? if i only hire a maid then nobody do housework and also nobody go to fetch my elder and second child from childcare centre, unless i quit my job but at this moment definitely need a maid.
My new maid is slow but at least willing to learn. She looks very stress when i feedback to her that she needs to improve. I saw her keep reading the "house rules and daily tasks" which i written to her and explain to her on the first day she arrived. Just hope she can hasten up the learning process. -
H anna,
is yours a pinoy maid? 24 years old with 3 years of exp as a maid in philippines? Wondering if you got my ex-maid who one fine day decided that she didn’t want to work for me anymore, because her hands were aching. -
hi hquek, agree that attitude is important. Although I’ve got to do the chores now, I’m actually happier without the ex-maid than I was when she was with us. Because now I can follow my own schedule, and not have to look at other ppl’s black faces and worry about having spit in the food, and definitely no more banging of things!
After the maid left, I realised after a day that we seem to be missing a lot of thick towels. Searched the whole house also couldn’t find. The towels weren’t in her bag when I searched her stuff, so the maid had probably thrown them or given them away. One possibility is that she didn’t want to wash the towels, or she ruined the white towels with stains, and threw them away.
And of course, the dirty pots and utensils started surfacing a day after she left. Sigh… -
omgmum:
yes, pinoy maid, 24 years old but no exp as a maid in Philippines, 1 mth exp in S’pore being transfered to me, but yesterday she claimed that her legs are aching and requested to wear slipper at home.
Just received sms from my housemate saying that my maid is crying as home sick. What can i do? as a mother, i fully understand her, she got 3 children and the youngest is same age as mine. How to console her? -
anna ng, sounds like my ex-maid. Except for the fact that she’s got 3 kids.
Your babysitter is with her now? Get your nanny to talk to her? I think to help with the homesickness, maybe can let her call home? Must be stressful for you! -
She with me for 5 days only, i already told her (the first day she came to my house) i will let her call back home this weekend. What to do? pity of her
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.