Very sian & so stress with maid issue. My new maid attitude is ok but she does not have enough exposure, don’t know how to cook & handle my kids. She needs a lot of guidance despite the fact that she had been working in SG for 4 yrs. A lot of common sense is just not exist in her. My previous maid of 4 yrs was v independent, good cook, trustworthy & children liked her. I dunno when I could find another maid like her. Haiz!
Wow! And I always thought that ex-sin maid should have be more independent. Guess not all of them are like that.
Jav:
Very sian & so stress with maid issue. My new maid attitude is ok but she does not have enough exposure, don't know how to cook & handle my kids. She needs a lot of guidance despite the fact that she had been working in SG for 4 yrs. A lot of common sense is just not exist in her. My previous maid of 4 yrs was v independent, good cook, trustworthy & children liked her. I dunno when I could find another maid like her. Haiz!
How can you work in Singapore for 4 years and not know how to cook nor look after kids? Is her employment history patchy? -
It’s unbelievable right. she is the obedient type & good for house maid only. She can assist u in cooking but if u ask her to indePendently plan & whip up some dishes, it’s pretty hopeless. My veges & stuffs i bought went rotten because she does not prioritise in the choice if cooking. She gave my kids mouldy bread to eat. Yesterday she cooked porridge with fish & some ingredients like potato & carrot but the porridge has many small fish bones. When asked how she cooked, she said she boiled the fish bone & use the soup to cook the porridge, removed the big bones but don’t know what to do with loose ones so just cook it together lor.
I met her directly during interview & find her really pleasant. I verified her emp history on MOM website, did reference check with her previous employer. Asked my old maid to train her for almost 2 months & the result is like that. It’s only a span of 3 months she worked with me, but I find her knowledge is not commensurate with 4yrs experience. Her previous employer said that she can go to market & buy stuffs but she doesnt even know that can buy hp top up card from 7-eleven. And therefore she asked e gardener to buy for her without my knowledge. My kids saw that & told mil & the whole Hu ha escalate. She even let a man from NEA to come inside the house without checking with me first.
There are dozen of things she did which I can go on & On. It really amazed me. She behaved like new comer. It has become clear to me hiring maid is just by luck. Sianz!!
Hi Funz
For eg: ishouting at the kids and nagging at them for messing up. No more patience with kids anymore. You know, like how we lose patience with our kids sometimes. Only last two years she became like that and we concluded it’s becos work too long as maid, can be quite boring and sian already. We actually wanted to let her go back for the whole of this Dec school holidays but she said not necessary. I am sahm so have to bear with it, sometimes very bad, I will just bring all kids out myself and get out. How do u feel if yr maid keep on saying your kids naughty.
Hi happy to be mum,
I can’t agree more that the Pinoy maids want to work for expat. My place full of expats and the whole pool area are just full of their maids. When i first moved in, Was asking the security guard why my place side gate was closed permanently.he told me the whole story why. These maids use the side gate to bring in boyfriends at nite.( side gate leads to pub area) and they hanky panky around the estate. Also provide manicure & pedicure at lobby area, so cheapen the whole image of the place. Expat maids are free to go out at nite for their own activities. Saw one went jogging recently. Their standard very different … -
May I know what’s the current rates (salary) for Indonesian and Fillipina maid? Anyone just got a new maid from the maid agency? How much is the agency fees?
Thanks in advance for your adv. -
kiasu mummy:
I know of an ex-neighbor who just got a Filo maid for $380. Did not ask about agency fees thoughHi,
May I know what's the current rates (salary) for Indonesian and Fillipina maid? Anyone just got a new maid from the maid agency? How much is the agency fees?
Thanks in advance for your adv.
Breadandmuffins:
To add. Most expats (I mean whites) here don't have elderly. They do have kids instead. The wives of these expats don't work too so they're either shopping or doing charity work. Therefore the maid(s) employed by them also enjoy more day-offs and more freedom. More day-offs not because of the expats' generosity or their thoughtful welfare of their maids. They just don't want these maids to be around like lamposts during the weekend because the family wants to have some privacy alone. More fredom because the wives are also around to help out in the house. Morever, it's also not the nature of them to control their maid(s) as long they can perform their duties.
Hi happy to be mum,
I can't agree more that the Pinoy maids want to work for expat. My place full of expats and the whole pool area are just full of their maids. When i first moved in, Was asking the security guard why my place side gate was closed permanently.he told me the whole story why. These maids use the side gate to bring in boyfriends at nite.( side gate leads to pub area) and they hanky panky around the estate. Also provide manicure & pedicure at lobby area, so cheapen the whole image of the place. Expat maids are free to go out at nite for their own activities. Saw one went jogging recently. Their standard very different .......
Well, if the maid(s) have so much day-offs and freedom you can't expect them to be like good girl chihuahua and sits at home, right?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.