Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      peapot

Actually as employers of maid we are in the same plight. So we should be ethical and help fellow singaporeans out. If the maid is no good, then transferring out is not good enough. The maid should be sent back. If the loan is not finish, then sent her back to agent. But when potential contact you, speak the truth and if nobody wants the maid the agent will have choice but to send the maid back. Let the agent and maid learnt their lesson.

peapot

Pardon my English I m using my iPhone to post. Small screen.

hquek

hi peapot, it’s okay. I’m not using iphone/ipad, so apologies for bad english.

Recently I have heard of employers who just sent back maids who stole from them. Was a bit miffed becos then these are likely to turn around and come back into SG again since there is no record. Reason why they did that? becos scared of trouble. Piangzzzzz, not talking about ten dollars, but hundreds even thousands of dollars.

SMH FOREST

SMH_forest, I find it quite tough at times - treat her like adult but I'm expected to bear responsibility as if she were a child. Piang...how to do like that?

The only thing I can do is to develop a higher tolerance to dirt and also DIY as much as I can. Dunwan to rely so much on maid that one day I find myself 'crippled' if she's not around. Life gets that little bit tougher, but it's a matter of adaptation - at least this is so in my case and I feel lucky. I know there must be other cases out there where having a maid is not a luxury but a must.

hee hee. reminds me of a wedding ceremony I attended recently. Officator was telling the couple they came into the marriage with eyes wide open, and after marriage, they have to learn to close one eye (and sometimes two). A bit the same with hiring maids I find - hire one with full expectation of what can go wrong, but once she's in, close eyes if things not done well (got do can already).
            hquek, I have the exact same thoughts!! There's calling for us to treat them as adults... be fair, but yet we have to be liable and care for them like our child.. It's too stressful to be at the mercy of them at times, but due to situation at home and aged parents, we can't do without them completely too.

Ya... sometimes, i read the \"life without maid: thread to get inspiration.. hahaha, hopefully that can psyched me up for what i plan for ahead!

SMH FOREST

peapot:
              Actually as employers of maid we are in the same plight. So we should be ethical and help fellow singaporeans out. If the maid is no good, then transferring out is not good enough. The maid should be sent back. If the loan is not finish, then sent her back to agent. But when potential contact you, speak the truth and if nobody wants the maid the agent will have choice but to send the maid back. Let the agent and maid learnt their lesson.

peapot, i think alot of times, the agents will block the potential frm contacting previous employers!! they also dun wanna be stuck with the maid, plus they earn transfer fees.

Hiccup

Quote from MOM's reply published in the Straits Time on 21 Sep 11 \"We did not inform her that the family was at risk of losing their second maid. Madam Lim and her mother, who is the registered employer, had agreed that the maid could seek a change of employer.\"

What do you think of the last sentence, ie, the registered employer had agreed that the maid could seek a change of employer? Am wondering whether the employer was given a choice :siao:

noriko_sy

I am having a direct hire from Philippines…my first time having a maid. Nowadays, it seems that we need to get an agency to bring the maid in. Fees are charged. May i know if it is market practice for employer to absorb the full cost, co-share with employer or is it fully paid by the maid?

smurf28

Hi

I intend to bring my indo maid to Malaysia.Do I need to apply visa for my maid or is there any special arrangement that i need to do?

:scratchhead:

Chu Liu Xiang

noriko_sy:

I am having a direct hire from Philippines...my first time having a maid. Nowadays, it seems that we need to get an agency to bring the maid in. Fees are charged. May i know if it is market practice for employer to absorb the full cost, co-share with employer or is it fully paid by the maid?
                      Better let the agency handles everything if you don't have the time.

Everything (loan, insurance, medical, processing fees etc) you pay upfront and later you deduct the maid's salary (say from 6 - 9 months) by offsetting from her loan lor. However, as a practice, employers usually give the maid $20/month (which is part of her salary) during her loan period as mentioned for their expenditure.

😂

Peace Charlie

Hi smurf28

Guess u only need to bring along maid’s work permit. Last yr, i brought my phino maid to malacca, the immigrant will ask for their work permit of course and their passport too…hope it helps.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 594 / 1032

888new3dessign8
                        888new3dessign