2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    5.7k Posts 204 Posters 982.2k Views 1 Watching
      Champion

vlim:

please start a thread on 2014 psle...it will be my dd turn πŸ˜‰
      :shock: :yikes: vlim, scary but this is the fact! πŸ˜“ πŸ˜“

We are in the same boat! :hi5:

vlim:

please start a thread on 2014 psle...it will be my dd turn πŸ˜‰

:shock: :yikes: vlim, scary but this is the fact! πŸ˜“ πŸ˜“

We are in the same boat! :hi5:

Sorry to say, my 2 cents worth is it is not wise to embark on this, even for the 2013 thread. We are guilty of pushing everything too hard. I have enough horror stories to know that we are barking up the wrong tree.

• Z Offline
          zeemimi

P4 SA2 not over yet leh .... :? :siao:

Should have started this thread later. let me enjoy a break after the SA2 first mah .... :slapshead:
          stress ... i will have a PSLE and a O level kid in 2013 ....

Augmum

okay this is sounding like madly kiasu to the extreme, the 2011 PSLE has just collected the last script from the kids and now talk about 2013 PSLE ?

Harlow vks2010
            before i clicked on this thread from the front page, am thinking.....
            hmm....who is the tutor who had started this thread πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ :lol:
            but was seriously astonished to see yr big name...... πŸ˜†

heng arhh......i am already done with PSLE......... πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

okay this is sounding like madly kiasu to the extreme, the 2011 PSLE has just collected the last script from the kids and now talk about 2013 PSLE ?

Harlow vks2010
              and was seriously astonished to see yr big name...... πŸ˜†

i honestly seriously thought that every one reading my posting would have a jar of salt next to the computer mouse and also has the tongue sticking out from the cheek :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Augmum

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]okay this is sounding like madly kiasu to the extreme, the 2011 PSLE has just collected the last script from the kids and now talk about 2013 PSLE ?

Harlow vks2010
                but was seriously astonished to see yr big name...... πŸ˜†

i honestly seriously thought that every one reading my posting would have a jar of salt next to the computer mouse and also has the tongue sticking out from the cheek :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
                besides, a reminder to potential readers to measure her/his blood pressure and heart rate after reading.... :shock:

jtoh

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]okay this is sounding like madly kiasu to the extreme, the 2011 PSLE has just collected the last script from the kids and now talk about 2013 PSLE ?

Harlow vks2010
                  and was seriously astonished to see yr big name...... πŸ˜†

i honestly seriously thought that every one reading my posting would have a jar of salt next to the computer mouse and also has the tongue sticking out from the cheek :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]That's so true. :rotflmao: But sometimes the innate kiasu cells cannot help but surface. So if you start an extreme kiasu thread, people will come. :evil:

kiasu means different thing to different people

I started the 2012 PSLE thread in July 2011. Looking back I think it was a bit late because Pri 5 is already half way through. For some, especially those aiming for DSA in Pri 6, it may be quite rush to buck up in pri 5 over the last few months, having some regrets perhaps.

I agree completely with the previous principal of NYPS (now principal of NYGH) when she said during the year-end briefing for pri 4 parents going pri 5 the next year : "PSLE preparation starts in pri 5, not pri 6".

Hence I thought parents need to take a slightly longer term view of PSLE preparation. It is a journey, not a β€˜quick lunch over burgers’. Make an assessment after the pri 4 results are in and plan accordingly what need to be implemented in pri 5 : enrichment classes, tuition, cut back CCA commitment, step up supervision and monitoring…etc etc and avoid burn out. The target is to peak at PSLE, not before or after. There is a book on "Peak Performance" or something like that, some parents may be familiar with. A friend of mine called up in july desperate for CL tuition because it dawned upon him that the kid needs help.

Also, end of year holiday for pri 4 will be like a "last fling" before settling down to serious work stretching all the way to PSLE, with short breaks in between perhaps, instead of long vacation at end of pri 5 which is not recommended.

schweppes

Also, end of year holiday for pri 4 will be like a \"last fling\" before settling down to serious work stretching all the way to PSLE, with short breaks in between perhaps, instead of long vacation at end of pri 5 which is not recommended.
                      Guess different strokes for different folks. We actually went for a 2 week holiday at end of P5 and a shorter break in June during PSLE year.

Felt that the break was good for my kids to recharge. The hols were a way to reward them for working so hard throughout the year and the short break in June was a breather from studying.

Aim is not to push our kids so hard that they burn out. Kids (and us parents) were grateful for the break and came back more refreshed. πŸ˜‰

schweppes

That's so true. :rotflmao: But sometimes the innate kiasu cells cannot help but surface. So if you start an extreme kiasu thread, people will come. :evil:
                        herd mentality? πŸ†’

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 566