All About GEP

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    6.7k Posts 720 Posters 2.7m Views
      vlim

Herbie:
      oh my dd was not with tll prior joining gep.. Anyway she also left tll liao.

So does the tuition helps your dd in anyway?.. I kpo ing now šŸ˜‰

• 8 Offline

Flowermonaster:
        8228:

[quote=\"Herbie\"]repeated post

My ds has not got the paper back too. I checked the calendar and there is only oral, listening and compo for English next term. There is no compre and cloze.

Your DS is from which level? I checked my DS schedule for P5 there is paper2 on the same day as compo which is 4th Oct. :?[/quote]Oops, I did not see properly....

• 8 Offline

Zann:
          Herbie:

Hi vlim,

i also say chim... so i dun know how to help my dd to prepare for the upcoming investigation test.

Strange my ds center has not even issued any schedule, and you guy already know when what will be tested in Oct. šŸ˜“

Can someone kind to share the P5 list of schedule. Aiyo,yo.

P5 Test schedule:

Sep 21 Investigation Maths
          Sep 22 & 23 EL & CL Oral
          Oct 3 HCL I (Compo)
          Oct 4 EL I (Compo) & EL II
          Oct 10 SS
          Oct 11 HCL II
          Oct 12 Science, EL Listening
          Oct 13 Maths Paper 1 & 2

HCL Listening - no date yet

• Z Offline
            Zann

:thankyou: 8228

Herbie

hi vlim,

ok la,my dd can handle gep maths w/o gg tll.

I am not sure whether by gg to tll will help weaker students to improve their maths. I dun know anyone who is weak in maths attending tll.

• comfyC Offline
                comfy

vlim:
                Herbie:

oh my dd was not with tll prior joining gep.. Anyway she also left tll liao.

So does the tuition helps your dd in anyway?.. I kpo ing now šŸ˜‰

I am also very interested to know as I am seriously thinking of sending her to TLL. May I know for what subjects and whether by attending does it helps your dd? TIA.

• comfyC Offline
                  comfy

Herbie:
                  hi vlim,

ok la,my dd can handle gep maths w/o gg tll.

I am not sure whether by gg to tll will help weaker students to improve their maths. I dun know anyone who is weak in maths attending tll.
                  Is it bec they don't teach concept or the standard of Math is too tough for the std to cope or what.....? I am worry about what you have shared.

JenniferHJ

TLL isn't necessary for your child, all it does is let your child practise the questions. It isn't a very smart way to spend your money, perhaps you could spent it on SMOPS Practice books instead? But all in all it still depends on your child's current level. Do normal assessment books to improve overall skills, but start working on Olympiad Math Problems for heuristic development.

This is speaking from experience, was a GEP Student 06-08 with Math marks that were higher than fellow classmates who went TLL. In the end the top students for Math never attended any Math Tuition. šŸ˜›
                    For other subjects, perhaps TLL could be of help. Their english course helps if you are in a good tll class. Science is pretty good as well. For Chinese practice makes perfect.
                    Being in GEP is tough, but part and parcel of your child's journey to success. Thanks parents for your unwavering support, and hope that helped!:)

vlim

JenniferHJ:
                      TLL isn't necessary for your child, all it does is let your child practise the questions. It isn't a very smart way to spend your money, perhaps you could spent it on SMOPS Practice books instead? But all in all it still depends on your child's current level. Do normal assessment books to improve overall skills, but start working on Olympiad Math Problems for heuristic development.

This is speaking from experience, was a GEP Student 06-08 with Math marks that were higher than fellow classmates who went TLL. In the end the top students for Math never attended any Math Tuition. šŸ˜›
                      For other subjects, perhaps TLL could be of help. Their english course helps if you are in a good tll class. Science is pretty good as well. For Chinese practice makes perfect.
                      Being in GEP is tough, but part and parcel of your child's journey to success. Thanks parents for your unwavering support, and hope that helped!:)
                      :thankyou: Jennifer for sharing with us, the parents, your views. Actually I also think likewise as TLL might not be following closely what gep maths syllabus is doing .. As for English and science , TLL might help .. šŸ˜„...
                      But I think those geppers who did fairly well in Maths, might not perform well in Maths Olympaids and according to my ds MO qns are different from school maths qns..

• Z Offline
                        Zann

Zann:
                        Herbie:

The worksheet on the 7 island was given a few days ago.. my dd just asked her daddy how to solve the qn... there are still other worksheets on age which is more down to earth i am not sure whether these worksheet are considered as investigation maths, I am still trying to figure out.

Was there a GEP logo on the 7 island worksheet? šŸ˜‰

Herbie, so far we did not have 7 island worksheet. Some schools do give their own worksheets rite? not sure if yours is GEP or school base? Any GEP logo on it?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 324 / 669

kicciK
                        kicci